We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 452: English reviews
Sunny California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Delightful property outside of town! We called the manager to tell them that we were coming in late on Christmas day. They left our room key taped to the office in an envelope with our name on it - so check-in was a breeze! Since it was Christmas day, they helpfully included a map of Franz Josef in that envelope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bullman99
UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With no on site restaurant and the distance to the town these villas are ideal for those who want to self cater although continental breakfast is provided to your room. We had villa 16 which was clean, spacious and well equipped and had the most comfortable bed and pillows! Even for those who wish to eat in town of an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steviep18
Winters, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but we had reserved 4 nights. We told the owner we had to leave earlier than we had planned. He was very helpful with Booking.com and allowing us to amend our reservation. We had an enjoyable three night stay. In a paddock nearby are some sheep, lamas, and ducks. They all like to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H2OAlgae
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Excellent location on the edge of Franz Joseph township for doing the glaciers and Lake Matheson reflection pool. The accommodation was very comfortable with every amenity available. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne U
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff work very hard to maintain the standard for you to reflex and enjoy your holiday.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent property, specious. We came late in the night and got our hotel room. We didn't know how the room heater works so we called immergency service as office was closed. Manager came and he was rude. He asked me why did i call him instead of room support off hour number. I told him that we tried and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandhiFamily
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Mr Gandhi, as I explained to you at 10.45pm when you rang me, the number you called was the emergency number. Your heat pump not giving instant heat as soon as it was turned on IS NOT an emergency. However once it was on for a few minutes it was nice and warm.

Winnetka, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was perfect for our family. We rented a two-bedroom cottage (master on the 1st level, kids room up above). Loved having a small kitchen and the porch; the villa was spacious. The coin-operated laundry was also quite useful for us. Cottage was clean and thoughtfully appointed. Everything worked. My daughter loved feeding the sheep and alpacas (they sell bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, lots of people say that they love the kitchen, so that they can make their own dinner etc instead of eating out all the time. I glad your children found they could relax here.

Tarporley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights on our trip around South Island. Kevin was really welcoming, gave us lots of info about where to eat, things to do etc. We had everything we needed in the villa including a free carton of milk on arrival - just what you need to make that much wanted cup of tea. We were even able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic villa. All mod comforts have been thought through and the position of the villas is second to none. Who could not enjoy the mountain scenery - it was spectacular. The villa was lovely and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stop there. The villas are just out of town but there is facilities at local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine072
Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Travelling in a family of 4 adults, we were given a duplex villa for 2 nights. The villa is clean overall, though with a few spider webs in sight on the top windows. There isn't enough space for our luggages though as we had to open up one of the sofa beds to sleep on. The villa is a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jisushika1126
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although out of town these villas are really great. The accommodation is on a farm and near the entrance are three alpacas and two sheep which children can stroke. The villas themselves are well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Gordon, thanks for taking the time to place feedback on here. We try to set a good standard, and those alpacas and sheep must be the best feed animals around.

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
996 reviews
1.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
291 reviews
2.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,238 reviews
2.6 km away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $207 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a cottage with a view of the glacier. But if it's bad weather, you may not get to see much.”
 of 5 bubbles bullman99, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Carry some food as it is about 2 kms away from nearest grocery or town.”
 of 5 bubbles GandhiFamily, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check that they have resolved their water issues before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 354fionam, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesB218, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the back facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaMadness9909, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay