We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 553: English reviews
Swanscombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

After traveling the whole of the south island and some of the north and staying in a lot of motels and hotels this one was a disappointment and over priced the rooms and beds where the smallest we stayed in and this was the most expensive price we paid the bath room was also very small. It does have stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John_Allwright
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John_Allwright, Thank you for your review of our hotel. You have stayed in one of our standard rooms which are equipped with a queen and a single bed. These rooms offer all the comfort a modern traveller can expect from a 4 star hotel, just simply less in room space. However, for guests that require more room we recommend...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Just had 1 night here but due to bad weather we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We both had a great meal with excellent service. Breakfast was very good too and set us up for our glacier trek. The only negative was that the bed was very soft. Both restaurant and reception staff were very polite and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear devlink, Thank you for your review and most importantly for staying at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your overall stay and dining experience with us. It would be lovely if you would also leave a review on our restaurant own TripAdvsior site which is for the 'Glasshouse Restaurant'. The...

Vancouver
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Our room was very large, clean and with a ground floor walkout. Parking was close to the room. The restaurant was very busy, food was above average and staff were friendly. In high season, reservations are likely required for the restaurant. The hotel seemed to welcome a large number of groups as both dinner and breakfast were very busy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken078
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken078, Thank you very much for your review of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Really pleasing to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best regards, Alexander

Killarney, Manitoba
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Scenic Franz Josef two nights. We were in the Graham Wing which are the standard rooms, the carpet has a cut in it, the curtain has a rip in it, desperately in need of some care. The bathroom has hardly enough room to turn around. The breakfast is a standard buffet breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kitch55_11
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kitch55_11, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Following your feedback we have identified the room you have stayed in and addressed the damage you have mentioned in your review. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and most importantly for not providing you with a fully functional room. It is feedback like yours that...

Melrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Rooms o.k. but despite large signs advising reservation not necessary for dinner we were turned away from restaurant. We weren't advised when we checked in that there was any difficulty and were eventually offered a table for 8.30 p.m. We went down town.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David T
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David T, it is true that a sign states that 'no reservation is required'. However, this does not mean that any meal period will always be available to dinners. As you have stated in your review correctly, we did offer you a table but were unable to do so at the desired dining time. This is unfortunate but only...

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Two queen beds. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food excellent in both quality and quantity. We would highly recommend this hotel to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monty553
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monty553, Thank you for your great review. Pleasing to see that we managed to exceed your expectations. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best wishes, Alexander

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

It was great to be able to park outside our room, so easy to load our luggage. Our room was a good size, it was a room for people with disabilities so the shower area was big, but the rest of the bathroom was tiny because of this. The room was clean, wifi in your room was good and free....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dotty003
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dotty003, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, even though the weather was not playing its part this time. Please keep us in good memories. Best regards, Alexander

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The accommodation is motel style with several 2 storey blocks arranged around a central reception, bar and restaurant area. Our room was 102 on the ground floor. It was a big room with a double and a single bed, a desk & pouffe, 2 chairs, a table, fridge, iron & ironing board, hairdryer and T & C making facilities. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave H
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for leaving a detailed review of your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier on TripAdvisor.com. It is true that the layout of our hotel remembers more on a motel/resort style like accommodation but due to the included restaurant and bar facilities we are proud to call ourselves a hotel. Best regards, Alexander

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Lisa piebel Was looking forward to stay at one of the best hotel in Franz josef after long 400km drive from Queenstown. Upon reaching the hotel, the lobby was blocked by a tourist bus which was waiting to collect keys. After waiting 5 minutes the bus did not move to give way to waiting car in. Honk the bus to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JimmyKL
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimmyKL, I appreciate the time you took to send us your feedback. It is disappointing to see that your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier did not meet your expectation. And most disappointing is that this has prompted you to review the hotel the way you did. I can only hope that other hotels have managed to...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Really nice hotel, ideally located, easy to walk to all the bars and restaurants in town. Room was clean with a very nice bathroom. Staff were very helpful at checkin. You can park right outside most of the rooms and they had free wifi which is always a bonus. Great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan B, Thank you for your kind review. We have enjoyed looking after you and would love to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Alexander

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,090 reviews
0.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
644 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
320 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
287 reviews
0.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $187 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors have more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles camtravel2014, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are quite large”
 of 5 bubbles 280AnnB, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No views hotel has”
 of 5 bubbles 192kunalg, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a folding table”
 of 5 bubbles TNBOY, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NipunKhetan, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5