We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All reviews one night lake matheson mount cook new zealand rooms are modern water pressure fantastic views south island spa room views of the mountains close to town two nights dvd player the main road fresh milk great accommodation helicopter flight
We stayed in the motel (a two bedroom apartment) on 2 January. We were thankful that we were only there for one night. We checked in late in the afternoon, dropped everything in it and left to explore the area before sunset. By the time...More
Clean, comfortable, quiet motel with a very pleasant young man at reception who made us feel welcome. Convenient for Fox and reasonably close to Franz J. I forgot to take my jacket when we checked out. The receptionist rang my mobile and informed me within...More
Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Chris C
Response from sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset MotelResponded 4 days ago
Thank you for your sharing your stay experience with us. We were glad that you had a good stay in Fox.
We Hope you have a wonderful trip in NZ.
We were thankful we only booked for 1 night. The room was dirty and only 'surfaced' cleaned. The bed was so old, it concaved when you sat on it and when you layed on it, it sank down so low you were almost sleeping on...More
Date of stay: October 2018
1 Thank Rachel M
Response from sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset MotelResponded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and we were unfortunate to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
We will pass on this with the team and keep the standards maintained.
Simple and clean motel, with parking just outside our room, and a very helpful receptionist. Location is the main road of Fox Glacier town. Room is clean and quiet. No breakfast but there are close-by options.
Pros- room was clean and had small view.
Cons- room absolutely stunk of fake air freshener, enough for even a non allergy sufferer to react. Water pressure was dismal, hot water mixer was very finicky and hard to get anything other than boiling or like...More
Date of stay: November 2018
Response from sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset MotelResponded November 23, 2018
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
However, we surprised by what you said as we would not say anything was the only to the guest and we tried to provide you as much...More
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located …Moreon Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. Less
Star ratings indicate the general level of features and amenities to expect. They are provided to TripAdvisor by third-party partners such as Expedia and Giata.
Response from sunsetmotellers | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. I'm not sure why this has come up now when you stayed in 2012. I can't find any reviews on tripadvisor from you. As you can imagine many things have been replaced, changed or fixed in 5 years... More
Thank you for your question. I'm not sure why this has come up now when you stayed in 2012. I can't find any reviews on tripadvisor from you. As you can imagine many things have been replaced, changed or fixed in 5 years. Everything you have mentioned has not really been an issue. In regards to beds everyone has their own preference with how firm the mattress is etc.
Doing your own dishes is more of a consideration, but our cleaners check these dishes every day when the rooms are cleaned. This is standard over all motels in New Zealand and the world. We have never had a complaint or issue raised with any health inspectors for this.
Questioning the other reviews we have had with high scores is a little disappointing. All of our reviews are given by guests and not paid for or enticed by us in any way.
As we don't have your details other than your name on tripadvisor I have no way to look back at your booking.
Not sure why this has been brought up 5 years later. If we had been told of the issues during your stay things could have been remedied easily.