We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Te Waonui Forest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Wow, I have stayed at 5 star and even what is considered 6 star hotels around the world and been happy to spend money frivolously on nice hotels. This however was insane. We arrived one night driving through from Queenstown, not particularly busy and a number of rooms available. $899 for a one bedroom room with two queen beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jevanx
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Jevanx, Your review is in direct contravention of TA’s Guidelines for Traveller Reviews of being “Helpful, 1st-Hand and based on substantial experiences”. By your own admission in your other TA motel property review of your one night in Franz Josef, YOU NEVER STAYED at Te Waonui Forest Retreat and amidst both reviews you were allegedly quoted three different rates by...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The one night we stayed here, on the only package offered of degustation dinner bed and breakfast, cost $849. So not cheap and expectations were high. This review should be read in that context. Overall I would say that Te Waonui is a victory of style over substance. It looks good but is rather soulless. This was the smallest room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Giles T
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Giles T Apologies for falling short of some basic expectations. More specifically, our Maori Cultural Experience and Kiwi Welcome are supposed to be service enhancements which guests normally really appreciate after a long drive to Te Waonui. Yours sincerely Richard

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I can't imagine a better property in beautiful Frank Josef! From the moment you arrived, you knew this was going to be a unique experience and they made sure to deliver on all our expectations. It had the perfect combination of luxury and warmth, especially the greeting we received from Rohan (hope I have his name right!). Everyone was super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VegsSTL
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear VegsSTL Thank you for your review and thanks as well for your special mention of Rohan and Ricardo, two staff members integral to our success as a Hotel. Yours sincerely Richard

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

It was great to be greeted before we even stepped out of the car. Didn't have to do a thing after that, bags and car taken care of. All we had to manage was finding our way to the amazing degustation dinner beside the fireplace. The room was very luxurious, only negative is the noisy exhaust fan in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandP4573
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear LandP4573 Disappointing to read that of all things the bathroom, moisture extractor fan let us down! We appreciate your valued feedback. Yours sincerely Richard

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I should start by mentioning that I did not pay for the room at Texas Waonui. I paid for a room at their less-expensive sister hotel nearby, and for some reason we got upgraded. So I started my stay in a pretty good mood. The hotel did not disappoint. The room was beautiful. Service was very good. Brick-oven pizza in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ohiotraveler037
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ohiotraveler037 Thanks for giving us the opportunity to exceed expectations and we are pleased that this is exactly what transpired! Yours sincerely Richard

Randwick, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we left I felt as thought we were royalty. We were treated with a welcoming drink then shown to our room where the bags were already by a gentleman dressed in traditional Maori dress once there he explained everything to us he was wonderful. Another outstanding member of staff was Martin, I have honestly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Janelle Great to meet and thank you for recognising Martin and Henare at the highest level. Coming from an international Hotel Industry professional makes your observations that much more special :-) Yours sincerely Richard

Dallas
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Outstanding retreat on the West Coast of the South Island. The staff here are top notch and the accommodations are excellent. It's a treat to spend a night here, we spent two. The food is top quality and a lot of it although we found the five course meals a bit much after our first night. You can always sneak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dr_evil_dad
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Dr_Evil_Dad From all of us here at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, thank you for visiting and we are glad that you have such fond memories of your time in our magical rainforest. Yours sincerely Richard

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were supposed to stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef but when we arrived there we were told that they upgraded us to the Te Waonui Forest Retreat. It was certainly a very nice surprise to spend the night at such a luxury retreat! The room was spacious and clean and the bed was more than comfy. We especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillieB76
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear BillieB76 Thank you for this feedback and for accepting the offer to stay with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Yours sincerely Richard

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

One night is not long enough! Luxury in the middle of a rainforest with only the sounds of birds & rain, doesn't get much better than this. We had a beautiful evening meal served to our table on platters on the top of a timber block, very unique & something we will remember. Absolutely gorgeous & private accomodation with stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Cathie Thank you for your attached photos and review. Thanks as well for choosing us! Yours sincerely Richard

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Excellent customer service from the the second we arrived to the second we left. Stayed here for two nights and could not have been happier. Whilst this is a large complex each room looks out onto native forest giving an impression of being a secluded area. Restaurant and bar food were of a high standard. Close to the Glacier and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcleans56
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear McLean56 We value this feedback as a team. Thank you for your posting. Yours sincerely Richard

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,147 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
344 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
39.3 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $619 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Queensland, Australia
Cornelius, North Carolina
over a year ago
San Francisco
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms have views over the forest”
CummingDubai, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be great”
suep688, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay more than one night!”
craigt319, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“From what I could see they are all of equally very good standard.”
CrookieLondon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Getting upgraded is very helpful”
michaelnW1133CZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates