Kuhio Banyan Club

Kuhio Banyan Club

view from front door
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

C$156
C$157
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#90 of 92 hotels in Honolulu
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in Honolulu, look no further than Kuhio Banyan Club.

Close to some of Honolulu's most popular landmarks, such as Statue of Duke Kahanamoku (0.3 km) and Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including air conditioning, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers baggage storage, sun umbrellas, and beach chairs, to make your visit even more pleasant.

While in Honolulu be sure to experience local oyster favourites at Michel's At the Colony Surf, Ruth's Chris Steak House, or Wolfgang's Steakhouse.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Lyon Arboretum, Foster Botanical Gardens, and Kawamoto Orchid Nursery, which are some popular Honolulu gardens – all conveniently located a short distance from the hotel.

The staff at Kuhio Banyan Club looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Vending machine
Hiking
Snorkelling
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Internet
Windsurfing
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Infirmary
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

2310 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2983
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Honolulu Intl Airport
12.1 km
See all flights
Molokai Airport
76.6 km
See all flights
394Reviews22Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 95
  • 99
  • 58
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Voyager589620 wrote a review Mar 2022
Houston, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Location off Wakiki Beach, not too far to walk to beach and restaurants in city. Parking is extremely difficult on the street and very expensive at nearby garages. I recommend the hotel get a park sharing agreement with garage to help guests. The property is very aged and the bed and bedding could use improvement. Shower could use an upgrade. The location is so good, this hotel is worth a stay. Staff is kind and nice also, although in my opinion overly strict with COVID rules- particuarly I had to schedule to wash my clothes and this was very unpleaseant- because there were so few times to wash that my clothese never got washed. For this reason when I extended my trip I chose a different location mainly due to need to wash clothes and park a car. The nearby hotel also had an updated room which the Kuhio Banyan did not. Kuhio also limited the number of guests in the room to only 2. The staff was polite and friendly. Staff also offered beach chairs, beach towels and umbrellas and even floats, this was a real plus which I appreciated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian t wrote a review May 2021
Broomfield, Colorado39 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I guess you get what you pay for. This was one of the cheapest (not by much) hotels in Waikiki. The room is dirty, paint peeling off the walls and the sink in the kitchen is clogged. We had a five day stay and two packs of coffee. We asked for more coffee and were told that any additional packs were $1 each, regardless of how long your stay is.
The water takes forever to get warm and never warm enough. So, showers were nice and cold.
The positive of this place is the staff is really friendly and helpful where they can be and its location is close to shopping and beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brenda F wrote a review May 2023
Peka Peka, New Zealand23 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you only need somewhere to put your head down at night, then this would suffice. There are no facilities e.g. pool, lounge or balconies. The units only have murphy beds which was reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were dreadfully lumpy. The kitchen had enough crockery and cutlery and we were able to eat breakfast in the room. There was no hair dryer. We were right above the night club and it was noisy. The decor is very very dated and could do with being refitted. It is however, very convenient for the shops, eateries of Waikiki and the beaches, and the Pink Line trolley bus stops outside. As far as RCI goes, this place would definitely be the worst we have stayed at, but I guess they rely on location as their big attraction. If you only need a cheap room with a bed and you don't plan on staying in your room, then this place would be ok. Definitely not a resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kina H. wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We found BED BUGS at Kūhiō Banyan Hotel!!! Stay away!! Even worse, management is rude, terrible and will not refund you for used OR unused nights, even if you bring live bugs to the front desk and show that you were bitten. Talk about a health hazard. The clerk actually tried to insinuate we brought them in, which is so wrong. We’re fastidious people who react badly to the bites, so I can 1000% guarantee we did not bring those bugs in. We never have ANY pest control problems at home.

Their only solution was to switch our room, which we declined because bed bugs can travel between walls. How could they guarantee another room was bug free? 1/3 of people don’t react to the bites, so no complaints don’t mean no bugs. And how many guests were unaware and mistook the bites for something else? After how we were treated, the trust was gone.

We made the mistake of choosing this hotel instead of a national chain because we wanted a kitchenette and to support a local business. Never again. The rest of our group went to national chains with zero problems.

Things other reviewers complained about that we were willing to overlook:

1. The nightclub downstairs that pumps the bass with clubgoers screaming from 1-3:30am. We were far enough away, it was just tolerable. But I can’t imagine being in the rooms right above the club.
2. Noisy downtown location in front of a busy bus stop (constant traffic)
3. Dated decor and run down, slummy apartments right next door
4. Can’t open windows & the window AC can just barely keep up with the heat
5. Bathroom jalousie windows are stuck open with no other ventilation so the bathroom stays humid and smelly
6. Hot water takes forever to come on
7. Front desk closes at 10pm so if you need anything you’re SOL until the morning or $45 new key charge. Don’t get locked out!
8. No free parking included or anywhere nearby

We were ok dealing with all of that, but BED BUGS are a dealbreaker! To ensure we didn’t bring them home (they can be a nightmare to get rid of), we had to throw away our luggage and ziplock all our belongings at the airport, then wash & dry everything at the laundromat before taking it home. At least we saw them. Can’t imagine all the people staying here who may be taking bed bugs home unaware.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie P wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada14 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this resort out of desperation to just have a timeshare option in expensive Oahu knowing that is had no rating. The good: great location, Murphy bed was surprisingly comfortable, good to have fridge and dishes. The rest: the room is small, old, and although clean in appearance we didn't trust it and covered the furniture and wore socks/shoes in the unit. Not the kind of resort where you will be able to enjoy time in your room. Up in the morning and back at night. They misrepresent the "resort fee" of $200 as a state tax but it is not that and you cannot opt out of paying for it. This allows you to "borrow" a barbie size blow drier and a remote for your TV. They offered local parking for a very cheap rate for the week and we recouped the $200 by attending a vacation club presentation. Nothing was a surprise to us and knew what we were getting when we accepted this trade. Best we could get in the location in the heart of Waikiki.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Davesome wrote a review Jun 2020
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii42 contributions70 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Why do they still employ Leanna when the 1 star reviews outpace the 2,3,4, and 5 star reviews? When the MAJORITY of the people that stay at your establishment rate their experience as " Terrible" Isnt that a wake-up call?

Looks like the owners of this establishment have been pocketing the money and not putting it back into the place. The rugs are from the 1970's all worn and "bumpy" and the air conditioner must have been from the 80's. It didnt cool the room.

They pride themselves on rooms having "kitchenettes" but if you dont use them, because you dont want to eat in the depressing room, then what good are they?

They "scam" you with a "resort fee" to follow suit with all of the other hotels, but its not a resort! There is no pool, gym, etc. There is no parking, all these things that actual resorts have, and charge a resort fee for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: advise on what room to choose? Answer: none of them. Choose a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from T Hannon, General Manager at Kuhio Banyan Club
Responded Sep 18, 2020
September 18, 2020 Dear Dave, We respect our customers, offer the most competitive rates possible, and strive to provide the best possible experience during each and every stay. We always welcome guest comments, both good and bad, but it is highly disappointing when a guest posts a negative review out of ill-will and containing numerous untruths. By your own admission in prior communications with Club management, you were fully aware of the urban nature of the property, what it does and does not offer – as well as the resort fee – both at the time you made your reservation and when you checked in. When your request to waive this fee was denied, however; you made derogatory comments about the hotel’s staff and posted a review complaining of conditions that you never mentioned during your stay — and which we could have easily rectified had they existed. The Kuhio Banyan Club has welcomed tens of thousands of guests since it began continuous operation in 1987 — 33 years! During this entire time, no consumer complaint has ever been upheld against the Club by either the County of Honolulu or the State of Hawaii. We take great pride in our record of integrity and service to the traveling public, and pledge to do everything within our ability to maintain it unblemished.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
njr0wan wrote a review Jul 2022
West Deptford, New Jersey9 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Try to ignore the bad reviews of the Kuhio Banyan Club. Is it a little dated? Yes. Is parking available at the hotel? No, but with a little research you can find a weekly spot like we did that is about a block away, in a secure garage. We were forced to check in extremely late due to flight delays, but having anticipated this and prepaid the security deposit, etc. arrangements were made and I was given a code to get our keys. Charles the security guard was extremely helpful. The room is a studio, the Murphy bed is very comfortable, the A/C keeps the room very cool, the hot water is plentiful and the water pressure excellent. I read reviews complaining of the club downstairs and our room was almost right over it, but we kept the bathroom door closed and it wasn’t an issue. This place is smack dab in the middle of EVERYTHING on Waikiki, loads of restaurants across and up and down the street and it is a short walk to the beach. Overall we have zero complaints with the hotel, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the location is fantastic, and honestly how much time do you really spend in your hotel when on vacation?!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go online to Waikiki Parking Garage and talk or email Robert. We parked there for the entire week...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
478Wayne227 wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the unit is great! Not far from Waikiki Beach and close to shops and attractions are easy to get to.
The room however was definitely dated. It also had some bugs. Roaches! Some of the staff was very friendly and helpful, however some were not helpful or friendly. This location has no Parking and to find parking is very difficult and expensive. Around the corner at the Island Colony Hotel there is a garage for overnight parking of $35 per night. That on top of renting a vehicle gets expensive. We didn't try this time but the bus may be a good option for transportation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maria m wrote a review Oct 2021
Mexico City, Mexico45 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the property cannot be beat! Located on Av Kuhio in front of the International Market Place, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bus stops. This helped us a lot not to need a car to get around Waikiki and not to pay exaggerated parking prices per day. The rooms are very clean and may need some updating, but we only stayed in them to sleep as we had excursions every day. Within the commercial plaza where the property is located there are excellent places to eat highly recommended such as Marukame Udon and EbiNomi where they serve the most delicious shrimp peeled with garlic mojo that are much more delicious than the so famous Giovanni's truck in the North Shore !!!! You have to keep in mind that the hotel does not have an entrance to park and unload suitcases, so be prepared to carry them a few meters to the entrance of the hotel for your check in
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
206djasia wrote a review Nov 2023
Seattle2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second time staying at the Kuhio Banyan Club. The unit was outdated but clean. The AC and room was quiet enough considering the location of the resort (above very busy part of Waikiki). My main concern whenever I visit Hawaii is roaches. I saw NONE at the resort/unit. This resort is right across the International Marketplace. It is very centrally located! It's an easy walk to the beach, shopping, dining, bar hopping. However, parking is VERY difficult if you rent a car. There is a mandatory fee for beach equipment rental whether you use it or not. The unit felt secure with the downstairs blocked off from Playbar (below) and it requires a key to enter the premises. Staff was very friendly including their security and housekeeping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vacationneeded2017 asked a question May 2020
Riverside, California8 contributions3 helpful votes
What kitchen and cleaning items and Are in the room?
Answer from darinyee
Plymouth, Massachusetts26 contributions53 helpful votes
I did not find all the essential pots and pans I would have liked to actually cook a dinner. None of the cooking equipment was top shelf (and that's being kind). The redeeming factor regarding food was the presence of so many good restaurants in the area. However if you should want to buy groceries, I would suggest you go to Don Quijote Supermarket for better pricing and more selections.
Answer from Brent F
San Antonio, Texas140 contributions82 helpful votes
Kuhio is a main street in downtown honolulu. Easy to travel around island. Mapquest can guide you around island. You can get info on line. Parking downtown is expensive! BT has no parking. Pretty good location. Lots to do downtown. There are car rentals near hotel. Rent by day.
Ratih_Martial asked a question Dec 2017
Singapore, Singapore196 contributions74 helpful votes
is there any shuttle bus from HNL airport? fees? thanks....
Answer from Ally2509
Sherbrooke, Canada150 contributions28 helpful votes
The public bus 19 (I think) gets you right in front ! Cost 2.75$ per person or 5.50$ a day
Answer from laurenceazoulay
Montreal, Canada5 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, Yes a chair would fit in the shower. It is a regular size shower.
Answer from fijibowler
Nevada65 contributions24 helpful votes
No, there is none. Across the street/adjacent to the hotel is a private paid private parking lot. Daily rate available. Fills up fast during the evening. Parking in that area around the hotel is horrible, as the hotel has nil parking, period!
Carolyn K wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't"
Read full review
Pete Wessel wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kuhio Banyan offered no partial refund or future credit for our planned 5 night honeymoon. We called them to cancel, they said call our book"
Read full review
Penina Fuld wrote a tip Mar 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking, lumpy Murphy's bed, on top of a noisy bar. "
Read full review
Ross C wrote a tip Jan 2023
17 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the buses to get around!"
Read full review
Tico T wrote a tip Jul 2022
San Francisco, California24 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
C$179 - C$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kuhio banyan club hotel honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kuhio Banyan Club - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kuhio Banyan Club
Which popular attractions are close to Kuhio Banyan Club?
Nearby attractions include International Market Place (0.06 km), Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.4 km), and Rock-A-Hula (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kuhio Banyan Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Kuhio Banyan Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Kuhio Banyan Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tempura Kiki, STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, and Maguro Spot.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kuhio Banyan Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Kuhio Banyan Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (4.5 km), Shangri La (4.0 km), and US Army Museum of Hawaii (0.8 km).
All Honolulu HotelsHonolulu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HonoluluHotels near Kuhio Banyan Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars