We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rainforest Retreat

Hostelworld.comUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$49*
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Rainforest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,258: English reviews
Start your review of Rainforest Retreat
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were travelling on a camper van around South Island, stayed at many powered site. The Rainforest Retreat is simply the best in amenities, layout, friendly staff... probably not in view but if you are in Franz Josef, the view is not at the camping site anyways. Free unlimited hot shower is a big bonus, very nice BBQ area, kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin8282
Tempe, Arizona
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Where to begin...we drove down from Hokatika. We arrived to our 3-bedroom Tree House and were immediately thrilled. Our family of five (3 boys) all loved the fact that we were secluded and surrounded by lush vegetation. It was gorgeous. The cabin was very new, clean and comfortable. We left windows open all day to enjoy the fresh air. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinaLCP
About Hotel's Favourite Review
merseyside
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely campsite, very unusual and attractive, however we had a medium sided campavan and asked to park it in the smallest spot...we asked for another spot this wasn't much better...then other small cars or vans had loads of space, little attention to customer care here we felt...washrooms also disappointing ...not that clean and cold...expected better...mens washrooms were just as bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hot17
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Hot17 Thank you for choosing to stay with us. thank you for your feedback, especially regarding our wonderful staff and attractive location. I am disappointed that you weren't given the perfect site for you, we do have 50 sites of varying sizes and especially at this time of year we should have been able to give you a huge...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel was ok for the area Wifi was crap never got connected Monsoon bar and grill was good The room itself was basic Staff were nice Location was central The grounds are large With many different types of guests. Onsite laundry is handy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thanks for your feedback. We do have many room types available from our basic beds in sheds to our very comfortable and popular tree lodges and a little bit of everything else in between. Our staff are more than happy to assist guests in choosing the right room for them. I am sorry you struggled with the internet....

gold coast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked for a motel room however were upgraded on arrival for unknown reason. It was dark when we arrived and there was a little walk from the car park to our cabin which was a little difficult in the dark (very limited lighting). The cabin (I believe was called gecko cabin?) was not huge but did have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank navijac
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we were sad to leave after staying only one night. very cute and well setup establishment. Oscar and his staff are super helpful and go the extra mile to make your stay comfy. we arrived a couple of hours after sunset and they went in our rooms before our arrival and ensured the heating was on and it was warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niko J
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hostels we've stayed at in 2yrs of travelling, and cheap for NZ too at $26! The kitchen was so big, loads of fridge space and cook tops. Free tea/coffee/sugar all day and free breakfast every morning (toast, butter, jam, cereals, milk). Nice TV lounge area with tonnes of sofas to chill out on. Bathrooms were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callumtyson1
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Callum 2 years of travelling is good going, you must have stayed in a lot of places during that time so its very nice to hear you think we are one of the best. We like to think we have something special here but its always great to hear it again, Keep on travelling and hopefully we will see...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rainforest Retreat is a mix of many things. We stayed in one of the lodges which are essentially very well appointed wooden cabins. Perfectly comfortable, kettle and toaster provided and a nice little outside seating deck. There was a car parking space right outside the door. It also has a large backpacker clientele, the night we were there they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunworkin2015
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I dont know if it is bcoz i am a forest lover i absolutely loved this place it was a grest atmosphere and the rooms were fantastic I also highly appreciate the staff too bcoz they were eveready to help us The only thing on the negative side was the breakfast which was not great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis S
Fairfax, VA, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived here late at night, and left early the next morning, but it was a very pleasant stay, at a very affordable price. There was ample parking, solid wifi, and we appreciated that the check-in was there late to receive us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Mary Thank you for the flying visit. I hope you get the opportunity to return and explore all that Franz Josef has to offer. Thank you Oscar

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,147 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
242 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
3.4 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $30 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainforest Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rainforest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let them know how big your camper is (they ask when you book) so they can put you on an appropriate sized - some are small!!”
krystalgrant, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet location full of natures green and very private”
Sam1629, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the shared bunkrooms”
CarrieW755, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“a large range of accommodation from bunk rooms to beautiful tree house. Check what suits you best.”
gran42, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room that's separate from the hostel and hotel building”
RTWtraveler, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$49
TravelocityUS$48
CancelonUS$53
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates