We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 349: English reviews
Connecticut
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fox Glacier as a town doesn't have a lot of choices. The Bella Vista is clean, has a microwave and is within a block or two of pubs and restaurants. The front desk staff was very helpful and patient. We only stayed one night on our way through from Queenstown to Christchurch but I have no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishingchic
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here earlier this month, and after a long day of driving from the east coast it was nice to be checked in by friendly staff who knew the area. We were thinking about visiting lake Matheson in the afternoon but the receptionist said it would be best to go the next morning because the ducks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelcaller
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was very clean, modern, well furnished and well maintained. The management was very helpful and flexible. We were able to do laundry and use their spa. The location was excellent--very centrally located on the main street--for enjoying Fox Glacier.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fellis4290
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Checked in was given a good brief on the area restaurants and things to do. Also got an upgrade to a King room as the motel was not fully booked. The bed/living area was a good size and spotless - very impressed. Kitchen area with a Microwave, toaster and fridge. The town is quite small with a few shops, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 320KEVIN
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good modern motel with all the normal facilities and comfortable bed. Close to the main road but very little road noise due to road being closed at night because of landslip on Haast pass road. Manager recommended Lake Matheson cafe to us for dinner and also suggested driving along the glacier view road since my wife is a wheelchair user...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mymsman
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A clean, modern, fit-for-purpose comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacier Village. The owners are really helpful, I left my camera behind on Christmas Eve and they got it to me in Wanaka, free of charge by Boxing Day (Brilliant service, Thank You). The staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area.The Last Kitchen next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank belly5uk
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable motel with good facilities right in the centre of Fox Glacire Village. The owners are really helpful, friendly and knowledgable of the mountains and area. Unfortunately it was the only time on our whole trip that the weather let us down, it never stopped raining so we didin't really see much of the glacier or surrounding area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizEaves
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we visited Fox Glacier and would definitely look for another hotel if we came through again. The room was very small and $70 a night more expensive than any other hotel we stayed in while we have been in New Zealand. It is advertised as free Internet but you only get a certain...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz19592014
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

As the owners of this business we were very disappointed to receive this negative review. Our aim is to have every guest leave satisfied. In response we would like to point out that the Glacier Region in New Zealand has higher tariffs than other parts of New Zealand due to it's isolated location and high cost involved with running an...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A clean, modern, fit-for-purpose motel at the edge of Fox Glacier village. The path to Fox Glacier starts right next to the motel, where you can see many glow worms at night. The Last Kitchen next door provides a great dinner after your day of walking around and on the glacier. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Kitchenette well equipped. Shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Hokitika, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had to laugh at some of these reviews. We stayed in 20 odd motels on our 4 week tour of New Zealand. Bella Vista Fox Glacier rates up there. Everything clean and modern. The front desk staff were helpful and and ensured we had all the necessary information to enjoy our stay in a stunning part of New Zealand. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna S

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
342 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,084 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
365 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $86 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
4 months ago
Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the glow worm walk in the forest next door, the hosts will tell you about it.”
 of 5 bubbles BigTea33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles Z1196DTthomasl, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing road and car park would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 21DaysAway, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room no.24”
 of 5 bubbles Bhaskarbvr, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CKWJ30, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5