We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samuels Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Samuels Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Samuels Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Wonder place to stay .. Great room , friendly staff . Great dinner. Would recommend this place to stay . Great view would love to see in the summer, the buffet breakfast was wonderful and filling , the view of the maitland river was so beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Samuels. We look forward to perhaps a return trip once the beaches are warm for swimming and boating and the leaves are back on the trees! Thank you for sharing your experience with others on trip advisor.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Samuels. Our riverside room had a gas fireplace that added a cozy feel. The included continental breakfast was better than average with yogurt parfaits, boiled eggs, locally made muffins and pain au chocolat. The hostess would bring a carafe of coffee to the table, too. We enjoyed a very nice dinner at Samuels one night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

It was delightful speaking with you while you were here. For avid hikers there truly is so many trails to enjoy. Just for clarity, it is possible to walk to town in about 10 minutes via sidewalk along highway, but the trails wind around north and then back towards Goderich, thus the much longer hike if you take the trails...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Our stay was lovely. Our room was quiet, the chance to sit outside on our private patio and soak up the early Spring sun was fabulous. Morning complimentary breakfast was terrific. There was no need to order more!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

It was a lovely day indeed when you were here! I'm glad you enjoyed overlooking the river and soaking up some sun on your patio. Thank you for your feedback. Wolf Gang Puck is our in-room coffee of choice, however I know there are many who love their own brand of coffee, whatever that may be. Thank you for staying...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here only for a day. All the hotel staff (and also the owner) were very nice. The room was fantastic, especially the fireplace and the shower. They gave us free couple of water bottles and small package of chocolate in our room. They had tasty and moist banana bread for the patrons in the lobby. They were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvi S
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Samuels Hotel with others. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable, even if business was your main reason for visiting our area. Our Cook's favourite thing to do is to make a new treat for guests as they check in each day - she'll be glad to know you enjoyed...

Vaughan, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Welcomed by wonderful Stacey at the front desk, very kind and a good listener...a smallish-town treat. The Hotel is magical and super rich in history. Very clean and very large, well contemporarily-designed rooms. Also meet with Kim the Owner, Wow, what a story about how the Hotel was born, and how passionate Kim & her husband are @taking care of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerTell
HomeGirlGoderich, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! It was a delight to have you with us Valentines weekend. Enjoy the 'Smitten Mittens'! We'll look forward to a visit once again one day in the future. We appreciate that you took the time to tell others on trip advisor about your experience at Samuels.

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and accommodating. We spent New Years Eve on a fine and stay package. The rate was great, the food amazing and the atmosphere was lovely. I highly recommend for a couples getaway. The New Years package was a 6 course delight. The continental breakfast was unlike any I've had before, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn M
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

It was as much of a delight for us to prepare all of the special food for you as it was for you to enjoy. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and the staff that grace our front desk. Thank you sharing your experience with others on trip advisor. All the best to you and yours...

Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We are from a major city and wanted to take a break from fast paced city life. We accidentally stumbled on Samuels Hotel website and I am glad we did. Kim, the manager and all the staff were very pleasing. We had a king bedroom with Jacuzzi. The room was very clean with modern amenities. We went during Christmas holidays....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank j0elj0hn
HomeGirlGoderich, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm very happy you enjoyed your break away from the hussel and bustle of Toronto. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you one day again in the future. Happy New Year to you!

Huntsville, Ontario
Reviewed 28 December 2015

This is our second stay at Samuels..it is always comfortable, inviting feel-at-home yet sophisticated. Staff are so accommodating. It is always important to me to have fresh air so opening the sliding doors to the landscape and river never gets old. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue and bob w
HomeGirlGoderich, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and thank you that Samuels is your home away from home of choice. It was a pleasure to see you both again. Have a Happy New Year and we'll see one day again.

Blue Mountains, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2015

I attend a meeting in Goderich which allowed me to stay at this lovely quaint hotel. The room & washroom were clean just how I like it. It the morning we had a great breakfast to start our day. This hotel has lots of history and so does the town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boris2552
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

We see a lot of corporate clients through our doors and glad you were one of them! We know it's important to have a great place to stay once the work day is over. It was a lot of fun to be able to use the original tin ceiling, expose the original brick walls and refinish the hardwood floors that...

Windsor, Ontario
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Tremendously friendly and helpful staff at this beautiful little hotel. Was hoping for something like a cross between a hotel and a B&B and that's exactly what I got Excellent restaurant and delicious food in an intimate setting. Sweet hot tub with really cool lights, free fun collection of DVDs to borrow, loved their continental breakfast too AND it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiemO2350QS
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be very attentive and friendly! The bathroom in the jacuzzi suite is not large,that is correct. The fan system we have, however, is running all of the time and is whisper quiet. Thus you would not have been able to find a switch to turn it...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goderich hotels
6.8 km away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
312 reviews
1.5 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
192 reviews
8.3 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
77 reviews
1.5 km away
Colborne Bed and Breakfast
2.0 km away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the Maitland River, 1 km north of Goderich, you will find Goderich's most contemporary Boutique Hotel. Samuels is a member of Ontario's Finest Inns. Every room has all expected amenities plus a private terrace and fireplace, with king or queen beds. Relax in our jacuzzi rooms, enjoy hiking trails or fishing directly from our property. Golf, beach, shopping, airport, marina, snowmobile trail, all within 2 kms of hotel. Complimentary continental breakfast included, free wi-fi. Licensed dining room. Room service and Bistro on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samuels Hotel

Address: 34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Price Range: $142 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samuels Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Samuels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samuels Hotel Goderich, Ontario - Huron County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Samuels Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Clarkston, Michigan
over a year ago
indiana
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Samuels Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the River side room with king bed and jacuzzi. It was comfortable and quite nice.”
 of 5 bubbles stephensP4966LT, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the river view side of the hotel which has a good view of the Maitland river from the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles swdjenkins, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“King river view”
 of 5 bubbles gertya, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at back, with view.”
 of 5 bubbles AwesomeEats, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the ice maker and Kitchen area,”
 of 5 bubbles 978dougc, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay