We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Save
Traveller (181)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (9)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good34%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bedroom villa”(41 reviews)
“short drive”(30 reviews)
“farm animals”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
306
177
33
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
306
177
33
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villashort drivefarm animalsthe kitchenviews of the mountainsstate highwayliving areain towntwo nightsself caternew zealandwalk in showera great stayhelicopter flightour honeymoonsouth islandenjoyed our stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 528 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We absolutely loved our stay at Glenfern Villas! When we first pulled up I was completely taken aback by the incredible view of the mountains! Fern and Kevin were very kind and helpful in getting us checked in. Our villa was very spacious, clean, and...More

Thank Cassandra O
Response from Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz JosefResponded January 17, 2018

Hi Cassandra, Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the sunsets can be breathtaking, and I hope you had a great dinner the other night at Alice May. Kevin & Fern

Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

We found the property to be adequate but we did not stay through our full booking due to the rainy weather. Our plans were to take a couple of long treks through the Glacier but the rain halted our plans. There are not many places...More

Thank OKCRunner
Response from Franzvillas, Front Office Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz JosefResponded January 16, 2018

Hi OKCRunner, We were just wondering why you mention Greymouth, when Glenfern is located in Franz Josef? We hope you enjoyed your stay wherever you were. Many thanks,

Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely spot to sit and relax and enjoy the quiet and glacier view. Choose any of the back villas to get the view and Villa 2 for wheelchair access. Ramp into back door (front door has a step) and huge bathroom with seating....More

Thank rosettafazio
Response from Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz JosefResponded January 13, 2018

Hi rosettafazio, thanks for these kind words, we also have a 1 bedroom villa with wheelchair access, and the view is pretty good on a fine day. Kevin

Reviewed January 7, 2018

We stayed two nights here, unfortunately the weather was mostly terrible, very wet. However the owners were helpful with things to do and travel advice generally. The rooms themselves are fine and if you get one with views of the mountains (and it's not too...More

Thank AWelly
Response from Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz JosefResponded January 9, 2018

Hi AWelly, Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on here, and the view from some of the villas is pretty good on a fine Day. Kevin

Reviewed January 7, 2018

We had reached the property in off working hours and had concerns about our check in but however to our surprise there was an envelope in my name at the reception door which had all the details. The villas are tastefull done and give your...More

Thank yrparekh
Response from Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz JosefResponded January 9, 2018

Hello yrparekh, Thanks for these kind words, the Team do a fantastic job keeping the place ticking over, and Im glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay in this beautiful part of our country. Kevin

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Franz Josef
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$129 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$129 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (181)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cmb72015
April 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from tcquilter | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
Heather L
January 2, 2018|
Answer
Response from Franzvillas | Property representative |
Hi Heather, im sorry but no animals of any kind (Service Dogs Exception) are permitted here. Kevin Manger
0
Votes
Room Tips
"As advised previously - do try to book a villa with a mountain view - it's stunning."
Read review
"Buy food supplies before getting to Franz Josef!"
Read review
"BYO breakfast"
Read review
"Kevin will take care of best as 18 villas have scenic view."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing