We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,840: English reviews
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We had a wonderful visit at a the Hotel Viking. We were fortunate to stay in a lovely suite in this elegant early 20th century hotel. The entertainment in the lounge Friday evening - ZanRicky - was the highlight of our stay! We travel extensively - and rarely do we receive better service or more engaging entertainment! Our thanks go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We were fortunate to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing all that you appreciated about your time at The Hotel Viking. We love that you were able to stay for the entertainment featured in our lounge. It is just one of the many ways we hope our guests can make the most their stay. Your kind words...

hartford, ct
Reviewed 27 March 2015

The Viking is a wonderful hotel, perfectly located in Newport, beautifully decorated, and offering every amenity. Enjoyed a perfect night's sleep in an oh-so comfortable bed followed the next morning by a scrumptious breakfast in the warm, sunny dining room. I will undoubtedly be back to stay again at The Viking!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pablo413
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Fabulous is one of our favorite words! We are all delighted to know you have enjoyed staying with us at The Hotel Viking. From your perfect night’s sleep all the way to breakfast the next day, you have painted a lovely image of your encounter. We can’t wait to welcome you back again for your next visit.

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Over February vacation, we stayed one night with our 3 boys (3, 8 and 12) just to get away and enjoy some family time. We were extremely pleased with every aspect of our stay from check-in til check-out. We arrived a couple of hours before official check-in and we were greeted warmly by the front desk. We expected a wait...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl M
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Whether you are interested in a couple’s retreat or a family getaway, The Hotel Viking has something for everyone! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found so much to take advantage of. It sounds like the perfect escape. One Bellevue features something for every taste. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again,...

Reviewed 25 March 2015

I'm not good at writing so-so reviews, for the most part my reviews are good ones but my husband insisted I tell his review for this hotel.To begin, if you check in on wknds. They tell you"tea time is from 2-4" with a talented girl playing a harp.That WAS nice, but some might assume that it may be included as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tina9222
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are grateful for your comprehensive feedback. It certainly seems as though you were able to enjoy some parts of your stay and for that we are grateful. We have a variety of room styles and our associates can always help you find one that best suits your comfort. As you mentioned, we do feature afternoon tea service for dining...

Dedham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 March 2015

had a totally relaxing 2 nights. enjoyed the spa, pool, jacuzzi, nice room with refridgerator. Charm of Newport. Easy to walk to all shops/restaurants. Only negative was length of time for food service in bar as well as food delivery to pool area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jetact
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Relaxing at The Hotel Viking sounds perfect! We are so glad you enjoyed so many of our services including our on-site spa and pool. Newport is such a lovely city to explore by foot. Please accept our apology for any delay in service while dining. We will be sure our management team is aware of your concerns so that we...

Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 March 2015

My wife and I have stayed at the Viking several times and have never found it to be anything but excellent. This stay was the second time my wife used the Spa services and says it is one of the best she has found. The staff is friendly, helpful and tries to make you comfortable in their hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Excellent encounters at The Hotel Viking are what we love to read about! Thank you for trusting us as your accommodations when visiting Newport on so many occasions. Spa Terre is more than just your typical spa experience as we love to create the ultimate encounter for relaxation. We look forward to your next visit to take advantage of even...

Reviewed 23 March 2015

It felt very dirty and outdated rooms. Sheets were stained and had rips. Moldy smelling bathrooms, wall covers all peeling. Shower leaking water everywhere when used. TV in the room in a terrible location, not able to watch from bed. Very small room, hard to move around.. Not a great experience overall. Staff was kind and accommodating but major facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baris D
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for your candor. We do apologize that you were not fully impressed or if you encountered any issues with your accommodations. Guests are always encouraged to let us know how we can help while they are here and we regret that we did not know of your concerns while you were here, when it would have mattered most....

Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Stayed here overnight for a business meeting. Nice comfortable rooms with a little old fashioned charm. Nice valet parking, on-site bae, breakfast was included in our stay an was pretty good. Decent walk to downtown but would be doable when the wetaher is warmer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffpags
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

A business trip to Newport sounds like the perfect way to get to know The Hotel Viking. We are so happy you chose to stay with us. The décor of our historic hotel pays tribute to our charming past and our services and amenities are here for your comfort. We would be happy to welcome you back for your next...

Revere, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 March 2015

The Hotel Viking is a phenomenal place to stay! The location itself is great, and the hotel is very charming, and wonderful for families or couples. The guest rooms are clean and comfortable and the decor varied. As special as Newport, RI is, you never even have to leave the hotel with the amazing spa, completely adequate fitness room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamar A
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

You have certainly captured the true essence of The Hotel Viking with your kind words! From your account of your time it seems as though you enjoyed so much of what we offer, including the beauty of our property and guest rooms to our spa. It brings us a great amount of happiness to know that we lived up to...

Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We arrived on a Friday night without reservations. We left an Inn in town, after accommodations were deplorable. I was very upset about the previous situation and was greeted by Sophie at the Front Desk. She was truly pleasant, and provided excellent service. She was extremely helpful and kind to us. She went above and beyond helping us and made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana E
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Exceptional hospitality is our top priority at The Hotel Viking. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest! We are so glad our associates’ service helped make your encounter in Newport positive after what seems to have been a rough start to...

876 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (450)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
544 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
599 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $169 - $887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I Wish Requested a Rm w/ Fireplace in advance But didn't get it Even Upgraded to more expensive Suite in hopes of doing so but still didn't”
 of 5 bubbles dong711, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford a suite...do it!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles W4220KDsarahk, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Older style suites are available, or if you prefer a more modern standard hotel layout room they are just as lovely.”
  • Suites are more fun...
 of 5 bubbles maggievana, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an end room”
 of 5 bubbles nyyfanatic, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size suit was nice for a separate space for kids.”
 of 5 bubbles princess692017, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5