We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

Save
Share
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
28 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
LuxuryCollection
US$419
US$398
View deal
SAVE US$21
Free cancellation until 21-07-19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-21
Hotels.comUS$419
PricelineUS$419
eDreamsUS$419
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4156)
Room & Suite (1096)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-04-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Updated 21-04-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 92 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Built in 1927, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki is an iconic resort hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii that ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii.

Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the luxury hotel offers cultural activities, concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services at our Malulani Pool and Helumoa Playground.

Read more
Room & Suite (1,096)1,096
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4800Reviews137Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,746
  • 1,112
  • 502
  • 247
  • 193
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael L wrote a review Jun. 8
Los Angeles, California3 contributions4 helpful votes
We are halfway through an 8 night stay in the Royal Hawaiian in a junior suite. The resort and beach are beautiful. Location is fantastic and very convenient. A few interesting incidents occurred so far and felt the need to share as the world is coming back from covid. First, there are junior suites that have no AC in the living area. One would imagine that this is something to disclose at check in. However, it was not and we didn’t realize this until we unpacked our luggage. We ended up transferring rooms and the hotel sent us keys to our new room that did not work. I went to the front desk and there was a huge line for check in. My wife and kids were waiting in front of a room that we couldn’t get in. Luckily, I was able to get someone from the front desk to expedite the keys (maybe the front desk manager?). Our bellman, Chase, was very helpful. Unfortunately, this took quite a long time to sort out and could have been totally avoided if they just asked if we wanted AC in the living area. Another incident occurred at breakfast. We booked through Chase LHR and we were given breakfast entree vouchers. The max value of the entree is $38 (brisket Benedict). My kids are light/simple eaters and they like yogurt and fruit more than something fancy. I wanted to order a continental breakfast ($25) to split between my 9 and 5 yo. Apparently, this triggered a commotion and the food and beverage manager was called. She told me that the continental breakfast is per person and I’d need to order multiple to have my kids share. That was completely ridiculous and I got into a quasi argument with her. I asked her to point outbwhat part in the menu (picture attached) states the continental is per person (and its the not $25 compared to the $38 max value). Since it’s not stated, I asked her if it was my right to do what I want with the food that I order??? She told me that she’d call the front desk in a threatening way (is this like tattle telling to mommy??) and I told her that’s fine. Funny thing, I think she did because the lady that helped me sort out the AC issue came to Surf Lanai and I could see them talking while observing us.... Anyhow, I ended up ordering the brisket and threw half away since the kids didn’t eat it. Definitely not what I’d expect from a luxury collection hotel...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid sharing food at breakfast...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha D7449GTmichaell, Mahalo for choosing to stay at our hotel with your family. We are glad to know you were happy with our excellent location. However, please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during our breakfast. We regret the issues you experienced with your room, and we also apologize for the behavior of our associate. Mahalo again for your feedback, and we do hope you will stay with us another time so we can provide you with a much more enjoyable experience. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
Deanna S wrote a review Jun. 7
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The Royal Hawaiian is back in business and we had a wonderful stay there. The luau is open again and was very fun. Everyone on staff is so nice and helpful. The rooms in the Mailani tower are nice but getting a little run down. Any room that faces the ocean has a lot of ambient noise but we found it soothing. Overall, this is a great hotel to stay at in Waikiki and it was relaxing and worth the money. Some things to note if you are traveling this summer: 1. The restaurants on site have very limited hours and long lines for walk ins so try and make reservations before you go. 2. The onsite amenities book up very fast so make reservations for beach rentals/gym activities before you go. 3. No public shuttles at this time and it is expensive to get a rental car. 4. No room service 5. The Mailani tower lounge is not in service due to covid 6. The entire island is short-staffed so expect longer wait times, limited availability and arrive at the airport at least 2 hours before your flight and expect delays.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kthnc wrote a review Jun. 4
Saint Louis, Missouri14 contributions5 helpful votes
We just returned from a weeklong vacation at The Royal for our anniversary and all I can say is wow! I am so glad we chose this property. It was our first time to Waikiki and we wanted the nicest experience we could have. We chose this hotel for the history and reviews and we were very impressed. PROS: The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. This resort is in the very center of Waikiki and has historic elegance. The beach is beautiful. Check- in was a breeze. They give you customary leis at check-in and take your bags An activity list for the resort was provided to us, along with muffins, sanitizer, a voucher for champagne for our anniversary, and our tickets for our beverages and food for breakfast and afternoon apps and beverages with the Malani Tower booking. The breakfast and appetizers and drinks are totally worth it for the Malani Tower bookings. The fruit and danishes at breakfast are delicious and the poke and truffle fries are to die for! Don’t miss out on the Mai Tai here. The front desk agent upgraded our room to a corner balcony overlooking Diamondhead and Duke’s for our anniversary. It was so nice looking out at the pool and listening to music on our balcony. The room was spacious and clean. The Toto toilets are great! The fridge was spacious. The bed is very comfortable. The robe provided is nice. Thank you! The pool staff is so sweet and the pool is serene. All of the staff at the resort are phenomenal. The Mai tai waitstaff, and Lanai Surf staff are great as well. Mai Tai is beautiful and has great drinks and sometimes has entertainment. We were lucky to score dinner at azure and the dinner was so delicious! Our server there was so polite and attentive. We signed up for morning yoga on the lawn and got a nice workout in a peaceful setting. We also signed up for surfing lessons and they really helped us get up on the board! I highly recommend this! The hotel smells of flowers and the grounds staff and housekeeping are hardworking. Housekeeping made sure we had extra towels and toiletries- which you sometimes have to ask for at other properties. Tip your housekeeping staff each day! It’s not an easy job! The employees are truly amazing here. Cons: Our room had a weird smell to it for a few days. It seemed to clear up, but it was a little bothersome for a few days. (This is a long one, but Do NOT book the Fly Marriot Bonvoy shuttle. Yeah, it’s a great deal, but they forgot us at the airport and we waited over an hour. We booked the shuttle through the concierge and The RH makes you feel Like it is their service on their website, but when you arrive at the airport , they tell you it’s third party and offer no help. They just told us to keep calling the shuttle ( who wouldn’t answer their phone) . Everyone on the shuttle was angry and lost an hour of their trip. When I asked the Manager on duty about our return shuttle, he said to ask the concierge, who he said was out, and the again told me it was 3rd party. I don’t even know why RH would list them on their website if their service is so poor. Find another shuttle service RH! It’s a crappy way to enter your beautiful island and your beautiful resort. I avenue not say this enough!!!) You have to go down to the pool around 7 am to put your towel down on a bed or have to stand in line days before to rent the loungers or umbrellas by the beach. They are not cheap, but nothing on the island is and especially not for that real estate so it is worth it to pay for the umbrellas. We didn’t know the luau started back up- no one sent us an email. It would have been nice to sign up for that. They also didn’t seem to notify you when there was live music at Mai Tai, which is a great feature. We missed out on another activity because the resort activity sheet is not in line with the Bonvoy app. The app said they had an activity on a Thursday and the concierge staff said it was wrong. No apology was offered and they just said to talk to the front desk. You will have to stand in line at Mai Tai anytime between 5:30 pm- 8:30 pm for dinner. The staff tries to make it speedy, but be prepared to wait. Again, it’s worth it but the lines can get long. The continental breakfast could use a little work. Even a nice change up on the egg ingredients would be fine. The food was good though. These were minor adjustments that could be rectified for an overwhelming wonderful stay. Thank you RH staff for our wonderful stay! We hope to return one day soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha kthnc, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and celebrate your anniversary at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we are glad you mentioned how much you enjoyed our excellent service, on-site facilities, and spaciousness of your room. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and have taken note of it. Your comments are important to us as it helps to improve our future travelers experience going forward. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
Jim W wrote a review May 2021
Houston, Texas57 contributions89 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful and is really old Hawaii! It sits back right off the a main street but you can’t tell you are in the middle of Waikiki Beach. It is very tropical. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The room was very clean which is important especially now. The RH pool is small but you can use the large pool next door at the Sheraton Waikiki. We had no problem getting lounge chairs and the pool staff was great. We rented an umbrella on the beach two days from the hotel ( make a reservation in advance so you are in the RH’s guest arena and not out in the public beach. The food service was limited due to COVID but it was ok. We did takeout most evenings from local restaurants and sat on our balcony to eat. The staff at the hotel are outstanding! Excellent service from everyone! The only reason I did not give our stay 5 stars is the hotel is starting to show its age and could use a refresh. This was on our bucket list of places to stay and we would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Chose a rom with a balcony and reserve a beach chair in advance to be in the RH’ private beach area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha 139jimw, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. We are delighted to read that you loved each and every aspect of your stay. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our excellent service and our on-site facilities. We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to see you again soon at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
sffred2015 wrote a review May 2021
Los Angeles, California113 contributions85 helpful votes
Royal Hawaiian is a fabulous and historical hotel perfectly located in Waikiki. The location is close to shopping areas and great restaurants. Rooms in Mailani Tower are fabulous; especially those with the ocean view. Nicole Okuna has been amazing throughout the trip to make sure that the stay is enjoyable. The corner suite at the top floor is my all time favorite and is the best place to relax after a Long Beach day. I will visit this hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: High floor. Mailani tower
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha sffred2015, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and serene views. We hope to see you again soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$389 - US$690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal hawaiian, a luxury collection hotel honolulu, royal hawaiian honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
528
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Waikiki Escape Rooms (0.3 km), Fort DeRussy Beach Park (0.5 km), and Mai Tai Bar at Royal Hawaiian Hotel (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poke Bar, Honolulu Cookie Company, and Paia Fish Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangri La (4.2 km), Iolani Palace (4.5 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (6.6 km).