We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spinnaker Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spinnaker Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spinnaker Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Booked 2 en-suite rooms £90 and £75 each for 1 night. Great views over Firth of Clyde. Staff fine. But overall the hotel has some issues. Carpet on staircase frayed/bare and could be dangerous. My 84 yr old mother removed her shoes so she wouldn`t risk slipping down the stairs. Rooms themselves very drab, basic and tired. Bathroom in Room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 3Duncan
SpinnyGourock, Manager at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I have to agree that I am often defensive of negative reviews but I also say that I'm happy to accept criticism when justified. I am happy to look at each of your points - I agree the carpet leading to the bedrooms in the hotel now needs replaced. The...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

I almost can't begin to say how disappointing we found our stay in this 'hotel'. When I booked, I emphasised this was our first visit to the area and was assured the room would be quiet and overlooking the water. The exterior is very run down and there is nowhere to park but on the street - if you're very...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Anna B
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

After reading this review I decided to talk to a couple of members of staff to see if they could remember who had such an unpleasant stay and to see if it was the same guests that I thought it might have been as I have nobody booked under the name Anna B. After discussing it I think I know...

Sebastopol, California
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We were only at the Spinnaker for a night and it was fine. The room was just old and dated and not in a charming way. It was very quiet though and the staff all super friendly and helpful. The breakfast we had in the morning was quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MMMSebastopol
SpinnyGourock, Manager at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Which room where you in?

scotland
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

I recommend this place for a spot of lunch on a sunny day in gourock, although I haven't stayed at the hotel I visit here often for meals and drinks, and have always had a lovely experience, The staff are friendly and it has a Great atmosphere and the food is always great,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I stayed in the Spinnaker hotel overnight Sun 19th to this morning as I come from South Lanarkshire and needed to attend a meeting at Inverclyde Hospital early this morning I decided to stay nearby to save the chaos of Monday morning traffic. My room was the one featured above lovely view the room was clean and modern with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne r
SpinnyGourock, Manager at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Spinnaker. I appreciate the positive comments. I hope you found the hospital without any difficulty.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel for food with my parents and daughter after a long day out. We were tired and hungry and found this hotel to be very welcoming and friendly. We ordered from the special 2 course deal menu and all our food was delicious. The fish was especially good. The waiting staff were so helpful, friendly and chatty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColetteO182
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the complimentary review. Sorry about the wine. Not sure if the nice weather we've had lately helped the wine sales. I hope so.

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Oh! The photo is of the room we had which was marred by misted double glazing but the view across the bay is great and, if you're lucky you can eat dinner and breakfast looking at the view. Clean updated decor, tea and coffee in room. This is a pub restaurant on the sea front which has a mean road...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank esmerelda975
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we sometimes do run out of items on the menu as well as at the bar. Easter Sunday was a wonderfully sunny day in Gourock this year and beneficial to business. The down side of the surprisingly nice weather combined with Easter Sunday meant it was one of those days we run out of...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Stayed here with friends overnight and booked this as the hotel said they had free wifi and parking. On arrival, we found that parking was on the street and it was difficult to find a space. There was no reception desk but check in was no problem as staff were very friendly. One room was a good size overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I agree i need to get the wifi signal fixed. I have tried numerous things and spent money on WIFI extender kits but this seems only to work short term. I will need to call in a company fix it and get some sort of guarantee with it. Everything cost money. The rooms at the...

Gourock
Reviewed 9 February 2015

I went along with my husband and sister for dinner on Saturday evening. Both of their food was ok, however, I ordered an asparagus and gruyere tart for my main course and this was so overcooked and dry I had trouble even getting my knife through it. Serving staff were very pleasant and apologetic and, as I didn't want to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elaine C
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry your experience wasn't one to remember for the right reasons. I'll discuss with the staff on duty that night to see if they can help explain why the food wasn't presented as it should have been. Clearly if the feedback I get from customers continues in the same vain as yours I have a big problem. To date the...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We keep going back to the spinnaker every time we are in Scotland. We contacted the owner to request a table for 24 so we could meet up with family the day before a wedding. We where well looked after by the staff and anything we needed was taken care off. The food was fantastic the sharing platter was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liz d
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Really appreciate the kind and complimentary feedback. What can I say other than Thank You. :)

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
3.9 km away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
295 reviews
6.1 km away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
80 reviews
6.6 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.9 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Spinnaker Hotel

Address: 121 Albert Road, Gourock PA19 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Price Range: $79 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Spinnaker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Hotel Gourock
The Spinnaker Hotel Gourock, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Spinnaker Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Greenock, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Spinnaker Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views overlooking the Clyde are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsW1608, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we only ate here, so not sure.”
 of 5 bubbles G9146UIandreww, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room at top right on second floor has the best views to wake up to”
 of 5 bubbles DickCree, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“seafront, so back is quiet, front would have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles DavidTucker, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“We loved room 3.”
 of 5 bubbles JockScotland, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5