We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

America's Cup Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
America\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for America's Cup Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Unpleasant staff with long faces when you arrive. Musty, unpleasant smell throughout property. We we given the wrong room but had it changed after an argument. It gets worse. After the change, we were charged the same price from suite to regular room. Told we were not entitled to a refund because of the inconvenience. Rip Off! The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygirl1955
AmericasCupInn, Manager at America's Cup Inn, responded to this review

We are so disappointed that you were not satisfied with your visit. We take personally all comments, positive or negative, as a reflection on the strong efforts that we make to provide the most enjoyable experience for all guests. In your case, despite the fact that we changed your room as you requested, renovate each room no less than each...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Decided at the last minute to stay overnight in Newport, so stayed here. It's got very much an Inn/B&B feel, but bigger. The people at the front desk were very nice, although one seemed a little overwhelmed. There are at least two buildings as part of this Inn--the main building (reception, breakfast area, etc.) and another building a couple doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NantucketRed
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Everyone I encountered at American's Cup Inn was so nice and so accommodating. I was just in Newport for a couple of days to attend the tournament at the Tennis Hall of Fame, but my stay at the Inn really added to my experience. My room was very clean, the breakfast was delicious with so many wonderful things to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 345Sarah
Sydney
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently stayed at the America's Cup Inn in Newport. The Inn is in a great location and the rooms whilst being small are typical of boutique style B&Bs in Newport. There are no lifts available so it is not suitable for guests with large bags - nor is there onsite parking - however the public parking station is located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This B&B was great value for money at less than $100 per night, we were traveling from the UK and in need of somewhere to stay when we arrived in Newport and literally walked in and made a reservation. Don't be put off by the flowery décor, it looks worse in the photos than in real life. I’m not sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mairead K
New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 June 2013

America's Cup Inn was a very pleasant surprise. We have a 9 month old Golden Retriever and were looking for a pet-friendly hotel on our recent visit to Newport RI. We thought we would have to stay in a Motel 6 or something similar but found ACI on the Internet. What a great place. It is right in the center...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryD62
Sopot, Poland
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It was an awesome stay. Great, clean, big room with a really comfy bed. Very helpful staff (the Brazilian receptionist has extensive knowledge on what to do and see). A magnificent breakfast as well. The only downside is that there's no elevator, so if you're carrying a lot of luggage, be prepared. All in all, a definitive recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
Clemmons, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a wonderful B and B located on corner of Thames and Mary in downtown Newport. Great location and within walking distance of everything downtown. Parking right across street thru B and B at cost of $18. per 24 hrs. Parking is a challenge here so this was both reasonable and convienent. Our room was excellent.....spacious and very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C and L L
Verplanck, New York
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Esteban and the staff provided the kind of service you usually hope to get but rarely do. Very quaint hotel with excellent location. Breakfast served in a very comfortable dining area with nothing left to be desired, something for everyone. I've traveled worldwide and absolutely would recommend Americas Cup inn for the best value in Newport. Pretty hard to argue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay. The staff was pleasant and the room reasonably priced. The house is what one would expect for an older building. The rooms are small, but pleasant. The only concern would be noise from the bar next door. However, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone who is a night owl.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin T

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 km away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#26 of 96 in Newport
100 reviews
1.4 km away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#21 of 96 in Newport
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
465 reviews
0.2 km away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#38 of 96 in Newport
41 reviews
0.5 km away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 96 in Newport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about America's Cup Inn

Address: 6 Mary Street, Cnr Thames and Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $114 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — America's Cup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your America's Cup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Cup Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from America's Cup Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Danvers, Massachusetts
NH
over a year ago
NH
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from America's Cup Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Centrally Located to All”
 of 5 bubbles 434mariob, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take an upper floor if possible. There is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenceb284, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“During the summer choose a back room because I am sure the front room is noisier when it comes to street noises.”
 of 5 bubbles CatharineB556, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“didn't see any of the other rooms,”
 of 5 bubbles Jericho72, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location, right on Thames Street...good walking distance to all the restaurants and wharf's!”
  • Nice desk area to work at, surf the web or stare out the window!
  • Nice seperate sink for the shower/toilet area...allows for two to be getting ready!
  • This bed was extremely comfortable!
 of 5 bubbles jojocruzin, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5