We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hosteria la Barquita

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hosteria la Barquita
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We spent two days and two nights at La Barquita with a large group and all meals included. The facilities and service was great! We loved the pool, wifi, easy access to the beach and spacious gathering areas. The attention of the staff even with a large group was great. They were quick and friendly with everything we needed.

Helpful?
Thank Dion P
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

This place was very relaxing and great service in all areas! The rooms were very big and the set up was really nice. I love the hammocks outside of the rooms. A great place to relax and read a book listening to the waves from the beach! The breakfast was very good as well simple but the fruit juices were... More 

Helpful?
Thank TQueenRen
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you very much TQueenRen, It was our pleasure to have you at La Barquita. Sorry for the trouble with internet...We're really working hard to have a good Wifi but you know we live in Ecuador Manabi and it's quite hard to have good tech services. We actually have two internet connections to avoid a lost of signal. We should... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The $75 a night we paid for a double was for the beach, the pool and the top floor of the boat-shaped restaurant. The rooms were very basic for the price, some of the beds had bedbugs and were very hard, and while the shower worked, it was not up to the standards of a $75 room in Ecuador. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank sethsandy
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Seth, We will take a special attention to your comments and can assure you that we do our best to keep all kind of insects away from the rooms, that's one of the reason we don't allow pets in La Barquita even though we love them. All our beds were sprayed with biodegradable products after... More 

Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

A pool, easy access to the beach, and a restaurant in the shape of a boat. Heck yes! Super unique! From the outside it doesn't look like much, but don't be fooled, once those doors open its a hidden paradise inside. Lush garden, barbecue, and lounging hammocks. Awesomely beautiful. A must visit for a drink on the top deck of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Soniyae R
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you very much, We're so glad you enjoyed La Barquita as we do. We hope to see you soon again. More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We had made reservations months in advance for this place. Next day we find out we and this other couple are the only ones staying there at that point. Kitchen was not stocked and they were out of practically everything. Next day the same thing. Manager said her car was being repaired that's why she had not gone shopping. Beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank femeveit
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I liked this hotel the rooms are comfortable and nice, clean. The beach its really beautiful but careful with the ocean its rough! if you like surfing or using a board this is the place to be. Food takes too long to get served and its ok not as good as the restaurants outside the place.

Helpful?
Thank dianagodoysaker
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

You wouldn't expect this place to be as nice as it is when you drive up to it. It's just off the main road from Puerto Lopez to Montañita and doesn't look like much from outside. Once you go in, however, the grounds are lovely with trees, grass and flowers with cabins around the central area and small swimming pool.... More 

Helpful?
Thank orchidbee
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The pool is gorgeous, its the perfect temperature and very clean and well maintained! The beach is gorgeous with plenty of beach chairs and hammocks with nice overhangs to protect from the sun. The grounds are impeccably maintained and very relaxing. The rooms could use a little updating, but for a beach hostel not too bad. Service was okay, it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank HaitiTraveler99
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Traveling with my wife and brother in law thru La ruta del sol, and we were looking for a hostel, went to a few in Ayampe. Although the Ayampe hostels were very nice, the ones we looked at lacked AC. We needed AC bc we were also traveling woth our 5month old baby. We found exactly what we were looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ale Tati l
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided to go whale watching and found this beach hotel located between Las Tunas and Puerto Rico. Loved the peaceful atmosphere, friendly welcoming service and easy access to walk the beach. We tried the restaurant, was good for breakfast but for lunch and dinner we went to Isla Salango - Pelicano and Carmitas, and Casa_Vecchia_Ristorante_Pizzeria in Puerto_Lopez (restaurant sign... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tunas
0.1 km away
Tsafiki Hosteria
Tsafiki Hosteria
#1 of 2 in Las Tunas
39 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 5 in Puerto Lopez
117 reviews
9.9 km away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#1 of 5 in Puerto Lopez
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
487 reviews
0.4 km away
Wipeout Cabana Restaurant
Wipeout Cabana Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Las Tunas
26 reviews
0.1 km away
Equus Erro Hosteria
Equus Erro Hosteria
#6 of 6 in Las Tunas
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A FASCINATING BEACH HOSTEL that invites you to visit our beautiful beaches.The perfect spot to relax and adventure along the “Ruta del Sol” and Machalilla National Park. We offer a great variety of tours, like Isla de la Plata, whale watching, horseback riding snorkelling, biking, paragliding, fishing and so on all year long.We offer rooms, in different and separated area with private bathroom small terrace with hammock right by the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria la Barquita

Address: Ciudadela 12 de Octubre entre Puerto Rico y Las Tunas | Km 88 de La Ruta del Spondylus, Las Tunas, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Las Tunas
Price Range: $78 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria la Barquita 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria la Barquita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria La Barquita Ecuador/Las Tunas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria la Barquita staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with only one level.”
 of 5 bubbles femeveit, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are fine, though perhaps more breeze and fewer bugs on the 2nd floor than on the ground floor of the various buildings. A/C is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles orchidbee, 5 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Bear in mind that some of the rooms are basic (no tv, separate bathroom) unless you book the superior rooms which have everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Sabz8888, 19 Mar 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay