We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn-Brownsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Holiday Inn-Brownsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn-Brownsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was nice for the price. It was clean. It has a small gym that was kept up and clean. The location was great it has many restaurants around the area. If you have nothing to do it has a mall right across the freeway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello Miss Sara, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Your positive feedback about our hotel and services brings fulfillment to our team. We will continue on working closely to maintain the quality of service you enjoyed during your stay. We hope to have you again soon.

Fresno, Texas
Reviewed 29 July 2014

In my opinion this was not a three star hotel. The beds were very uncomfortable, the hallways smelled of smoke and the room had a stale smell. In walking down the hallway I could smell marijuana being smoked. The one dryer we found did not work properly. I had problems with internet connection. The air conditioner output did not change,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory B
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Gregory, I apologize for the inconvenience on the AC unit in your room during your stay. i assure you that this has already been taken care of. I will submit your concern about the quality of clean in the hallway and the room assigned to you. Trust that our management will carefully look into this matter and call...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Highlights include mold growing on the walls, burns in the carpets, broken furniture, and the scent of failure. The free internet access does not work at all; not with a cord or wifi. I'm convinced Holiday Inn isn't aware this sham of a hotel is using it's good name to attract guests. The staff was nice enough to switch rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ricamore
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello ricamore, I apologize that we failed to meet your exacting preference during your stay in our hotel on the quality of clean. I can however assure you that we will never compromise our guests by providing unpleasant experience with us. Our team is committed in quality services to all of our guests and it is just so sad that...

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first room into which I was booked reeked of mildew and possibly mold. Checked a colleague's room to see if it was just me - once we got past the lingering vomit smell in the hallway her room was still gross, but not quite as bad as mine. When I asked about mold at the front desk the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen V
Holiday Inn B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

I would like to take this time to thank you for your feed back, as we appreciate all feed back. I also want to apologize for the experience you had. We are working together as a team to work out these issues to see that this gets avoided in the future. I hope that you will give us another chance...

Brownsville
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this Hotel through Expedia and they charged us double money. Hotel was not clean, bad sheets had stains. While booking, it was shown that Breakfast is free but when we checked in, they totally refused.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Genuine U
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello Genuine U, I apologise for the miscommunication you experienced during your check in to our hotel. Please know that Holiday Inn Brownsville is a full-service hotel. We do not cater breakfasts unless on special occasions and we make it a point to announce these events to our guests. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we will certainly clarify...

Arlington, TX
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ended up here by accident. Priceline advertised this as a 3 star hotel. I saw reviews so decided to go for a 2.5 star hotel and they "upgraded" me to 3 star. I'm not sure how they rate things, because this had all the class of motels that rent by the hour. We checked in and walked down the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello CW6279, Please know that we truly appreciate your candid reviews detailing what in your opinion needs to be addressed so that we can be able to offer better services to all of our guests in our hotel. I will accelerate this matter and trust that our management will evaluate and verify your comments and take care of any issues...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2014

DH and I travel through America for a month every year. We found this Holiday Inn in Brownsville and it was very nice. Our room was exceptionally clean and the staff were very friendly. Even the groundskeepers were nice! There was a misunderstanding about breakfasts that made me very angry. The staff told us we could have a coupon for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandrajNiagaraFalls
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review about your enjoyable stay. We are so glad that you found the room to be so exceptionally clean and our staff hospitable. We take great pride in providing our guests with a memorable experience. I am sorry to hear about the situation regarding breakfast but please know that the intention was not...

Arnold
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Just had the worst breakfast of my life . There was hair in the fruit and french toast and scramble eggs almost made me throw up will not recommend this restaurant to any body. As for the room it is not bad the front desk stuff is very good rooms are good. Just stay away from the restaurant they have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sidhuboy
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Hello sidhuboy, I regret that you did not enjoyed your breakfast. Nevertheless, I am grateful that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel. I will accelerate your concern about the cleanliness for immediate evaluation. Please know that your satisfaction is our goal and will always be on top of our priority. Thank you for staying in our hotel.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed there for two nights on 2/10 and 2/11/2014. It was cold, and the heater unit was our nightmare. It had VERY LOUD noise when it was on, like metal grinding noise. To make the matter worse, on/off was much more frequent than normal. It was turned on again only a few minutes after it was off. Needless to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CW6279
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

It is deeply disheartening that you had unpleasant experience during your stay. I will accelerate your concern for immediate and proper evaluation, thank you for bringing the matter to us. Please know that we give utmost importance to your satisfaction and comfortable rest. I assure you that our team will certainly attend to this matter to avoid further inconvenience. Thank...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We ended up here as the result of an airline screwup. We saw that they offered a AAA rate and an airport shuttle and thought it'd be a good place to go. We were picked up in an old Honda Odessy with 250,000 miles on it (wasn't pleasant at all). Once we got there, we were able to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Vintagewhitestrat
Holiday inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn-Brownsville, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel and for bringing to our attention how we could better provide you services sufficing your expectations. We will call the attention of our team, emphasizing the importance of prompt customer assistance in order to improve and maintain a better, quality services at all times. We value our guests...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
0.2 km away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#5 of 26 in Brownsville
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
Staybridge Suites Brownsville
#6 of 26 in Brownsville
90 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 26 in Brownsville
69 reviews
39.0 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Old World charm and pampering service at the Holiday Inn, your 'Home away from Home' in Brownsville, the only full service hotel in the area. We are located on the border and by the Gulf of Mexico & South Padre Island, close to shopping and other attractions. Our Galleria Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner and offers room service. Lounge in our new 'Club Ruchi' for some cocktails or relax in one of our two beautiful pools surrounded by lush landscaping. For a meeting or event, we offer 6,500 square feet of spacious meeting space complete with full banquet and catering services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn-Brownsville

Address: 3777 N Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520-9376
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Brownsville Hotel Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn-Brownsville Texas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn-Brownsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, ask for one facing away from the highway. Nice views of the reseca.”
 of 5 bubbles georgeinlaShreveport, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Here's the deal--We wanted to stay at South Padre Island but we didn't feel like paying $220 for hotels on the beach. This hotel is 35 minutes from the beach so for us it was worth driving to SPI and lounging around at Clayton's Beach Bar. There we sipped tea for hours while we people-watched. If you arrive early morning, you can rent chairs and umbrella for $25 for the day. You can buy food at Clayton's. Once the sun burns you to toast, you can head back to the Holiday Inn and repeat as many days as you wish. If this is a hassle you can pay $200+ per night just for proximity to surf. We're frugal so packing up daily was worth it to us. You can eat cheap at Denny's, which is about 100 paces from the hotel.”
  • Standard room with HD TV and free Wi-fi
 of 5 bubbles NelsonSarah, 31 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles ricamore, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
“First floor smelled less strongly of mildew than the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 280jenv, 3 Jun 2014 | Read review
“To choose a good room, start with a different hotel.”
  • Ceiling above tub
  • Nice black hair and grout mold on tub
  • Gap between tile and faucet
  • Sprinkler head over bathtub
 of 5 bubbles silvervalk, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5