We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Having travelled all over the world this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in. The room was dirty and smelly, curtains were moldy, shower had someone else's toiletries left in it, carpet was disgusting. Walls were so thin we could hear the person next door snoring all night. The bed was broken and on a massive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell P
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologise for the difficulties experienced by you during your stay at the hotel. our selling prices are determined by the quality of our offerings and costs of procurement. I regret that you found us to be expensive. I assure you that we will...

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We booked it via tripadvisor cuz it was cheap and available, and boy did we hit the jackpot! Complimentary soup and breakfast (toasts and cereals), comfortable beds (we took a dorm room-27$). Shower was nice but kinda small. Everything was clean and had a nice homey feeling to it. Plus they have a big fireplace outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 37halel
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Amazing environment. Neat and clean place. We got free breakfast soup and unlimited popcorn. The view from the room was amazing. And we got 5% discount in our restaurant.. Lovely and Memorable stay..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purushottam C
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I had been in hospitality industry for very long time and is well verse with how the best services are rendered to the customers and I find the same with this hotel. The staff were very courteous and always ready to help. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I recommend all my fellow travelers to visit once over here and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akram J
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Two of us stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with communal bathrooms. Staff were excellent, rooms were neat and tidy with individual light and power socket in each pod. Can never complain about free breakfast and soup for dinner. Bathrooms were a little dated, nothing special but clean which is most important. Good laundry facilities and enjoyed discount at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hostel was in poor shape. The rooms were dark and needed to be cleaned better. The bathrooms could be in better shape. The "Sauna" was indefinitely closed and the staff had no apologies nor compensation for this closed amenity. The free soup in the kitchen as not good and not worth sticking around for. The hostel staff at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jspek
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the onset I would like to thank you for your review. Firstly, its none of your business that where and when our staff works. Its called Multi tasking which i guess you have never heard of. Secondly, our policy is very straight any cancellation is free of charge if done 48 hours prior. If you are so...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed here 2 nights over New Years', and paid $125 AUD per night as all other accommodation in the town was booked up. We were very disappointed with the standard at the hostel, especially given the price! Showers and toilets were dirty and not well maintained. The building itself is old and noisy. The food in the restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxemmamcdxx
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would have appreciated if you would have written the whole story rather than just accusing the staff and making them the offenders. The staff was not rude instead you were totally drunk and were abusive to the Bar manager and the cashier. On which you were asked to leave the restaurant as other guests were getting uncomfortable...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here again. The room was overall dirty, dead insects were squashed on the walls and the mattress was broken with springs poking into me all night. However, the attached Bigfoot restaurant was good. Avoid the hostel if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fox Pod Hostel. It is with sincere regret that I noted your dissatisfaction with our services and facilities.It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. I would like to reiterate our commitment to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

It was the worse place that stayed on my trip to New Zealand. WI-FI didn't work, breakfast wasn't ready on the time (and it was just bread and cereal). The shower wetted the entire bathroom. Well, at least location was good..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valeria M
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, During the past one week we havenot had any complains from the guests regarding the WIFI. All my staff including me use the hotel WIFI and it has been working absolutely fine. There is a way to login to our WIFI which is explained at checkin. So if your WIFI didnot work you should have come to our...

Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed one night on the backpacker and we loved our stay ! The receptionists are lovely and the rooms are clean and quiet. We have free wifi and free breakfast and they are both nice. I recommend it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Koia Ora!! Thank you so much for your review on your stay with us. Your kind commendation of our property and services just brighten our day. We are committed to consistently provide warm and efficient services to all our guests and appreciative comments such as yours are most encouraging and will always be our greatest reward. We are...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
336 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
15.9 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $53 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“superb location, multiple activities like skydiving nearby, a serene place”
 of 5 bubbles muzzammilb2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 33 which is a private room with ensuite as it was in the end we only had one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles 186lisam186, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Jspek, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Shared dorms are tiny, consider a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles xxemmamcdxx, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dormitories are available but we chose a private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Avntheothers, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5