We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shaven Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shaven Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of The Shaven Crown
 Click to rate
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went for a Sunday night stay, just us and one other couple were staying there. It was very clean, tidy and well decorated. Very comfy bed, a tasty breakfast in the morning. Good location and a car park tucked away behind, beware low riding cars, there isn't much clearance ;) it is on the more expensive side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pk_1878
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear pk_1878, Thank you for your very kind review. I so apologise for the entry road to the car park but, hopefully, our neighbours will put it right after the build of the house is finished. I do hope you will be back one day so you can experience our restaurant and bar as well. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed 17 December 2016

I used to sing carols on the stairs every Christmas Eve when I was a child and had always wanted to stay at the Shaven Crown. A gift from my sister made it possible. We have had a lovely stay , were greeted warmly and the breakfast was delicious with so much choice and so beautifully presented. Such tasty eggs!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The S
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear The S, Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you got to stay with us but, more so, that you enjoyed yourself. It would be lovely to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We first discovered the Shaven Crown last year, as a restaurant. The food was excellent, the service first rate and the welcome friendly and interested. The open log fire was also a 'plus'. We returned this year, for a long weekend, hoping that the hotel side would be as good as the restaurant. We were NOT disappointed. We were made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Andrew P, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a relaxed time with us and it was a pleasure to catch up with you. I do hope we will see you again sooner rather than later! Kind regards, Evelyn

Kenilworth
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We arrived in the late afternoon to be very warmly greeted by very caring staff. This was a hotel full of character and decorated and furnished to suit The dinner was excellent and the breakfast matched When booking avoid the Milton Room as the plumbing from an adjacent room is extremely noisey went on let into the night and waken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P9920XKjohnm
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear P9920XKjohnm, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so sorry for the noise problem. We are on the case! I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Evelyn

G.B.
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Three of us visited for Sunday lunch a few weeks ago.I chose The Shaven Crown because my friend had her little dog with her, so needed somewhere dog friendly.From the minute we arrived were very impressed not only with the beautiful building,but also the professional staff and the lovely owner who obviously loves dogs! We were made very welcome in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and the building. I am a big dog lover so, your right, they are always more than welcome. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Evelyn

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

stayed in pump room on 28th November on arrival shown to our room by phil it was very cold day and heating wasn't on till 15 minutes into getting in room. very poor lighting in room and couldn't get any wifi in the night heating went off and it was very cold as duvet was paper thin which would of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chrismitten
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear chrismitten, Thank you for your honest review. I am so sorry your stay was not up to your standard. I will take all your comments on board. Sadly, with the building as old as it is, it is hard to get wifi in low ceiling rooms. We do not put water in the rooms for the very simple reason...

Reviewed 18 November 2016

We had 2 nights in the pump room, it is a beautiful room ,very comfortable bed PERFECT A. very nice couple that own the hotel were charming . 😄 We certainly go back there ,when we want to spoil ourselves The food was is fabulous 🌟 🍾💥

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear shirley w, Thank you. What a fantastic review. So pleased you had a lovely time with us and i do hope you will be back soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, great location, fantastic staff and great food. My girlfriend, who is a vegetarian, said the fish and chips was one of the best she had ever had. Phil and Evelyn, the owners were really hands on and made us feel so welcomed. We shall be returning for sure. Highly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garyjwillis
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear garyjwillis, Thank you for your fantastic review! I will pass your comment on the Fish and Chips on to the Chefs. They will be delighted. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

we stayed in a lovely room, stylish design and very comfy. great mix of the old and new up to date interior design the room was very clean. the hotel owners were very friendly and we will stay there again for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinetinkler
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear maxinetinkler, Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you (Oscar and Suki aswell!) again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

lf you love to stay somewhere with bags of character then, this is the place for you. However, after the impact of the place has settled there are some small things you wish were there but aren't. To make a list in the Pump Room bedroom: Better quality bed pillows with spares in the wardrobe We were cold during thd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 528alison
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear 528alison, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have taken them all on board. Kind regards, Evelyn

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
0.6 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
215 reviews
6.6 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
326 reviews
11.0 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,641 reviews
12.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,039 reviews
6.3 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OFFER - a 15% REDUCTION ON ALL ROOM RATES FOR DIRECT BOOKINGS MADE & TAKEN BETWEEN 1ST DECEMBER 2016 AND 28TH FEBRUARY 2017 (Sunday to Thursday nights only, redeemable at check-out and non-applicable to existing bookings). The Shaven Crown Hotel, which is situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, re-opened September 2014 after extensive refurbishment. The Hotel is one of the oldest inns in England and oozes character and atmosphere as well as lashings of Cotswolds charm. You will usually find a roaring log fire to welcome you in the Grand Hall and can guarantee an equally warm welcome from the staff. We have a an excellent restaurant, serving the highest quality locally sourced produce, a bar, which is open all day, and seven beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. Our basic room, The Crown Room, has new furnishings, however the en-suite and carpet are yet to be updated, we hope to do this in early 2017. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shaven Crown

Address: High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: $122 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shaven Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shaven Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaven Crown Hotel
Hotel Shaven Crown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shaven Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shaven Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not the Milton No outside views ( darkened glass) and very noisey plumbing”
 of 5 bubbles P9920XKjohnm, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The pump room was lovely. but I expect all the rooms are lovely WE WERE EXTREMELY HAPPY TO BE THERE 😄”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyw24, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure you eat in the restaurant, the food was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles maxinetinkler, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only dinned at the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cheshire66, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Shipton room overlooks the courtyard with no road noise”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpyoldman, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5