We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted with a friendly smile from the gentleman who was on reception and were given a really great deal on a 2 night stay at the Bella Vista Fox. He and his wife showed us all the things to do in Fox and we really needed another day.The room was modern and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiwi5000
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Bella Vista was centrally located; within easy walking distance of a couple of pubs and restaurants although Fox Glacier town is tiny anyway. The unit we stayed in was spotless. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but it seemed well equipped. I used the laundry facilities which were very reasonably priced. The reception staff were very friendly and suggested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Dallas, TX
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Bella Vista Fox Glacier while travelling throughout New Zealand. Unfortunately, this motel was not anywhere near the level of comfort and friendliness that we found at other Bella Vistas in other cities. Apparently, there is a reason this particular motel is currently ranked 7 out of 10 in this small town. Beds were uncomfortable and dated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Korcoug
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

As the owners of this business we are very disappointed and concerned when we receive such a negative review. Unfortunately as you use the name Korcoug and not the name you registered under I have no idea who you are or which unit you stayed in. Obviously I don't recall any conversations but we always endeavour to give all our...

Connecticut
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fox Glacier as a town doesn't have a lot of choices. The Bella Vista is clean, has a microwave and is within a block or two of pubs and restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful and patient. We only stayed one night on our way through from Queenstown to Christchurch but I have no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishingchic
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here earlier this month, and after a long day of driving from the east coast it was nice to be checked in by friendly staff who knew the area. We were thinking about visiting lake Matheson in the afternoon but the receptionist said it would be best to go the next morning because the ducks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelcaller
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was very clean, modern, well furnished and well maintained. The management was very helpful and flexible. We were able to do laundry and use their spa. The location was excellent--very centrally located on the main street--for enjoying Fox Glacier.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fellis4290
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Checked in was given a good brief on the area restaurants and things to do. Also got an upgrade to a King room as the motel was not fully booked. The bed/living area was a good size and spotless - very impressed. Kitchen area with a Microwave, toaster and fridge. The town is quite small with a few shops, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 320KEVIN
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good modern motel with all the normal facilities and comfortable bed. Close to the main road but very little road noise due to road being closed at night because of landslip on Haast pass road. Manager recommended Lake Matheson cafe to us for dinner and also suggested driving along the glacier view road since my wife is a wheelchair user...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mymsman
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A clean, modern, fit-for-purpose comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacier Village. The owners are really helpful, I left my camera behind on Christmas Eve and they got it to me in Wanaka, free of charge by Boxing Day (Brilliant service, Thank You). The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area.The Last Kitchen next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank belly5uk
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacire Village. The owners are really helpful, friendly and knowledgable of the mountains and area. Unfortunately it was the only time on our whole trip that the weather let us down, it never stopped raining so we didin't really see much of the glacier or surrounding area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizEaves

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
949 reviews
1.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $131 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
1 month ago
Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CKWJ30, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 13 was good.”
 of 5 bubbles VickiBrooklyn, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room and it was very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 931aileenr, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try for downstairs rooms to be sheltered from rain while unlocking the door.”
 of 5 bubbles Wessa01, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Very little to choose as all similar, just some a little larger than Others”
 of 5 bubbles 100DavidB, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay