We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Metropolitan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Metropolitan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Room did not look like the pictures on the site - bed was temprapedic - great!!! Place was clean and staff was nice. It was good for location and value and allows pets. I may stay again if I was looking for more amenities but if I do I willo check the rooms to see what they look like

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H
Bryce, Utah
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Felt like the pictures on the website were not the room we stayed in. Nice little place for the money we found the staff nice.great location and just what we needed beds were indeed nice place was clean and smelled good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Booked thru Internet 1 night stay, checked in late. Talked with desk clerk next morning on cost to extend stay and she quoted us a price we agreed to. Next day when checking out the "manager" (idiot) charged us 50% more than quote, said desk clerk "made a mistake". Asked to speak with owner and manager said he's Korean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bwalsh281
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello bwalsh281, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. To clarify for future guests what happens should a guest decide to extend their stay with us, we never intend to dupe, trick, or take advantage of a guest in any way. We first verbally clarify the rate before and after tax, we then print...

Corona, California
Reviewed 23 September 2016

located in downtown close to the temple and capitol. a real bargain with tempur - pedic beds .... quite dated with a friendly and helpful staff .... would probably not stay here again if something else was available. but, if you want an excellent bed - this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndw40
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello johndw40, Thank you for your feedback. We are very proud that we have the most comfortable beds in all of Utah! It is unfortunate we were unable to meet some of your other expectations, we do hope you will consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, Chet Culmer

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The staff was disgusting towards us and wanted us to pay more money even though we had already payed the full price. The receptionist was vet rude and sarcastic, worst place I've ever stayed at in America and it has honestly put me off going back. Other than that the location was alright as it is close to the city....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DcVsMarvel
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello DcVsMarvel, Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate we were unable to meet your qualifications for a comfortable stay. When guest makes a reservation and states there are only 2 guests, but have 4 guests, we do need to charge a very inexpensive fee of $10.00 per extra guest (this extra fee is listed on our...

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Beds were very nice and very comfortable, although some bathroom plumbing issues. Toilet ran and call maintenance took about an hour for them to come. Breakfast nice. It was close to the things we when to see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou Ann B
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lou Ann B, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of out Tempur-Pedic beds. Apologies for taking a little too long in getting the plumbing issues taken care of, we will work on our expediency. We do hope to see you again! Best Regards, Chet Culmer

South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Room was decent. Hair in bathroom. First room bathroom fan made terrible noise. 2nd room sink was cloggedup and toilet didnt flush well. staff friendly. Breakfast basic. Parking abundant. Wifi sucked. They are planning to get google fiber!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wolfman91423
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hi wolfman91423, Thank you for your feedback. I was not aware that you had issues with your room when you were staying with us and we spoke, I am very sorry for the bathroom issues you had. This is something we would take care of immediately if we are made aware of it. We do hope to see you again....

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night here traveling from Idaho to Arizona. Quick easy check in. Easy going front desk staff. We called to let them know we were going to be getting into town pass midnight and when we arrived it took less than 5 minutes to check in, the guy in the office had even reserved us a parking spot. Short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hannah F, Thank you for your great review. We are happy to have accommodated your needs and you were comfortable, we hope you will stay with us again should you pass through Salt Lake City. Best Regards, Chet Culmer

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on cross country trip. Wanted to visit SLC and this hotel is a 5 min drive from Temple Square, so location is good for that purpose. Excellent considering higher priced chains nearby. It's essentially a motel right in town. Rooms are old but clean. Breakfast is sparse, but you get what you pay for. Would echo other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdstrip717
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello jdstrip717, Thank you for your review. We are proud of our competitive edge in rates and wonderful comfort we give in return to our guests. I would like to point out that we have a 24 hour staff and cameras located through-out our property for security purposes. We hope you will stay with us again should you pass through...

Phoenix
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We have always stayed at another place when we come to Salt Lake City, but wanted a cheaper place to spend the night. Looked on line and found the Metropolitan Inn, and are we glad we did. I just love the retro details of the room. It was a smaller room, but well planned and nice and clean. While we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdwlcw
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello rdwlcw, Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy you decided to try us out and we do hope to see you many more times! Best Regards, Chet Culmer

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
215 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
435 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
41 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Metropolitan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet rooms are upper floors in back.”
 of 5 bubbles travelingvermonters, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only a block and a half from the UTA Trax Courthouse station.”
 of 5 bubbles timmeeks1966, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try the Murphy Suite for extra roominess.”
 of 5 bubbles bajabo, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Upper floors quieter than ground floor...as per usual.”
 of 5 bubbles The_Illuminati, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and our room faced south so it did not face the main street. I think it was quieter possibly than the rooms that faced the street - but even those are not right on the street they are across the parking lot from the street.”
  • If you need a large work space, the table is quite small.
  • Bathroom counter was small but totally servicable and very clean.
  • Not sure what the free items were as the basket was empty. :)  There were some maps and brochure
 of 5 bubbles cybertraveler, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay