Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Flagstaff, Arizona
Traveller (170)
The staff was as lovely as this view.
Room & Suite (99)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#16 of 63 hotels in Flagstaff
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in Flagstaff,AZ, the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Flagstaff Pulliam Airport
10.3 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,896 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites garners mixed feelings among guests. While many commend the hotel's cleanliness and the friendly demeanor of the staff, some have had less-than-smooth experiences with check-in efficiency. The hotel's ambiance is generally well-received, thanks to its inviting pool area and updated rooms. Although the rooms are noted for their cleanliness and comfort, guests have pointed out the smaller size and occasional odors. The location is a highlight, lauded for its tranquility and proximity to attractions. On the downside, opinions on value for money and amenities like the breakfast spread vary, with some guests considering the hotel overpriced.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,896Review14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 733
  • 604
  • 328
  • 141
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Liz C wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We kicked off our A+ stay at check-in with Bekki who was friendly, efficient, & super knowledgeable. She went above & beyond & gave us goody bags for being rewards members (thank you, Bekki!).

Our room was clean with comfy beds, lots of pillows, good towels, fast Wifi, a big TV, and a recycling bin.

The breakfast buffet featured hot food & excellent coffee. The gal running the buffet was also friendly and had that place running like a well-oiled machine!

We used the pool & hot tub and had a super relaxing time. I would highly recommend this hotel! It's un-pretentious and was a great value.

The train is close by but that's my favorite white noise to fall asleep to. #Winning!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Grams, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Wow! Thank you for the wholehearted recommendation. Sounds like check-in with Bekki was just the start of a great hospitality experience. Your eloquent descriptions of our staff and property amenities make a perfect recommendation for those planning to visit the area. Looking forward to welcoming you again! Best, Scott, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kenneth_Mueller wrote a review Sep 2020
Prescott Valley, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room had 2 queen beds, a large sofa, television, nice bathroom, a desk and a chair. It was neat clean, and well laid out. There was an information sheet in the room stating that the hotel had thoroughly cleaned the room before renting it to me. The staff wore face masks and were polite, courteous and efficient. The morning breakfast area had physically distanced tables and individually wrapped food because of the Covid. The food was quite tasty, and we were pleased at their efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Since this hotel is near Interstate 40, and on the way to the Grand Canyon, I recommend a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Olivia C wrote a review Mar 2020
Gatineau, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was what we were expecting, clean & basic. Staff were always friendly.
The breakfast was a great way to start our day before heading north to the Grand Canyon (pancakes were the best part), Free parking onsite was also a bonus.

Side note: currently they are using single use everything in the breakfast room (plates, cups, cutlery) it would be better to use real dishes not only for environment but for guest experince.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BW_PonySoldier, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 31, 2020
Greetings! Thank you for highlighting Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites for warm service, cleanliness and the complimentary breakfast. Give us a call directly before your next stay, so that we can fill you in on our current breakfast protocols. We’re currently offering to-go bags, in accordance with Best Western guidelines. We hope to welcome you back again! Best, Scott, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K8278TRcynthiar wrote a review May 2021
Weatherford, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Love this place, the room was great- seperate living room from the bed room, 2 tv's 2 full bathrooms. Comfortable king bed. We would for sure stay here again. Friendly customer service. It is an older bw but very well kept with good sized rooms that are super clean plenty of room almost like a small apartment with 2 good a/c units one in bedroom one in living room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Grams, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded May 18, 2021
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m very happy to hear that we provided a welcoming, comfortable experience in beautiful Flagstaff! The family suite is definitely a guest favorite with all of the extra room to stretch out! Your loyalty is sincerely appreciated. Don't hesitate to reach out to my office if I can ever be of assistance during future visits. All of us at the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites look forward to welcoming you back! Best, Scott, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pacosta wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Best western for one night, we were passing threw on our way to the Grand Canyons. Breakfast was amazing.
The staff was polite & the room was so clean.
The checking in process was easy & they were polite.

Housekeeping staff was working so hard making sure the rooms & common areas were disinfected. Great job
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kathleenbcaron wrote a review Apr 2022
Sparks, Nevada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We nearly always stay at BW, because you can generally rely on a safe, clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. This hotel was very disappointing and actually pretty creepy. I kept my socks on the whole time because the carpet felt sticky. The hotel is run down and the environment is unpleasant. The breakfast room is set in a different building and it smells weird. The one bright spot was the lady who checked us in was really nice and gave us a welcome gift for rewards members, which I had never gotten before, so I appreciated that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Grams, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thank you for your loyalty to Best Western and for complimenting our front desk team for a warm welcome. We are known for hometown service! That being said, it sounds like there were some other areas of your experience that didn't meet expectations. For that, I apologize. Had we known you were experiencing room concerns. we would have quickly worked to find a solution. We never want to disappoint guests! When the hotel was built, the breakfast dining room was a restaurant. We remodeled it for our guests to enjoy a complimentary breakfast with plenty of space. I will look into your comment about some kind of odor, because that is not something I have heard. Our breakfast consistently scores very high in satisfaction levels. I am also having housekeeping check all the carpets in the hotel. We do have several beautification projects planned over the coming years, and I hope you won't let this experience deter you from visiting again. Thank you again for your compliments and feedback. Happy spring from the team! Best, Scott, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra D wrote a review Feb 2020
Ottawa, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long day of hiking the Grand Canyon and driving, we headed to Flagstaff. We were going to Sedona the following day. I had researched this Best Western and wanted to use their indoor pool, value in US $ was very reasonable, the hotel was highly rated and breakfast was included. We asked for a room at the back so any trains wouldn't keep me up, and as always asked for a firm bed. The train tracks are directly across the street on 66. When we opened the door to our room (2 Queen beds) I nearly gagged. The awful smell was overwhelming. Smokers or a carpet freshener to hide odors??? We couldn't tell but for the first time ever, we returned to the front desk and let them know we couldn't stay in that room. They apologized and took the room off the available list until they could freshen it up. The front desk girl offered to show us a king suite. It was only slightly better smelling and a lie down on the bed proved it too soft for my problematic back, so we got our money refunded. We were advised all the beds on the floor were new! However, she was most helpful in suggesting more expensive hotels and motels up the road. A drive by revealed none that we would consider entering even though we were exhausted. We got on the highway and immediately found a group of 3 that were far better and nowhere near as close to the tracks, and chose a Holiday Inn which more than met our needs for only an extra $10 US.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BW_PonySoldier, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for being a valued patron of Best Western and mentioning our excellent reputation! Despite some challenges, we appreciate your glowing review of our team. We don’t get many complaints but when we do, we’re always quickly looking for a solution. In your case, it looks like we weren’t able to fulfill all your Best Western expectations. We hope the rest of your travels were wonderful! Best, Mark, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susanbI829DX wrote a review May 2021
Santa Clarita, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This location needs a complete over-haul. The furniture, curtains, flooring, toilets, TV and mini fridge (no freezer) need an update. Everything is outdated and smells of stale cigarette and disinfectant. Everything we owned stunk after our stay And, we paid $500 to stay 1 night because the hotel would not refund the 2nd night. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Grams, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded May 27, 2021
Greetings and thank you for your stay. We are sorry to see your satisfaction has slipped by past check-out, and we were unable to turn the experience around while you were still here. Nevertheless, we take all feedback as the direction for improvement and consider criticism valuable. Most of our guests choose us because they are the type of travelers who prefer to be in a cozy home away from home with an eager to please staff. Although not a brand-new hotel, over the last couple years we have updated many interior and exterior features and have scheduled improvements for this year. We hope you will visit again next time and give us another chance to win your loyalty. We have many different room styles, and I am sure we can accommodate your travel needs. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience which gave us the opportunity to respond. Safe travels! Best, Scott, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NVJudie wrote a review Sep 2020
Pahrump, Nevada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the largest (and most expensive) room we've rented so far, a King Suite. There are two rooms with two TVs and (gasp) two bathrooms! Before we rescued our dog, we often rented suites or rooms with kitchens. We really enjoyed the extra space and definitely enjoyed the two toilets. One bathroom was accessible (we hadn't requested or needed) and we only used that sink for all dog-related needs. The other, smaller bathroom was for our toiletries. There were plenty of pillows and towels. The toiletry dispensers in the bath actually worked well. It was easy to use and you didn't have to squeeze it 17 times to get enough to shampoo your hair.

The pet area was not fenced, but was a nice size and had all necessary supplies. We were on the ground floor (by request) and had some
neighbors with dogs (all well-behaved, of course).

The breakfast was served in a separate building. There were hot offerings all individually packaged. The tables were using social distance guidlines. There were several people eating. We were anxious to get on the road, so only took some coffee and a piece of fruit.

On the down side, the bed was a bit hard for me so I didn't sleep as well as I'd like. Hubby slept just fine. I also noticed that my feet got dirty from the floor after my morning shower. By the time we'd packed everything, my feet were dirty again and I had to re-wash them.

We would absolutely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel W wrote a review Jan 2020
Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is easy to find , the staff is helpful and friendly . They have just finished remodeling and did a very good job. Breakfast was above average and well stocked. If you stay there be sure and get a room on the back side of the building otherwise the LOUD freight trains will disturb your sleep .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: front rooms LOUD .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BW_PonySoldier, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Winter’s greetings! What a nice review, thanks so much. Yes, we just finished some updates and appreciate the compliments. It’s also nice to know that our breakfast was a cut above the rest. We hope this means you’ll consider Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites your Flagstaff home away from home! Safe travels! Best, Mark, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lorilytlecoleman asked a question Dec 2020
Alto, New Mexico80 contributions9 helpful votes
Pet friendly?
Answer from Pacosta
7 contributions7 helpful votes
I’m not sure if the hotel allows pets you may want to call them the hotel was very clean & friendly staff
Abigail-france L asked a question Aug 2017
Yuma, Arizona3 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you have a pet fee?
Answer from Peter F
Sioux Falls, South Dakota223 contributions135 helpful votes
$25 per night.
Answer from BW_PonySoldier
The Airport is about 6 miles from our hotel. We do not have an airport shuttle. There is taxi cab service available and I'm guessing it would be about $15 each way. There are other hotels that are closer to the airport that I believe do have shuttle service available..
Answer from IllyCoffeeDrinkers
Flagstaff, Arizona1,119 contribution509 helpful votes
Greetings, We stayed here with two well trained 50 pound dogs in one room without any problems. We just respected the other guests and kept a low profile. Have a nice stay.
Marcy T asked a question Feb 2017
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin41 contributions41 helpful votes
What is the difference between a "family suite" and a "king suite"?
Answer from BW_PonySoldier
The family Suite is on the second floor in the front of the building. It has a room with one king bed, and another common area room with two queen beds, so there are three separate beds. It has one bathroom. there are two TV's, a fridge, microwave, and a common area with a small sectional couch. The suites have one king bed, and a QUEEN SOFA SLEEPER in the sitting area. These rooms are good for families with young children, as sofa sleepers are sometimes uncomfortable for adults. The suites have two bathrooms, also have 2 TV's, a fridge and microwave. We have suites on both the 1st and second floors.
James Brown wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Way over-priced!!!! I couldn’t believe how bad this place is"
Read full review
Tracy J wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Jets in the hot tub do not work. Lot's of construction around the property when we stayed. "
Read full review
Journey306225 wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you sleep in a recliner, chair and ottoman aren't very comfortable. The ice machine on the 1st floor in the back. Breakfast is amazing"
Read full review
Doug G wrote a tip Apr 2023
Phoenix, Arizona133 contributions92 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I did see electric car chargers."
Read full review
Shirley M wrote a tip Nov 2022
23 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Flagstaff area.
PRICE RANGE
C$164 - C$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western pony soldier hotel flagstaff, best western flagstaff, best western hotel flagstaff
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaFlagstaff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include The Museum Club (0.5 km), Bushmaster Park (0.6 km), and Starlite Lanes (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Satchmo's BBQ, Fat Olives, and Mike and Ronda's The Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riordan Mansion State Historic Park (5.6 km), Historic Downtown and Railroad District (4.2 km), and Pioneer Museum (4.8 km).
Is Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Flagstaff HotelsFlagstaff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FlagstaffHotels near Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars