We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coach House Inn

TripAdvisorUS$189*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$189*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coach House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We tried to book the suite at this Inn. Initially told it was available and that I should check with the rest of my party to confirm. I said I would and call her right back. I did that - within one minute. That was at 2pm. I was never able to get the Inn back on the phone. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wheelerg
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wheelerg, I must say I was a little taken aback by the hostility of your comments. You phoned to gather information concerning a two-room suite, our location in Salem, and our cancellation policy. Seeming to be unsure, I suggested you discuss the accommodation with the other people in your party. Since I didn't hear back from you I assumed...

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 6 April 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary, and it looked so quaint and nice... we were so excited. And then we got our room...I know most people like that floral pattern that makes it look like you're at Grandma's house, but everywhere?! And the absolute worst part is that we had ants in our room and in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chexcentaur
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

I would like to express my apologies for your disappointing stay with us. Every guest is important to us and we strive to have our guests leave satisfied with their stay at the Coach House Inn. Each year, in May, the building foundation is professionally treated for insects. Before registering, our policy is to show our guests their room to...

Kennedale, Texas
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We had spent the entire day in Salem but had not made any arrangements to stay overnight. All the hotels and inns in the area were completely booked. This inn was not our first choice but we kind of stumbled onto it by process of elimination and a couple of suggestions. We were glad we did. The Coach House Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lusitex
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Went as a girls trip to Salem! The owner was very helpful and made sure we knew where all the happening places were. The Inn was very beautiful if you like the Victorian style. Breakfast was also delicious-homemade muffins and other goodies!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele H
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a girls' road trip to Salem. We could not have been happier with our stay. The owner was so pleasant and helpful and the Inn itself is absolutely beautiful. It is not a central location within Salem but is within walking distance to the downtown area and a taxi is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IrishJo18
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Pat our host was most helpful, friendly and very welcoming in a non-intrusive way. We stayed one night at the Coach House which was a beautiful old Salem 3 story residence. The continental breakfast was lovely, boiled eggs, fruit and some fresh warm pastries. A lovely experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula B
Gran Alacant, Spain
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Booked this place for 1 night in October. Although the rooms and the house was very quaint I was disappointed with the continental breakfast. This was served in a basket to our room but unfortunately no where to sit properly to eat it! The owner was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenys F
Lexington Park, Maryland
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and really loved everything about it and this historic town. Patricia, the owner, was very sweet and attentive to all of our needs and wants, she recommended some great quaint little towns and other things to do and see in the area. The breakfast baskets were a wonderful touch and the house itself was beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KathyJohnLohr
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Lovely comfortable rooms within walking or short driving distance (5 min) of Salem attractions. Very gracious host who has fine attention to small details and provided us with helpful recommendations for dinner and short side trip to Marblehead.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darell62
Newfoundland
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We checked in and met Patricia, who was very friendly, nice and helpful. The house and our room was spotless. Air conditioning in room, though a little loud, worked fine. Free wifi and parking. Complementary breakfast was in a basket (covered) and outside our door at 8:30 each morning (fresh homemade muffins included). Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelL0ver69

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.4 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,920 reviews
8.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
15.0 km away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
432 reviews
1.7 km away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#3 of 9 in Salem
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: $276 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coach House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bayville, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Coach House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms get morning sun-nice! Busy road gets very quiet at night so no noise problem, and no bad rooms as far as we could see.”
215elizabethn, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful”
atwome, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room in the back avoids mild traffic noise”
498DavidN498, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't have a room at the front of the hotel as it is very noisey.”
Avanka, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Right side and rear rooms seemed to be closer to the parking area.”
  • Bath
  • Main room
Lusitex, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$189* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$189
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates