We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Akron
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My wife an I just got back from spending two weeks in the Estes Park area. I had chosen Swiftcurrent Lodge because of the reviews. This place turned out to be so much better than my wildest expectations. The location was about 2-3 miles out of town and just as described, right on the Upper Thompson River, with the cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raceman7
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to get to know you. We'll be looking for your return. Thank you for the wonderful review. Gary & Coni

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Fabulous place! Very nice owners, check-in very easy, great location on the Big Thompson River! Hot tub with river view. The place was very well kept, very clean and very comfortable! They thought of everything you need, well equipped cabins. Hiking trail right out your door into the Rocky Mtn National Park. Dunraven restaurant right next door and the Rock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slipaway2017
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

You're words are so kind. We are so lucky to have visitors like yourself. We hope you can find your way back in the near future. Thank You Gary & Coni

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the swift current lodge for 2 weeks of relaxation. It is the perfect place to hear & enjoy the Big Thompson river, the town of Estes park, the rocky mtn. National park, hiking trails, or just sitting by the river reading. I would go there again if we were to revisit the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lastravel1953
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Thank You! We have been blessed with 20 years of living in paradise. We love sharing it with people like you. Gary & Coni

Reviewed 8 May 2016

My husband and I planned our entire vacation around this magnificent cottage at Swiftcurrent Lodge. Dont let negative reviews sway you, because I assure you that the cabins are lovely, well maintained and decorated. Everything you need is available to you. The staff are the most accommodating and friendly people, in fact, everyone in Estes Colorado has been genuinely friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat L
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Kathy & Eddie- You are so kind. After 20 years of living here, we never get tired of hearing that our guests enjoyed and appreciated their time in Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. It is our pleasure to be your hosts. Hope your travels bring you back soon. Gary & Coni

Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to "just get away from it all." It's quiet, with the sound of the river right out the door. There's easy access to a meadow or to a trail into the park. Gary and Coni are nice and friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay better. The rooms are clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay2010086
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Kay- It's always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We're so happy you enjoyed your "spring" visit. Glad to hear you had a quiet & peaceful time. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Gary & Coni

Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Yes I came back! I've tried other places but decided to come back to the Swiftcurrent Lodge for another vacation. I was not disappointed. It's clean, comfortable and on the river. The sound of the splashing waters lull you to sleep or relax you as you watch them rushing by. The hiking thru the woods is breath taking and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Linda- Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy returning guests. Looking forward to seeing you again. Gary & Coni

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We stayed in cottage #2. It was perfect for what we needed - a clean place with a comfortable bed, bathroom and kitchenette. The Big Thompson river flows right outside the door, so the sound is very soothing when going to sleep. Only thing I would change is I wish they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliCatD27
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Happy New Year! We're glad you enjoyed Cottage #2. It is one of our more popular units being so close to the river. Hope to see again this year. Gary & Coni

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We have been coming to Swiftcurrent for years and have never been disappointed. Peaceful and the fact that it backs up to Rocky Mountain Park is awesome. One of the finest restaurants in Estes is within walking distance. Swiftcurrent is the only place we stay when in Estes Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmng
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Denise & Steve- We thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you in 2016. Gary & Coni

Iowa
Reviewed 17 December 2015

When we return to Estes Park, we will be staying at Swiftcurrent again and would not consider staying anywhere else. The rooms were perfect for our needs, with our covered porch just steps from the river. The property is just a few yards from total access to Rocky Mountain National Park and to very walk-able trails for those of all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wlarson
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Wendy- We so appreciate your wonderful review. We are so lucky to be the stewards of this special place so near to RMNP. After 20 years here, it is still hard to believe that the Park is our backyard. What a blessing to have guests like yourself. We look forward to your next visit. Thank You!

Jeanerette, Louisiana
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The Rooms were Comfortable and clean. The scenery was amazing.The babysitter called the office looking for me at 7pm and the owner Gary came with his phone and let me use it. We will visit again, with the Kids next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tellerson C
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Tellerson & Kayla- Thank you for posting a review. It was a pleasure meeting you and learning about your off-shore job. Hope all your travels are safe. Merry Christmas & Best Wishes for a Happy 2016. Gary & Coni

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.7 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
710 reviews
4.3 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
289 reviews
4.5 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#12 of 77 in Estes Park
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites
4.4 km away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 77 in Estes Park
273 reviews
2.5 km away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a river view - it's beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles melindan204, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Riverside would be choice”
 of 5 bubbles StephenW843, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a riverside room. Even though we did not, we were still able to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and river!”
 of 5 bubbles rosanneg307, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The cabins along the river are the best!!”
 of 5 bubbles MadMonk44, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles nd2knit, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5