We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Peaks Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
High Peaks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for High Peaks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I picked this motel for its location - close to the town of Fox Glacier and to Lake Matheson, with a killer view of the mountains. Unfortunately, we arrived in the pouring rain, so we didn't get to see much. Instead, we did our laundry! The washer and dryer were located right next to our room, and they were spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannerobins
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Accommodation was well located away from major road. Operated by owners who were kind and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Owners were very helpful with suggestions with places to eat and things to do and see. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The cleanliness of this hotel immediately strikes you. As this is a hotel there is only a kettle, and a fridge; and a central internal corridor. There is no restaurant for dinner although breakfast is available if pre-ordered. The owner was happy to lend us bowls and spoons for cereal. Accommodation is expensive in the area and it's difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gulliva
Cle Elum, Washington
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We just spent two nights here taking in the glaciers and had a great stay. The rooms were exactly as described and we were very well looked after. We loved the location as it was quiet and very restful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottishDreamTours
Qld
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Finding accommodation hard to get both in Franz Josef and Fox Glacier, this hotel was about the only one that we could get one night. Having to pay just on $NZ200.00 we found rather expensive just for a bed for the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I'm glad I chose this location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was huge. The property was clean. There is no air conditioning which is the norm. So on the hot day I was there you had to keep the window open all night. But, it was quiet as the other guests were respectful. The wifi and television...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickybrowneyes
Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The hotel is nice and clean, service is excellent, we got a large room, however, the hotel is far from village center (1.7 km). This is not considered as walking distance. If you need just to grab something from the supermarket you have to take your car. Wifi connection (operated by Zenbu) is awful. You receive your access code from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gadi_sam
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this review

Our wifi system was installed by professionals and works perfectly, as can be verified on other reviews. If you had asked us for help we would have been able to point out what you were doing wrong! With regard to your $2 there is a large sign on the laundry wall informing that the machines do not operate after 9.30....

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We had debated whether to stay in Franz Josef or Fox and were very happy with our decision to go with Fox and to stay at High Peaks. It does indeed have a view of the high peaks (and particularly Mount Cook) which decided to show themselves at dusk after a very cloudy day. The motel is well located, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeyTraveller
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a little out of town but you could easily walk if you wanted to. Personally I love peace and quiet so the location was perfect. There is no noise and we had a great night's sleep. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. There is little noise from adjoining rooms. The owner is lovely and can't help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzW66
Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

If your looking for a nice place to stay in Fox Glacier then the High Peaks Hotel is a good choice. The owner, she's very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice size and very clean. The bed was also very comfortable. They have free wifi that works very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Upnorthtransplant1

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.7 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
343 reviews
0.6 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
268 reviews
17.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.3 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
365 reviews
1.7 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $128 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from High Peaks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think most of the rooms are the same, small and ill equiped.”
 of 5 bubbles svhiker1, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all good for the price”
 of 5 bubbles michaelfH1951JQ, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a spa tub are nice”
 of 5 bubbles Unterwegs, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with an outside entrance some rooms a connected via an internal corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingRobos, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would say any of them!! All good, all clean & cosy!”
 of 5 bubbles 762JulieT, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5