Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Traveller (123)
New skating rink opening this month
Room & Suite (50)
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#8 of 26 hotels in Buffalo
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
When you stay at the newly renovated Courtyard Buffalo/Canalside, you’ll have everything at your fingertips. KeyBank Center, Explore & More Children’s Museum, restaurants, businesses, and shops are within walking distance of our front door. While inside, take advantage of our onsite Bistro Restaurant & Bar serving breakfast, Starbucks®, dinner and evening drinks, take a dip in the indoor heated pool/whirlpool or workout in the fitness center. When retreating to your room, you’ll enjoy amenities like a Smart TV with streaming capabilities, mini fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. Did we mention pets are welcome?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

125 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Buffalo Niagara Intl Airport
13.7 km
See all flights
Niagara Falls Intl Airport
25.4 km
See all flights
Buffalo-Exchange Street Station
3 min
376Reviews9Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 123
  • 19
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katherine S wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our Go-To place when we visit our daughter in Buffalo. It is always a nice visit, but our last visit was especially pleasant because of the patient explanation of the night desk clerk, Dejuan, who advised us how to take the "train" after a long road trip to a great restaurant with outdoor seating. As senior citizens, walking can be an issue, so his recommendation and guidance were much appreciated. Thank you, Dejuan!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amber Stribing, Owner at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Dear katherines447, Thank you so much for your kind words! We will most definitely share with De'Juan, We love to hear you enjoyed our location and were able to take a quick train ride and enjoy the outdoor dining experience. We will see you again soon. Amber Pfohman General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cdbasu wrote a review Feb 2024
Phoenix, Arizona
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a hotel with a revitalized part of downtown Buffalo. Within walking distance of both the home of the Sabres as well as home of the Bisons, it makes for a great base if you are going to downtown Buffalo. Right on the metro line and roughly a 20 minute ride from the airport. There are multiple options for food close, including multiple breweries if like me you enjoy your beer. The fitness center is located on the lower level and is adequate but while I didn’t use it, the indoor pool right next to it looked pretty sweet. The rooms are spacious and I wasn’t bothered by noise of any kind. The elevators take some getting used to because there are two that are spaced about 10-15 feet apart but only one button to request the elevator and the fact the staff uses these elevators too was slightly confusing but no biggie once you realized you could use either (the biggest issue being you couldn’t necessarily see which one was coming if you were closer to the other). If I were returning to Buffalo, I would have no issues coming back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 23, 2024
cdbasu, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us! I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Upstatefamily wrote a review Apr 2022
Upstate NY
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night when in town for a concert. Excellent location for the key bank arena and Sahlen Field. The hotel is also walking distance to several restaurants/pubs and .5 miles to Public Espresso (excellent coffee and breakfast items). Check in was easy. Parking is limited - we got the last hotel level spot at 3:30pm. There is plenty of public parking nearby. Our room was large and roomy with a love seat, ottoman, small fridge and microwave. There is a large shower (No tub). We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 19, 2023
Upstatefamily, Thank you for choosing our Courtyard for your recent travel needs! It is great to see you enjoyed some local favorites in the area during your time with our hotel. We hope to see you again! Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky B wrote a review Feb 2020
Buffalo, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in this hotel after an afternoon hockey game at the arena, just looking for a night away from home and to enjoy an evening downtown. The hotel itself is clean, centrally located and well maintained. The problem with the hotel is lack of staff and management. We were unfortunate enough to be booked into a room on a floor where a large number of young hockey players and their families were staying. The parents of said hockey players put about 6 boys around 8-10 years old alone in a room while they stayed in different rooms. The boys proceeded to play hockey in the hall (with screaming and pucks bouncing off the walls), then went into their room to continue the game which included balls bouncing off walls, screams, door slamming and frequent races through the hall. We called the front desk several times over the course of four hours. The poor young lady who was alone at the desk could do nothing to help us, as she was the only one on duty and she told us there were no other rooms in the hotel that we could move to. Security at the hotel apparently doesn’t arrive until 9 pm, so we were on our own until then (and the fiasco continued for another couple hours after security finally arrived). We did manage to find a “parent”, but they were uninterested in reeling in their children.

So my complaint with the hotel is this: if they do not have staff equipped to handle a bunch of out of control 10 year olds, what happens in a real emergency? I would expect a hotel charging upwards of $200 a night would be at least trying to secure their customers safety, if not concerned about them having a pleasant stay. I did talk to a manager when checking out the next morning and he was apologetic, but there was nothing he could do that could change the fact that we spent HOURS being aggravated, annoyed and sleep deprived. Not the hotel experience we were hoping for. One of the worst hotel experiences we’ve ever had actually, and we travel quite a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amber S, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Becky B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your honest feedback and please know our team has always taken safety and security very seriously. My team has discussed better ways to keep the hockey teams busy and out of the halls as the young children just need ways to occupy their time. Our hotel does have rules and policies in place, and we do our best to get parents involved in following through with their own children and team. We want everyone staying in our hotel to enjoy their time with us and frequently share this message to all of our guests. I am truly sorry your stay didn’t go as planned and I would be happy to discuss this further if you, our number is 716-840-9566. Thank you again! Amber Stribing General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey B wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother got me a room for my birthday to relax and enjoy while she watched my kids. This was hands down the BEST experience at a local hotel. From the moment I walked into the lobby, I knew this was a nice hotel. I was able to park and then walk inside following the hallway to get to the elevator for my room, which was nice since it was snowing. It is a nice safety feature that you must use your room key to operate the elevator, which made me feel safer especially since I was there alone. My room was fantastic & the view I had was exceptional. For dinner, I went downstairs and was able to walk back through the hallway area to an indoor entrance to the Pizza Plant specifically for hotel guests. I brought food back to my room and enjoyed the view while also watching TV. I felt very comfortable even though I was alone. I loved that check out was at noon, which gave me some time to go downstairs to the hot tub. It is located below the main level where the lobby is. As with the elevator, you must use your room key to enter. I had the place to myself and just got to relax for a little bit in the hot tub. I will definitely be coming back to stay here in the future and then I will use the pool and of course the hot tub again too. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!! It is close to restaurants, bars, the arena, and Canalside. Definitely worth a trip there!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 19, 2023
DisneyFanatic15, Thank you for sharing about your stay with our Courtyard! Your feedback means so much to us, I will be sharing with our team as a way of celebrating a job well done! It is great to hear you felt safe with the security precautions our hotel takes to ensure our guests safety. We hope to see you again soon! Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PDX Native wrote a review Mar 2023
New York City, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a relatively new/modern Courtyard property and generally is still a good place but not what it used to be. If you have business downtown, it is quite convenient for your purposes when visiting downtown Buffalo but if you want the old perks like valet parking, their restaurant on site, or even something simple as comp coffee in the lobby then look elsewhere. The gym's treadmill audio (tried both) was not working. Again, it's a clean property and the gym was clean but overall, it's a neglected property.

Room was clean and ok. No complaints there.

Sunday evening staff I asked if the on-site restaurant on the lobby floor level was open and was met with an apathetic "nope" as I interrupted apparently the staff member's meal (eating there at the desk). I don't come on to write reviews of poor staff experiences, but maybe management at this property should train the front desk staff to interact with guests in a more positive way.

The morning Starbucks / bistro staff were tremendous. Very friendly, upbeat, and quickly helped a bunch of guests as we all got off the elevator and approached them at once.

It's the Spring of 2023, Covid can't be blamed any longer for things like Vallet not being offered, the restaurant being closed, etc... if there are other more macro issues that's acceptable but perhaps let guests know on the website prior to them booking.

When back in Buffalo, I'll just spend the extra $ and stay at the Marriot across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 19, 2023
Duck_in_NYC, We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with our hotel leadership team. We will work to improve our guest experience and do our best to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tiggercubchick wrote a review Jan 2024
Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing location and comfortable beds!
This hotel is located on the Canalside of Buffalo and has an outdoor ice skating rink within walking distance! Lots of neat places to shop and eat close by. The room was comfortable and quiet. The only negative I have is the room was not as clean as I like (hair in the shower and on the floor, sticky cup rings on the table).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 23, 2024
tiggercubchick, Thank you for choosing our Courtyard for your recent travels to the Buffalo area! It is great to read you enjoyed the local attractions within walking distance of the hotel. I appreciate you sharing your feedback so we can use this as a training opportunity with our housekeeping department. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Compass774652 wrote a review Mar 2023
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room here primarily based on its convenient proximity to the hockey arena but was thrilled to find it to be so nice! It was clean and well maintained and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Took a dip in the pool with was also clean and well stocked with clean towels. Didn't use the gym but it looked nice as well.

We booked the larger room with the lounge area and it was perfect and comfortable for us to hand out and have a drink before departing for the evening. The beds were unanimously comfortable!!

The location can't be beat - walking distance to the rink and many nice restaurants. In the morning we grabbed a coffe in the lobby which was also hot and fresh. Next time I stay over after a Sabres game it will be here for sure...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 19, 2023
Compass774652, Thank you for taking the time to submit your experience from your recent stay with our Courtyard! It is great to see you enjoyed the amenities and location our our hotel. We hope to be your first choice when your travels bring you back to the area! Sincerely, Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vito A wrote a review Sep 2021
Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 2 nights. Got a great corner studio room. The only real complaint I have with this stay, is regards to room cleanliness. Several areas of the room were not cleaned and sanitized as I would have expected. I wiped down all of the surfaces myself, because I know it will be done if I just do it, instead of calling up housekeeping. After walking around the carpet with bare feet, and then stepping into the shower, I then saw how dirty the floor surfaces actually were. Pretty gross. The bed and mattress were great. Location at Canal side is good, and you can walk to sports stadiums close by.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded Apr 19, 2023
skpr77, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping leaders to ensure this is an isolated incident. My hope is the next time you are in the area, you will give us another chance to provide the guest experience we strive to deliver. Sincerely, Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catie V wrote a review Jun 17
Elmira, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy to find from the highway or from downtown, close to so many attractions and restaurants (quick 10 min walk to Seneca Casino), and very clean and comfortable. Pool is clean and a fun atmosphere, gym has a good variety of equipment, and staff was so friendly. Plenty of on site parking and right next to a train stop for easy access to the whole rest of the city. Room was so clean and a fun layout with lots of space. Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frank Matte, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Responded yesterday
CatieV22, Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels until we see you again! Frank Matte General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy N asked a question Aug 2017
11 contributions7 helpful votes
What length is the pool in the Canalside Marriott? long enough for lengths??
Answer from Dennis P
Franconia, Pennsylvania34 contributions9 helpful votes
Maybe 20 to 25 feet, not really a lap pool but you can exercise in it which is a plus.
Answer from Dennis P
Franconia, Pennsylvania34 contributions9 helpful votes
I am not sure they have free shuttle service to the airport but they have plenty of cabs in line at the hotel you can use. You should contact the hotel to answer this question. Also this hotel is a block away from the Key Bank Arena , I'm not sure where the Convention Center really is. I would just call them , they are very good and very friendly at this hotel. It was a very clean, upbeat hotel for us to stay at.
chelle2114 asked a question Jan 2017
Columbia Station, Ohio8 contributions7 helpful votes
what temperature is the pool kept at? is it warm?
Answer from Ed L
New York City, New York80 contributions42 helpful votes
Pool was nice and warm, fitness center was as well. Very nice!
ShellsEastCoast asked a question Aug 2016
East Coast33 contributions32 helpful votes
Is there off-site/overnight parking you would recommend ? Thanks
Answer from bucklel
Troy, New York29 contributions35 helpful votes
I'm unsure. But if there is it might be more expensive than what hotel charges.
Lauren O wrote a tip Jul 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's a drop off loop in front of the lobby. Stop there to check in first, then decide what to do with luggage. It could be a hike!"
Read full review
christian Camerlengo wrote a tip Sep 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was worried initially about parking. But was non issue. "
Read full review
Nicole M wrote a tip Jun 2021
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania287 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are going over a weekend and want to eat out, make sure yo make a reservation. Everywhere close by has at least an 1-2hr waitlist. "
Read full review
julie n wrote a tip Dec 2019
44 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"End of hallway"
Read full review
JimL3222 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Rochester MI265 contributions148 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms to the east may not have a great view, but won't have train noise"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Buffalo area.
PRICE RANGE
C$334 - C$527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkErie CountyBuffaloDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Nearby attractions include Buffalo Double Decker Bus Tours (0.2 km), Buffalo Pedal Tours (0.4 km), and Buffalo and Erie County Naval & Military Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pearl Street Grill & Brewery, 716 Food & Sport, and Liberty Hound.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Buffalo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's Martin House (6.8 km), Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site (2.6 km), and Buffalo and Erie County Naval & Military Park (0.3 km).
All Buffalo HotelsBuffalo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BuffaloHotels near Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars