We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,710: English reviews
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was really nice. The location was great because we could walk to the shops on the water!! The mansions were decorated for Christmas and they were BEAUTIFUL & very festive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 136sandy
Boston
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay for the Christmas Holiday with friends and family. The only disappointment was the limited selection of foods for the expensive buffet and the additional charge for resort fee. Not sure what that is pertaining to . Overall we had a great weekend at your hotel. The service was excellent from your staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alta54
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went for our babymoon and it was a fantastic weekend getaway. Great location and service. We were able to get a good deal because it was a low season weekend, although it seemed like there was a lot of traffic/events regardless. The Spa was amazing as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DamarisBeta
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect getaway! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate this occasion with us and that you found great value in our property. It is so nice that you had the opportunity to unwind at our SpaFjor, and we cannot wait to share your compliments with our team. Thank you for your wonderful review,...

Las Vegas, NV
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were here end of Sept- off season for an overnight stay. The lobby area seemed modern, front desk were busy and impersonal. The room was tight because we had 2 queen beds and a portable one. Beds were very comfortable though. No extras such as soaps, shampoos, shower cap. One hook- where do you hang your wet towels? There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilyn k
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel during your overnight stay. We are thrilled that you were comfortable in your accommodations and that you found great value in our hotel. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with everything during your visit. Providing our guests with the best customer service is our goal...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel is beautiful even on the older sections, you get the New England charm. Staff is very friendly and helpful. From the hotel you get easy access (few blocks walking) to downtown Newport and the Harbor area with all the restaurants and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amilcar G
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! We are flattered that you enjoyed the beauty and the historic charm of our property. As you mentioned, our hotel is a short distance away from the best restaurants and shops in Newport and we are glad that you found our location to be perfect for you. Your compliments about our friendly staff are appreciated, and...

Rochdale, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

I’d read up on the Hotel Viking before staying there so I knew that we would pay a Resort Fee of $16, and $15 parking on top of that. There were a lot of residential streets around the hotel which looked like you could park there for free if you did not want to use the hotel’s car park, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klee_baker
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Your recommendation means a lot to us! It gives us joy to learn that you received a warm welcome when you first arrived and that you were well-accommodated by our valet team. We are delighted that you were relaxed in your guest room and we appreciate your compliments. It is nice that you had the opportunity to explore the attractions...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel could be charming due to its location and historic building. The guys who park your car are very friendly and personable. The lobby is modern and doesn't fit the decor of the guest rooms. Temperature in the suite we stayed in was cold in the bedroom and nice in the living area. The room is beautifully decorated but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet E
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the friendly service provided by our valet team. However, we are disappointed that you were not impressed with all aspects of your stay. Your concerns will be shared with our housekeeping team so we can improve upon the quality of our...

Pomfret, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was spotless and quiet and comfortable. We were looking for an inexpensive, overnight that was not too far from home. The Viking offered a weeknight package that included breakfast- exactly what we were hoping for. We had dinner at the restaurant at the Inn and breakfast the following morning. The seafood bisque was amazing and the lobster crepe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect getaway at The Hotel Viking! We are delighted that your stay was everything that you hoped for and that you were very relaxed in your accommodations. Your compliments mean a lot to us, and we will share your comments with our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Groupon purchase...makes me wonder,does Viking sell its cheap ,cold, overused summer room on Groupon to make up for slump of season. Horrible cold room said°75, locked heat !!!! cell phone heat app said °61, rugs & floors cold and damp, not wimps camp all year round. Desk sent nice man with space heater ...remember in top 5 in Newport! Cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is disheartening to read comments like yours. We are disappointed to hear that you were not comfortable in your accommodations and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced at our pool. We take your concerns seriously and we will discuss your experience with our team. Our top priority is to provide the best customer service for our guests...

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great property! Staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. Sam at the front desk was awesome! Such a beautiful and clean hotel. Rooms were perfect and spacious. Ideal location to enjoy Newport with out being in the mix of everything. The restaurant was bright and well designed with great food. My sister joined us for a drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marini1971
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

The greatest compliment we can receive is when a guest mentions that they would return for a visit! It warms our hearts to learn that you had an amazing experience with us. We truly appreciate your high remarks about our beautiful property. It is wonderful to read about your recognition of the excellent service provided by Sam and we cannot...

848 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (421)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
483 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $158 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Groupon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
8 months ago
Clifton, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This was our first time staying at the Viking. Our room was absolutely fine. I'm sure there are better views (ours was of the parking lot).”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieK929, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are very nice. I think because of the age of the building, its just loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 605deanb, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We chose a larger room and felt comfortable hanging out in the room for the day.”
 of 5 bubbles whycandi, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“While public areas were recently (poorly) renovated, some of the rooms are getting "beat" (bathrooms, furniture etc.)”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreyk471, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King Suite is very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles TheMutt, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay