We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here is 2013 and LOVED it. It is not a fancy resort hotel, its more like an old school motel but its SUPER clean and walking distance to all of the main attractions and trollies. We loved it. We especially loved the hand held shower head because we could easily clean sand off of our feet. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorisWalkins
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha DorisWalkins, thank you for your kind review! We are so grateful to hear that you loved your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs and make you comfortable! We appreciate hearing your feedback, please come back and see us again soon! Mahalo.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The hotel is priced well in comparison to the local market. Many of the rooms that I have been given, could use a refresh. Often takes a while to air the room once you arrive. Staff are consistently excellent and extremely helpful. From my perspective, I was offered a less than satisfactory room, the hall carpet was a murky colour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gmcmillan2017
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha gmcmillan2017, and thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your repeated stays with us at Ambassador and would like to sincerely apologize that you felt we gave you a less than satisfactory room. We try our best to accommodate all of our guests' needs, but especially those who are return guests. Somehow, we must have accidentally overlooked this....

Reviewed 14 February 2017

I booked this hotel for my sister and I when we were visiting and I was nervous at first. I had never been to Hawaii before and just through word of mouth found out that in Honolulu it is common to pay for parking everywhere you go. The location is not to far from downtown Waikiki just make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AthinaJewel
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha AthinaJewel, and thank you very much for your kind review! We are so happy to know that you were pleased with your stay, including the location and view from your room. We try our best to accommodate all of our guests' needs to the best of our abilities! While we are awaiting renovations, I will follow up on your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

It is slightly dated but it was fine, very noisy in the wind on the higher floors. Lifts did sometimes take ages. No bar or restaurant was a big disappointment $20 per day amenities fees is a bit of a joke really for most people this is just for wifi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham S
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Graham S, thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review. We appreciate having you, and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned. We will follow up on all of your feedback. Mahalo!

Loma Linda, California
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I agree with everyone else that this hotel is "vintage" or "rugged." Haha... And it's definitely not the nicest hotel I've stayed in; however, it was clean, which is my most important requirement. It was also budget-friendly as I'm still a student. And my room had a killer view!!!! Additionally, the staff, especially Amanda, the manager, was exceptionally kind and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christina M
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Hi Christina! We loved having you!!! Thanks so much for your review. We are looking forward to renovations, and I am going to follow up regarding the pool hours as well. I'm glad that you enjoyed the amenities and the view! GOOD LUCK with your internship, please keep us updated! Mahalo.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Staff are great - absolutely no issue with them! Ripper view from the 18th floor despite being so far back from ocean. This was a nice surprise! Facilities need to be updated, we had two room and fridges were old and rusty, cupboards didn't close properly etc. It looks like they are renovating the hotel one room at a time,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SnowBunnyBek
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha SnowBunnyBek, thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your view and our wonderful staff! We are currently doing small renovations as we look forward to more in the future. We would like to apologize if you felt inconvenienced by the noise. Mahalo for taking the time to leave your feedback, we hope to see...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this through Priceline, which advertises it as a three-star. I didn't know the name of the hotel before paying, which is basically their business model. Big mistake on my part. I'm not picky. I've stayed in plenty of two-star hotels, and they've been fine. Motel 6, Super 8, etc. They're not the nicest, but The Ambassador ranks below...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rayoboone
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha rayoboone, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We would like to extend our apologies that you felt inconvenienced during your stay. We are currently working to renovate many of the rooms within the hotel. I would also like to apologize for the parking situation. Unfortunately, we do tend to sell out when the hotel...

Hiroshima
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel, the first being nine years ago. I booked the hotel primarily for its location and the price as I was in Honolulu to attend a conference. I was not disappointed. The Ambassador is not a 5 Star resort that opens straight onto the beach front and offering a million things...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blue13
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha blue13, thank you very much for your kind & positive review of your stay! We are pleased to hear that you chose to come back for a second visit. We appreciate hearing that you found our hotel to have great value for our competitive rates, this is what we strive for. We also greatly enjoy hearing positive feedback on...

NZ Northland
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We arrived in Honolulu early morning and were able to get an early check in and a car park for our 15 seater van. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free water bottles and access to water machine. Rooms a bit dated but clean and great location, close to main shopping on Kalakaua Ave. lots of eating places a short...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hinukoa
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha hinukoa, thanks so much for this great review! We loved having you all, and appreciate hearing from you. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff, your rooms, and the location! We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Great friendly staff. That's all I have for a positive. And I feel sorry for the brave face they have to put on. It really is a run-down place, and we spent one night and left. See attached photos. Management: spend some money. Your staff are the only thing keeping you afloat. The hotel should be condemned in its current...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank thehensters
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha thehensters, thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our staff and will follow up directly on the feedback of your room/facilities. Mahalo again!

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,734 reviews
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $174 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Add $15 per day to the price you get quoted and use this to compare with other hotels.”
836pjones, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
Q2661BHjanr, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher up the better as the windows aren't very sound proof.”
kingpinbap, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Diamond head tower, ask for renewed room / suite”
gmcmillan2017, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“high floors in the wind are noisy”
GrahamS756, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5