We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandy Shore Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sandy Shore Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The loft was clean the air conditioning worked great. Must be careful in the showers as the shower floor is slippery and could use non-slip strips on the shower floor. Very nice that all bedding and kitchen items are included. The pontoon boat worked for our group of 7 to fish together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27loie
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lois for your visit and review. Sorry for shower. We did not know it is slippery because nobody complained before. Thank you for your notice, we have bought a special rug for shower and will be glad to see you the next year!

Vaughan
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The hosts are fantastic including the youngest member-Alex, all requests met on a timely basis, there are however a lot of "house rules". Quiet and romantic spot, perfect sunset view from your deck. Cottages are very close together. Small fire pit at the foot of your deck. Pool and area always clean. No sandy beach as Rice lake famous more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markski69
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Mark for your visit, extremely clean cottage and very nice review. We suppose you have not seen our small sandy beach. It is not for adults, it is more for children because it is too shallow. We have a small sandy beach close too our launch. I put a picture of our beach area here. thank...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This was our first time at Sandy Shores Resort on Rice Lake. We visit a new resort every year for the past 20 years on Rice Lake and hands down this resort has Exceptional Customer Service. Evegeny, Natasha and their sons have a very clean and tidy resort. Their cottages are spotless, we didn't see one bug or dust anywhere,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musky A
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Dan for your visit and for your great words! It is the best reward when we understand people appreciate what we do. Such words always make us do something nice to surprise our guests with something new year by year. We are preparing some amazing... for the next year. We would be more than happy to...

Tonawanda, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This was our first trip to Sandy Shores. We were not disappointed. There were 5 of us, and we stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage. There was plenty of room, especially because of the patio/deck. Which gave us a glorious view of Rice Lake. The owners were on site, and they were some of the nicest people we have met....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Wendy, Thank you very much for your visit and for you amazing review. We will be more than happy to see your family again in Cottage #1!

Richmond Hill, Ontario
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We traveled as a family, three generations. My parents enjoyed swimming in the heated outdoor pool. My children had fun fishing and spending time outdoors. I already suggested Sandy Shore cottages to my friends and next time we will come with few other families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J4711JEmarinag
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Marina for your visit and for you nice review. We will be more than happy to see your family again meet your friends!

Mississauga
Reviewed 24 August 2016

My family and I have been coming to Sandy Shores for the past two years. We have come to make great memories and love going the this resort. The cottages are sooo clean. (which i can't say enough about). They have everything that you will ever need in them. The owners are wonderful people. Evengy and Natalia will ensure that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Catherine for your visits and for you wonderful review. We will be more than happy to see your family again the next year!

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Excellent. The cleanliness of the rooms and the entire surroundings are of very good quality. We were particularly touched by the friendly approach of couple and they made our stay at ease. We are thinking of going back to the cottage next year, at the beginning of the season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chirayil_thomas
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Thomas for your nice group visit and for you wonderful review. We will be more than happy to see you guys again the next year and we are sure you will have a great fishing!

St. Thomas, On
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We love to know what to expect on our much needed annual vacation. We are never disappointed at Sandy Shore Resort. Our cottage is always well kept, clean and ready for us. We always ask for the same cottage for various reasons. The only improvement would be trimming of the tree in front of cottage #5. The view is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lori_lackey
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lori for your many many years visits and for you wonderful review. We will trim the tree in front of your cottage #5 and you will not miss anything! We will be more than happy to see you again during this fall season!

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We know this resort for at least 15 years now. Whenever we didn't feel like driving too long north we would try the availability here. If you go during the summer you better make a reservation long before your planned trip because chances are it is fully booked. As far as I can remember there are around six cottages and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudium132
Natalia G, Owner at Sandy Shore Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much Claudio, Valentina and Eric for your visits and for your wonderful review! We are so happy if our guests get such nice memories about our cottages and service. And such reviews encourage us to implement much more improvements of our service and the place. We will be more than happy to see you again!

Ajax
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We just returned from a 4 day stay at Sandy Shore with our family visiting from NL. What a hidden gem! Stayed in Cottage #1 which was very clean, well stocked with all necessities. The owners are awesome & were always available. We enjoyed a lot of things - to mention a few: the calm view of the water, fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AjaxNewfiemom

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwood
20.7 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
331 reviews
19.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
395 reviews
1.9 km away
Hillview Haven B&B
Hillview Haven B&B
#1 of 2 in Baltimore
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Roseneath
112 reviews
12.8 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
158 reviews
17.0 km away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WE OFFER seven quality 2, 3 & 4 bedroom fully air conditioned self-catering cottages and Lake View Cedar Barrel Sauna, day weekend option (without nightly staying) is available. All of our accommodations have pine interiors, ceiling fans in all rooms, completely outfitted kichens plus fridge, stove and microwave; color TV and flat screen TVs with satellite and DVD/VCR, CD, sliding glass doors out to a wrap-around deck with patio set and BBQ, and outdoor fireplaces. All 3 and 4 bedroom cottages have 2 bathrooms. Our unique 2 bedroom loft units feature corner gas fireplaces and a large picture window overlooking the lake. A connecting door between the two units allows for large groups or families (up to 12) to be together, or can be locked to offer separate accommodations. Our 3 bedroom cottage is a 2 storey "Chalet." WHAT YOU NEED TO BRING: For all of our cottage rentals, you will need to bring your own bath, pool and kichen towels, and paper products. Full bed linens and pillows supplied - as well as coffee filters, salt & pepper and dish detergent in all cottages. Coin laundry facilities, complimentary fish cleaning station and freezer storage are available. Our state of the art floating dock system with large protected slips doubles as a great fishing pier! Lakeside heated inground pool and sundeck with patio sets and loungers. Lookout gazebo and playground. Free use of paddle boats! As an added convenience, fishing licenses, bait, ice and firewood are available on site. SMALL PETS (up to 4 kg) ARE ALLOWED FOR OUR GUESTS BUT IT MUST BE APPROVED BY THE HOSTS. APPLICABLE FEE FOR SMALL PET IS $100 FOR A WEEK AND $50 FOR A WEEKEND. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandy Shore Cottages

Address: 5428 Young St Unit 340 RR 1 | Harwood, Harwood, Ontario K0K 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Harwood
Price Range: $263 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Shore Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandy Shore Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Last cottage is adjacent to pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles Markski69, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They have only 1 3 bedroom - I would get this next time- but you have to plan ahead.”
  • View from Deck
 of 5 bubbles 25wendyp, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay