We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 509: English reviews
Rouses Point, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The room was shabby and dark, no amenities like kleenex, shampoo etc., Our room faced a cliff and when the window was open yu could hear everyones air conditioners, which made it noisy. At one point the elevator failed. It definitely needs upgrading. The parking lot is a nightmare!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 345jude
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I have spoken with the housekeeping team about the lack of amenities in your room and let them know that this is absolutely unacceptable. We are sorry that you feel your room was shabby and dark. We remodeled all of...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We were glad to find a Holiday Inn Express so conveniently located near Mt. Rushmore. This made our daytime visit and return for the evening lighting program easy. As expected, the Holiday Inn Express is a welcome sight at the end of our day for a clean room and comfortable & relaxing stay. Follow their warning to park in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knox10SC
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit.

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Lots of good things about the hotel, it is well located for the town and only a few miles from mount Rushmore the main local attraction. Everything about it is just fine, not exceptional, just fine. It's a bog standard holiday inn, it does what it says on the tin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william g
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are conveniently located 2.5 miles from Mt. Rushmore, 18.6 miles from the Crazy Horse Memorial, and 8.5 miles to Custer State Park. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit.

Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 30 September 2014

It is a small hotel, but all the employees are very accessible and helpful. The room, very well prepared and clean.. The beds are excellent and the breakfast, one of the best I've had. We asked for a late check-in and they were waiting for us when we arrived around 11pm. process was real kwick and w/o any problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jose R
Kirkland, Wa/Roskilde, Dk
Reviewed 26 September 2014

I'm a fan of the Holiday Inn chain - they have clean, comfortable rooms. This one was fine, walking distance to pretty much all of Keystone. But I feel like the service was just... okay. Also, our room was right above the back door, so when the windows were open, you could tell when the employees went for a smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soundergal
CZeimet, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that customer service was not to your standards. It is important to us to make our guests feel like each one of them is our top priority and if we failed to do that then I apologize. I have spoken to our employees about the smoking situation...

Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewed 25 September 2014

My family and i showed up without reservations early one afternoon. Michelle at the front desk was very helpful and immediately found a room for us. She mentioned it was the end of her day, but I felt treated like the first person encountered on her shift. What a friendly first face to encounter after 9 hours of driving. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob Y
Montross Va.
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Just finished eight nights at Holiday Inn Express in Keystone, and we had a wonderful stay. I can only say glowing things about how this hotel is managed--the room was clean, the breakfast was delicious, each and every staff member went beyond the call of duty to provide outstanding customer service. I must send out a special "thank you" to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cshackle
CZeimet, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a great staff that care about giving each guest the best stay possible. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Abbeville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 24 September 2014

This HI Express is tucked at the bottom of a mountain almost at the end of a side of main street in Keystone. For a most reasonable priced stay,all normal amenities were available and, no shortages of towels, comfortable beds, clean and convenient to downtown restaurants and shopping. The staff was AWESOME here. They were so homely, friendly, and conscientious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wewjaw
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Walking distance to restaurants and saloons in Keystone. Very friendly service. The usual Holiday Inn standard - clean, everything worked fine, reasonable size room - just not particularly memorable. Breakfast included and adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip4911
Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We had a two-night stay in September 2014. Hotel is in a GREAT location, within walking distance to town and food establishments. Room was quiet, large clean pool, good-sized hot tub. Our bill for the two nights was about $300.00 (king room with sofa-sleeper). Our only "complaint" is the parking situation which is challenging due to the hotel's location up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.7 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
250 reviews
2.9 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.5 km away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
12.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $97 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Tecumseh, Michigan
7 months ago
Commerce, Texas, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a bad location when you are there off-season. Sleepy town!”
 of 5 bubbles EnjoyTravelAlways, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no recommendation - my room on the 2nd floor was quiet - but so was the town”
  • view from entrance
  • twin bed room
  • TV, fridge, microwave
  • small sink
  • built in tub
 of 5 bubbles Shadia1071, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room that only shares one wall with another guest room! Lousy sound deadening between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Mgiffy, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles MariaD365, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I don't know about all of the rooms, just that our room was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Cricket2825, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5