We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Overview
34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Housekeeping
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, More queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
US$104 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef
Location
New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
375 reviews
.03 km away
The Terrace Motel
359 reviews
.08 km away
10 Cottages
292 reviews
.10 km away
Rainforest Retreat
1,670 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 nearby restaurants
Alice May
1,560 reviews
.08 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
1,065 reviews
.17 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
766 reviews
.34 km away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
888 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 41 nearby attractions
Glacier Helicopters
470 reviews
.16 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
75 reviews
.07 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
763 reviews
.11 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
75 reviews
.28 km away
Reviews & more
376Reviews
115Photos
1Q+A
65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 169
  • 73
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This is a chain property across much of the South Island. Room was clean and adequate, but very small. Cable TV and good shower. Breakfast optional at additional price. Great local restaurant right next door which is highly recommended. Easy walk to town, which is just a block
Read more
The room is pleasant enough, when first entering there is a strong smell of something like cleaner but you generally get used to it after staying in the room. The shower is absolutely worth it though, never had a motel shower that had such great pressure. Great for budget and bet
Read more
Response from Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded Oct. 29, 2018
Hi Danielle, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I will have a look at what the team are using for cleaning products. Once in a while, we do give the bathroom a good bleaching but other than that the cleaning products should be pretty unoffensive smelling. I'm pleased you enjoyed the shower! Cheers Adam
Read more
As was a self drive vacation, we found the motel was easy to locate. Our room had a great view of the mountains while enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise. The room has a hot pot, toaster, fridge and microwave. Packets of tea, coffee add a nice touch. Desk staff were friendly and
Read more
Response from Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded Oct. 29, 2018
Hi Harry, Sounds like you stopped in one of our upstairs King Studio. It is a pretty good spot for a morning coffee. Trust you enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers Adam
Read more
Cosy room with little kitchen area. VERY small - e had to place suitcases under the desk to manage and even then we had to step over the open cases. Heater did not work, so they provided an oil heater which worked but took ages to heat room up.
Central location and within easy wa
Read more
Response from Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded Oct. 29, 2018
Hi, Thanks for your useful feedback. We do have a range of room types to suit different needs. We refer to our smaller studio as a Compact studio and that describes them pretty well. My relief manager had noted that you had trouble with the heater and I have changed the way we leave the settings on the heaters so that they are more easily turned on. (I've got a much better back up heater available too!) I've had the software on our wifi masts updated and it is working much better now also. I'm glad you could use words like Cozy and Pleasant in your review but I fear we did not meet your or our expectations of a good nights stay. My apologies for that. Hope you had some brill experiences during your travels in NZ Kindly Adam
Read more
Franz Josef is a small quiet town and this motel is at the center of it. Just a few meters away from the kiwi center, grocery and the hot pools. It has its own oven and utensils and basically you can cook anything you like. Our room was upgraded free of charge. The reception
Read more
Response from Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded Oct. 29, 2018
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed our central village location during your winter stay. When we can we do like to upgrade guests and I'm pleased you made use of the wee kitchenette. Winter is a great time to visit Franz, it's quiet. Kind regards Adam
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Close up of glacier at sunset
View of peaks and glacier from upper level
Previous
what about breakfast?
Like many other guests we took our own. With supermarkets close by we were never short of any fresh produce. Alternatively there are many facilities within a stones throw that serve breakfast if you require cooked.
0 votes
Show all answers
"#2 was a quiet room facing the parking lot."
"as fro ground floor if you have mobility issues. there is no lift for upstairs"
"None of our (18 people) group had anything negative to say about The Bella Vista Motel at Franz Josef."
"Upstairs would be better"
"Mountain view rooms are on first floor - we thought it was worth paying a little extra for them."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing