We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earthbox Inn & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (139)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!SAVE 15% this April!
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 motel in Friday Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:SAVE 15% this April!
818Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 269
  • 125
  • 48
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
j9tward wrote a review Apr 2
2 contributions
Earthbox is the perfect place to stay in Friday Harbor. Very walkable. Great vibe all around. Friendly, efficient staff. Comfy beds and linens. Pool is perfect temperature and hot tub is big! We've stayed twice and will return many more times.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi j9tward, Thank you so much for choosing us for your island home base. We are so happy we are right for you and so excited for your future visits. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda M wrote a review Sep 2022
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I don’t normally do reviews but this is an exception. Look no further than Earthbox Inn and Spa when in Friday Harbor. We had the most wonderful stay last week. Perfect Location, friendly and accommodating staff (gave great tips and advice for exploring the islands) both front desk and housekeeping. Well cared for grounds with a great outdoor dining area. This property also has a pool, hot tub and dry sauna….all meticulously spotless…..oh and a spa which we did not have time to check out. My husband is very FUSSY and not a fan of smaller privately owned properties but even he was impressed…….enough said! Thanks you again for an amazing 4 days we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Sep 27, 2022
Hi 16497QAlindam, You just made our day. We are happy dancing in the lobby. Thank you so much. It is guests like you who make what we do so rewarding and fun. We loved having you and can't wait for next time. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toney S wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The staff is wonderful! Our room was very clean and welcoming. After chatting with the front desk I quickly learned that the new owner and staff at this hotel have a, “Please give us feedback so we can improve and make this place even better” attitude. I inquired about adding some coat hooks and room darkening curtains-they are already in the process of installing the coat hooks. I got the impression that the management and staff operate like a seamless team. I felt valued and appreciated. Great place, great people.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t be afraid to ask the staff for anything that may make your stay more enjoyable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Toneys2022, Thank you so much for choosing us for your island getaway and for your fantastic feedback. It warms our hearts to hear you felt valued and appreciated. We loved having you and can't wait for next time. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sasha C wrote a review Feb 2024
Oak Harbor, Washington1 contribution
We picked Earthbox In specifically because they have a heated indoor pool, as we were traveling with kids. Our experience was exceptional! Clean, spacious rooms and an easy self-check in process. They accommodated our requests for early check-in, as well as late check out which was greatly appreciated as we have special needs family members. Sonja in the office was helpful and knowledgeable of the town. Also, Kitti in housekeeping went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable and welcome during our stay. The location couldn't of been more convenient, and we loved the restaurants we tried within easy walking distance. JP's was particularly great, and located right across the street from Earthbox. We are already planning our next trip to Friday Harbor and Earthbox, and looking forward to trying their rooms with kitchenette next!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The pool house is in its own building, so be prepared to have a chilly walk back to your room...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Hi J9388LCsashac, Thank you so much for your visit and your feedback. We are so happy we were right for you and yours and you had a great time. We loved having you and can't wait for next time. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lauri D wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We checked in on Wednesday October 18,2023. 36 hours prior to check in, we were informed that the “spa” was shut down. So no pool, no jacuzzi, no sauna, and no opportunity to change our reservation without paying full price so we came anyway. Best thing I can say about Earthbox, is it’s a good location. That’s the highest praise I can muster. The beds are hard, as are the pillows. Our room didn’t get cleaned once in our 4 night stay. They didn’t offer any compensation for the lack of amenities and there wasn’t a single commercial free channel on the tv. The bathrooms are tiny and frankly dirty and though there were probably only 20 guests in the entire complex we were all grouped together so it was really noisy. I’ve traveled extensively and this was one of the least enjoyable stay’s I’ve ever had. No recommendation from me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Oct 23, 2023
Hi 839laurid, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I'm wondering where our communication got crossed? When we called to inform you of our unexpected pool-house closure, we offered a free cancellation or to move your reservation to a different date for free. When you checked in we sent a text asking when you would like to have housekeeping come in for tidies, which we offer every day upon request. Please let us know right away if something isn't right, like different pillows or changing rooms or having noisy neighbors, so we can fix it, yes? I'm so sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations and it pains me that you didn't reach out. We would love a chance to make it up to you. Thank you so much for giving us a try. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mare4966 wrote a review Sep 2023
Florida58 contributions20 helpful votes
Checked in on Sunday 9/24. Cute little place. VERY friendly staff. Shout out to Mathew. Very helpful and personable. Room was nice. Beds were comfortable, but bathroom was a bit small, but we managed. The whole towns power went out for 3 nights from 10 pm- 6 am. Power company in Anacortes was working on the grids I guess. Hotel left us flashlights and plug in battery operated lights. Lobby was so cozy with the fire going. I did laundry one day. It was very clean and dryer was very fast . I would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Oct 2, 2023
Hi Mare4966, Thank you so much for choosing us for your island getaway. We are so happy you loved your stay and went on this adventure, planned county-wide power outage and all. Please stay with us again sometime. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle J wrote a review Sep 2023
Princeton, New Jersey27 contributions2 helpful votes
The guest service was by far the best on the whole island . Matthew was absolutely five star hotel service and with a smile. I worked for Marriott for several years and guest services was the root of everything. This hotel surprised me above and beyond the rooms were amazing staff was impeccable including Ali. I recommend this stay for everyone that comes to San Juan Island.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The best place to stay on the island to be right in the middle of things.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Sep 14, 2023
Hi Michelle, Thank you so much! Pleasantly surprising our lovely guests is our absolute favorite. We are so thrilled you had a great time and can't wait to have you back. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bruce A wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
The earth box is not what is advertised, the rooms are extremely small , the size of a walk-in closets. Why wife discovered dog poop on her side of the bed , on the floor. The room was advertised as a non dog room. . Housekeeping never cleaned the room. When we complained the staff was non responsive . We checked out they said will will give 30% refund, they never did. The mattress where bumpy. . The bottom line it’s not worth the 256.00 per night maybe 49.00 a night
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Sep 7, 2023
Hi Bruce, Thank you so much for letting us know your about experience on this review site as well. Again, I'm so sorry you were unhappy with your room, but please don't exaggerate, yes? Your wife found a chocolate wrapper under the bed at check-out. We promised an gave you a 10% discount. Thank you so much for giving us a try. We know we are not for everybody. I'm so sorry we weren't for you. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kurt S wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Great location! Clean and comfortable rooms! Easy, no contact check-in/out. Beautiful flowers around the property! Accommodating and friendly staff gave us good recommendations for dinner. Very nice stay- definitely will return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Aug 21, 2023
Hi L7182TVkurts, Thank you so much for your visit and your lovely review. We are so happy we were right for you and yours and can't wait for next time. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle T wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
First off, the good part was location, and Arlene & Ivonne's communication and attempts at making things better. I did receive a 10% discount for the first night which helped a smidgen. Thank you ladies. The website is misleading. This isn't a Spa. It's a refurbished motel 6 type of accommodations. Paper thin walls so hear everything above and next to you. The first room had a child running back and forth all hours of the night, the 2nd room had a plugged sink and broken refrigerator and we ended up throwing all of our food out. The floors make your feet and socks black. At that point I just didn't want to complain again and bother anyone. This is the first time I've ever given a bad review. Please don't use the word Spa in your advertising. Lavender soap doesn't make it a spa. That's like putting sprinkles on a turd. But thank you to the staff for good communication and understanding. You ladies rock!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Saccio, Owner at Earthbox Inn & Spa
Responded Aug 15, 2023
Hi 18980ATmichellet, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are grateful you loved our amazing staff. We are so sorry you felt mislead. "Explore San Juan Island from this relaxed, retro motor inn!" is the first sentence on our website. We call ourselves the Earthbox Inn & Spa because we have an absolutely adorable full-service spa onsite and are the only hotel on the isle with an indoor heated pool-house, complete with sauna, hot tub and exercise room. We know we aren't for everybody. I'm sorry we weren't for you. Thank you so much for giving us a try. ~Steffi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Friday Harbor area.
PRICE RANGE
C$319 - C$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
earthbox motel and spa, earthbox hotel friday harbor, earthbox motel friday harbor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Elements Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonSan Juan IslandsSan Juan IslandFriday Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Earthbox Inn & Spa - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Earthbox Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Whale Museum (0.3 km), American Camp (0.3 km), and IMA - San Juan Islands Museum of Art (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Is parking available at Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Market Chef, Mike's Cafe and Wine Bar, and Rocky Bay Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Earthbox Inn & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Earthbox Inn & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Earthbox Inn & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Earthbox Inn & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Earthbox Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Earthbox Inn & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shaw Island Library and Historical Society (6.2 km).