We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Kundalini

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Kundalini
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Kundalini
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hostal is surrounded by a beautiful, relaxing garden directly next to the beach. The ubication besides its nearness to the beach is also close enough to the village but just outside the noise, for me the perfect ubication. The staff is friendly and they serve a great breakfast, with natural juice, coffee, fruits and scrambled eggs. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasfer
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Me hospede en el hotel durante 3 días, todo iba bien hasta que yo era el último huésped. Me fui a la piscina por un rato y cuando volví a la habitación , me habían robado mi iPhone 5. En el hotel no había nadie, solo yo y el personal del hotel. En mi habitación habían 3 amigos más, a...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Edmundo S
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review
Google Translation

Ante esta situación, como hotel responderemos para dar a conocer realmente a los lectores lo que sucedió y desmentir la...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I spend the weekend over there, the service, and the people was very nice, is very good located,how ever the food was absolutly ugly. For one or two nighta is fine, but i dont know if for that price yo can find somethig else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdpatino21
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola gracias por tu comentario! realmente en Kundalini solo brindamos el servicio de desayuno y en muy rico y completo!...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My stay at Hostal Kundalini was mostly pleasurable. Positives first: absolutely astounding grounds and ocean view! The grass was green and lush, there was a beautiful array of trees and flowers, and it's all set directly on the beach. The room (quadruple matrimonial with ocean view) was spacious and the bathroom was much better than I expected with a massive...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ConsidersEveryDetail
HostalKundalini, Manager at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review
Google Translation

Querido cliente gracias por su cometario! Antes que nada mil disculpas por los inconvenientes causados. Actualmente pensamos que hemos mejorado...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas. Our first impressions were good, as the grounds and hotel are very well kept and quite nice. Unfortunately the staff were extremely rude! Every time we asked for something, for example; can we hire beach towels (in Spanish) we were met with a curt No, and no alternative. Breakfast consisted of a piece of over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea N
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review

Hi Andrea! sorry about your bad moment! we have improve our breakfast now and we have Silvia Pere as the new service manager! She is in charge of the people working at the hotel! Its really hard in Montanita to find people with experience in quality service but we try our best and we are improving day by day thanks...

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Pretty expensive for Ecuador and for what you get. I liked the location, but the owners could pay attention to small details if they want to charge this price and have happy customers, such as cleaning the rooms regularly, improving the breakfast - Ecuador is famous for its fruits so why are they serving poor quality juice?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don M
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review

Hey thak you very much for your comments and other about the poor quality juice, NOW WE HAVE REAL JUICE WITH NATURAL FRUITS, We try to vary it every day! would be a pleasure having you again in Kundalini so you can enjoy our improvements! For the comment about the price now we charge $20 per person in low season...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

The pros first: nice location, away from the noise and crowd. The cons: tiny triple room with a bunk bed with no bed fence. Dirty towels. Awful breakfast with powder juice, tiny bread. Also, thé hôtel is renovating and the eating area is in thé middle of work. I would go back if the price was appropriate for thé quality:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nenette5
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review

Hi Nenett! thanks for your critics! your critics and 2 more bad comments about our breakfast made us improve it with natural juice. The bread still small but we give 2 breads (and you can ask for more if you want), scrumbled eggs with cheese and jam, fruits, natural juice and good coffe! its good for $20 - $25 dollar...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We loved the silence over there, each room has 2 hammocks which is great to have a beer and hear to the waves sound... friendly staff, clean room. is not luxury, you just have what you pay. very close to Montañita, but far enough to enjoy the silence. (4 minutes by walking) As an advice to the owners: would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noutonic
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Hostal Kundalini is a peaceful retreat from the often chaotic Montanita, and is only a short walk along the main road or beach front. It is directly accessible from the beach and has a broad lawn and gardens and is beautifully set surrounded by trees. The staff are a real help, particularly accommodating and helpful in dealing with our limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Kundalini is located right on the beach so you can hear the waves from your room. Each room had its own hammock outside its door, plus five more down by the beach. This place is very quiet, and only a five minute walk to the centre of Montanita where all the action is. I recommend staying at this place -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (348)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.7 km away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.5 km away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
109 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
201 reviews
9.5 km away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#7 of 10 in Montanita
44 reviews
0.7 km away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 42 in Montanita
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Price Range: $57 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Kundalini 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montanita
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montanita
#1 Green Hotel in Montanita
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Kundalini staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Kundalini staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“this is a mid range you can get rooms on the beach for $15.00”
 of 5 bubbles 857tommys, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on top floor have better breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles kinkajubead, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles 523jordans, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are fine. It's a quiet hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles lars682, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Obviously a Room facing the Ocean / Beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Jnanayog, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5