Samuels Boutique Hotel

Samuels Boutique Hotel

34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1 Canada
Traveller (93)
River View Premium Room
Room & Suite (53)
Seafood Fettuccine at Samuels Bistro
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 8 hotels in Goderich
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Samuels Hotel! A modern boutique hotel built within the walls of a historic landmark since 1860 and nestled serenely on the Maitland River, in the prettiest town in Canada, Goderich. Enjoy continental breakfast every morning at Samuels Bistro, free High Speed WiFi and free on site parking with EV chargers. Every room features a private terrace and a cozy fireplace with hiking trails and fishing from the steps of our backyard. With only a 2 minute drive to the beach, golf course, shopping, airport, marina, and snowmobile trails, we are the ideal location for your perfect getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English
426Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 313
  • 79
  • 18
  • 3
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John P wrote a review Jan 2020
Lucknow, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I opted for an intimate New Years so decided to go to Samuel's, a restaurant we have visited in the past and loved. We also decided to stay overnight in the hotel. Glad we did. The restaurant is small, quiet and the food is always great. Starters were goats cheese pistachio truffle and prosciutto wrapped apple, followed by butternut squash soup andcacoear salad. The mains were duck and beef bourbon and dessert sticky walnut pudding. The meal was served at a leisurely pace with no rush. Diane and Ana were great. Friendly, efficient and knowledgable.

The room was well appointed, clean and overlooked the river. A small fireworks display at night capped the evening. The king bed was comfortable and there was a hair dryer, tv, fridge, iron and board. Not really wanting for anything.

The meal was reasonably priced at $75 per person and included a glass of champagne. The room with taxes was $190

We frequent the restaurant a few times a year and definitely will be back next New Years.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded May 5, 2022
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Samuels Boutique Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernsist wrote a review Sep 2021
Windsor, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first attempt at an overnight trip in this time of pandemic and we were pleasantly surprised by this visit.

After several phone calls to question the hotel policies and how the extras would be handled, we booked the "Culinary Adventure" package (we've had enough of cooking at home and ordering out}. We indicated our arrival time and dinner time preferences, and so the deed was done. I must admit they were very patient and explained everything to us.

On arrival everything was ready for us. Check -in went smoothly and we were given vouchers for the restaurants (with reservation times). We entered our room to find a cheese board and a bottle of VQA wine set up.

The room was very clean and modern (we trusted the proper steps as per COVID were followed) and was a typical motel style room with a good sized sitting area, desk area and large TV. A Keurig coffee maker, small fridge and microwave were also there. The bathroom was relatively small but it did have a large shower area.

The room opened to a small patio, with a bistro table and two chairs, that overlooked the river. It proved to be the perfect place to enjoy the cheese and wine.

The "culinary" part of this outing was at two local restaurants. Both have received high ratings and were worth the visits. The food vouchers were a bonus.

Due to COVID, the on site resto was not available so breakfast was room service or continental taken back to your room. We opted for room service each morning. Our orders were taken in the evening and delivered promptly at the time requested in the morning. It arrived hot and cooked to order.

We were pleased with it's quiet location close to town and a short drive to the beach and sunsets.

We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our outmost pleasure to welcome you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karenwhite037 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kincardine, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing staff that genuinely go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. We were a little skeptical to travel due to everything going on but we were welcomed with warmth and the room was spotless. It's a very small boutique hotel so it never feels overly crowded which makes it the perfect getaway during this time. We truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to all of our friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Quiet and cozy hotel, go for the rooms facing the river
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana Stavinschi, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Welcome back! It was our utmost pleasure to host you again and we are glad to hear we exceeded expectations. Thank you for the kind words and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gardensnake wrote a review Sep 2020
Sarnia, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I do love this location and the staff at Samuel's are very kind and friendly. My wife and I come here at least once a year to stay 1 or 2 nights. I have had extremely positive experiences in the past whilst staying here, but unfortunately have to admit that ambiance and communication to guests in general is going a bit downhill. Simple postings with the room or posted on the back of the door is all that would be needed to fix these discrepancies up. For example, if you are staying 2 nights, room cleaning is not an option and you are expected to leave your garbage and recycling and towels outside the door in the hall due to COVID I suspect. No problem, but please alert your guests of this expectation. Verbal mentions upon check in can be easily forgotten and not conveyed. Perhaps supplying each room with plastic bags for towels, recycling, refuse may be a good suggestion if true hygiene is really the desire here. Instead of having people's garbage and used laundry laying around the hallway, the bag would at least provide a barrier.

Next point; the Bistro. Room service is offered now as opposed to the typical sit-down seating due to the pandemic as well. Again, no problem. Upon calling the front desk to order, the staff announces that an 18% extra charge is added for the kitchen staff/cook/chef. Ok, I get it...since the restaurant isn't working in its typical capacity I understand that the staff is missing out on potential tips. This could easily be communicated on the menu itself, or again on a posting on the back of the door in each room. Communication is key in any circumstance. I have also noticed the past 2 years or so that the beds, and room furniture are starting to show some wear and tear. This happens, however I cannot say that the price per room reflects the service and atmosphere that once was. I would gladly pay 120-120$ per night for a place like this in its current state, but 200+ a night is not reasonable in my humble opinion.

I do look forward to continuing my patronage of this establishment in the future and hopefully the management will take heed of some of my suggestions and consider some changes.

Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Samuels Hotel strives for exceptional customer service and our front desk staff is trained to verbally inform every guest upon check-in of current changes and precautions taken at the property during this unfortunate time. Communication is key and we pride ourselves in interacting with guests personally instead of posting signs on doors that can easily be missed. With that being said, the front desk clerk was one phone call away to help you through any additional questions or concerns you might have had during your stay. In regards to the remarks towards our guest rooms, your feedback is very important to us and rest assured your comments will be considered for further improvement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise W wrote a review Aug 2021
Belmont, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At $300+ per night for the River View Jacuzzi Luxury Room, there was nothing "luxury" about the room. First and MOST importantly, the mattress is the complete opposite of luxury, it is old, sagging and absolutely one of the worst mattresses we have "tried" to sleep on. The linens were awful, it felt as though you were sleeping on paper. Nothing was soft or even had the hint of feeling luxurious & cozy. This particular room is right beside the laundry room, which is very loud and also rumbles the entire room. IF the room had a "luxury" mattress with upscale soft and cozy linens I could get passed the other fails of this room. It is VERY dated, the housecoats that are left in the room are horrible, they feel like you are putting on a piece of sandpaper. I would prefer no housecoat over one that has been starched and bleached to the point of no return. For the price, you should at least get proper coffee mugs, spoons, and real glasses, NOT plastic & paper. That's exactly what you would get at a budget motel. Products in the room are from Germany/China? We booked 2 nights and after the first night we decided to check out, we could not do another night on that mattress. We told the man at the desk and he was less than pleasant, mumbled a lot under his mask, argued with us about how old the mattress was, which he stated was changed in 2010??? We had no apology for our experience, no offer of a refund, and no suggestion of possibly switching our room. DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greenbilt Homes wrote a review Dec 2020
Mississauga, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The only thing I knew about Samuels when I booked it was that it had a soaker tub in the bedroom and had a pet friendly room. I also learned that in the midst of Covid- 19 they had shut the restaurant and that the buffet breakfast that I expected was not available. I was pleased when the supervisor offered to arrange for a microwave, toaster and kettle in the room so that I could prepare a breakfast.
When I arrived at Samuels after a cold Christmas Tree cutting trip in the immediate area, I was warmly greeted and that was the start of a very pleasant stay. There was an electric fireplace in room to warm us up as we enjoyed an excellent dinner provided through room service. The tub was actually an air bubbling tub and the hotel provided lavender bubblebath, slippers and huge thick bathrobe. In the morning we found the room's sliding doors led out to a sitting area overlooked a garden and bridge over the river. As we were checking out we popped into the closed restaurant and saw that it has a lovely outdoor patio.
The whole experience was marvelous. Kudos to the hotel for providing three electric charging stations for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Apr 2, 2021
Thank you kindly for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It would be our pleasure to host you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irenedouglas122 wrote a review Sep 2020
London, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Samuels Hotel in Goderich for the weekend to enjoy the Fall beauty of the area. This is the first hotel we’ve stayed at since the pandemic and the first time at Samuels Hotel. We were so impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness and yet it didn’t smell overpowering with chemicals. Our room was large and beautifully furnished with gleaming white linens and towels. We recommend Samuels Hotel as an excellent choice for accommodations in the Goderich/Blythe area where there is so much to see.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Oct 7, 2020
Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience. We appreciate the feedback and hoping to get the pleasure of hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe L wrote a review Sep 2020
Windsor, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Samuels Boutique is like a hidden gem. The couples jacuzzi room was beautifully decorated and outside grounds are beautiful with many flowers and foliage. The service was great, we had a excellent room service breakfast the next morning. We had a problem with our jacuzzi tub not working and I called the front desk they were unable to fix it. We were able to switch rooms to another room with a jacuzzi tub. We were grateful that the front desk dealt with this immediately and efficiently.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Oct 7, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience with our guests and travellers. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at Samuels Boutique Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAVE_NIAGARA2013 wrote a review Sep 2023
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We tried to book this hotel today with the assistance of desk clerk "Penny". Alas, her computer "crashed" as we were doing so. This required us to book on line while "Penny" was still on the phone with us. It was not until after the booking was complete and the hotel's 48 hour cancellation policy count down had begun did Penny confess the dining facilities described [ie implied] on their website did not actually exist and have not for some years. For example:
1. the website gallery shows a dining room with tables set with crockery and cutlery
2. the website entices you to enjoy a "culinary adventure" and "Dine at the local’s favourite restaurant Part II Bistro." Implying it was on site.
3. to make this deception worse, the website shows a picture of a couple clinking their wine glasses over a salad at a candlelight table. Just the sort of thing you'd expect to do at the hotel's cold breakfast facility!
As Penny finally admitted the hotel restaurant does not actually exist. And hasn't for years.
To make all this worse Penny did not confess this until AFTER we had made the room reservation and revealed where we live along with credit card info. --- thus permitting the hotel to charge us for a room we will never occupy. This is because their website states "we require 48 hours cancellation notice prior to your arrival date. Otherwise, a cancellation fee of a one night's stay plus taxes will be applied." Buyer BEWARE!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geoff m wrote a review Jul 2021
Pickering, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our kids bought us a couple of nights at this hotel. It is charming. Our room at the back of the hotel overlooks the river with sunset and we witnessed some wildlife too.
General manager Anna was very pleasant and basically couldn't do enough for us. We had a gift certificate for the restaurant but it was closed due to covid. Manager Anna got us fixed up with a choice of other restaurants and provided us with a certificate to go.
Breakfast was awesome and served in our room. Freshly made to order with additions of fresh fruit and a basket of the most delicious pastries. A great breakfast. Thank you Samuels and Anna in particular.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have the best view and sunset.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ana S, General Manager at Samuels Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the view of the Maitland River from your room. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Roam604178
1 contribution
I'm sure one could be booked from Goderich. The hotel is about a mile from the town centre and too far to walk \. It's a nice hotel and the food is excellent!
diross asked a question Oct 2020
Kitchener, Canada1 contribution
Will there be a new years eve menu this year?
Answer from diross
Kitchener, Canada1 contribution
Is there room service?
monia21 asked a question Jul 2020
Toronto, Canada470 contributions33 helpful votes
Are all of the units on the ground level?
Answer from Samuels Hotel
Goderich, Canada
Yes.
monia21 asked a question Jul 2020
Toronto, Canada470 contributions33 helpful votes
Is there a beach nearby?
Answer from Naomi
Grimsby, Canada19 contributions9 helpful votes
about a 5 min drive down the road is a small beach.
shurl asked a question Oct 2015
Michigan30 contributions25 helpful votes
Which of the rooms are pet friendly?
Answer from fchild
Goderich3 contributions1 helpful vote
We have two pet friendly rooms- a King Riverside and and double queen village side.Small pet fee applies.
klausundjutta2009 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Germany73 contributions72 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"highway across the river maitland is noisy"
Read full review
calmskys wrote a tip Aug 2023
Woodbridge, Canada44 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to everything."
Read full review
TravellingGirl200955 wrote a tip May 2023
Fenelon Falls, Canada36 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just sit back and enjoy the experience of Samuels Hotel. "
Read full review
Lisa B wrote a tip Sep 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the river side have a nice view."
Read full review
Elizabeth Wilson wrote a tip Apr 2022
Kingston, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a River side room. Quiet and lovely view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Goderich area.
PRICE RANGE
C$317 - C$406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioHuron CountyGoderich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Samuels Boutique Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Samuels Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Huron Historic Gaol (0.9 km), Menesetung Bridge (1.8 km), and Huron County Museum (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culbert's Bakery, West Street Willy's Eatery, and Cait's Cafe.
Does Samuels Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Samuels Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Huron Historic Gaol (0.9 km).
Does Samuels Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Samuels Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Goderich HotelsGoderich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GoderichHotels near Samuels Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars