We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Waikiki Sunset

5.7 km from Honolulu centre
  • Pool
  • Free Wifi
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Special Offer
BOOK WITH US & SAVE 15%
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 987: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms by the elevators have a lovely view on the upper floors but are extremely noisy and it is all night long, It is ignorable if you are a heavy sleeper but we switched as we were there for a long time. The upper floors present wonderful views all around and we had views of the fireworks on New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteyDOrlando
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha PeteyDOrlando, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location and serviced you received. I’m sorry to hear that your original room was too noisy but we are so glad that we could move you to another room that you...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Very old, outdated & needs a general facelift in all areas..especially the pool. The rooms felt like you were stepping back in time to the late 70's. Dosent look at all like the pics on the Internet. Kitchen was good..bathrooms lousy. Small unusable balcony. If you can afford it..stay in something newer.. View to Diamond Head was great being on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Pauline T, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I do want to apologize on our part regarding your thoughts on our public area. We are in discussions with the Building Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation to enhance the property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your view...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always stay here whenever I go back to Honolulu.. Yes its not the resort type of place with fancy amenities but why break your bank on your room when you come to Hawaii for paradise and all the islands have to offer.. I love this place because it feels just like your own condo.... it has a bedroom, living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selena N
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Selena N, Mahalo for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, location and service. Yes, our property is very spacious especially if you are traveling with family or a larger group. We are planning renovations to our lobby and public area to enhance our property but we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The front desk service was so unfriendly and rude. They need tranning for customer service. Also they are very late to orgarnaize. It makes long line to wait by someone who want checkin/out They never answer the front phone from room. Dirty room. I felt that sand while I stayed. Their cleanning condition was not good. Too old fashioned condo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JW P
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha JW P, As a guest, we value your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the underwhelming stay. We were not aware that you were stuck in the elevator and sincerely apologize for your experience. We want to improve our services and for all our guests. Thank...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband turned 50 and to celebrate I booked a surprise trip for the family in Hawaii. The Aston is an older style building with 38 levels, it was clean comfortable and well located. If you what luxury this is NOT the place. If you what value for your hard earned money STAY here.Yes I would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Sue R, Mahalo for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and Happy Belated 50th Birthday to your husband. We look forward to having another opportunity of accommodating you and your family during your next visit to our beautiful island or celebrating another special occasion. Mahalo!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only good thing about this hotel was the view from our room and Shaun the concierge. The other staff were miserable and not helpful at all. If they were asked a question the response was " I don't know sorry". The carpet in the room was disgusting and smelt. The hotel is in need of a good clean. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teambatten
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha teambatten, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, as it allows our Management team to review and improve the hotel for our future guests. Warmest Aloha. Mahalo!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for three weeks. long time ago but still relevant.not fancy but clean and welcoming to guest.there is no room service but right outside the door are numerous fast food resturants.on the beach right across the street they have movie night on big screens.the only down side are the people backpacking and sleeping on the beach some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sara l
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha sara l, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay with us and I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our location is great as we are walking distance to the beach and we have a pool on property. We also have many food options close by or...

Christchurch
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one bedroom unit facing the canal with a full kitchen. We had 2 kids and 2 adults in our party, we had the kids in the bedroom with two beds and the adults shared the sofa bed in the lounge. The sofa bed is pretty uncomfortable and noisy with springs etc, so we put the mattress on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank hotwxsearch
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha hotwxsearch, Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay. Many our guests take advantage of the convenience of our location, amenities and our service. Our amenity fee of $20.00 a day includes not only Wifi, DVD/games, coffee/tea and other items. We are so glad that you enjoyed the kitchen and we hope to welcome you back...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed at the Waikiki Sunset from 12-19-16 to 12-29-16 during our annual vacation, I would say that the room we were assigned was ok, for the most part the maid assigned to our room did provide good service, always had towels and coffee. Two days before we were scheduled to check out, my daughter placed jewelry in the top...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank locwell
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha locwell, Thank you for your family's visit to Aston Waikiki Sunset and for sharing your experience and concerns from your previous visit. Please allow me to apologize for the disappointment and frustration you experienced. We truly do strive to make your stay memorable and am sorry this was not the case for you. I know our management team have...

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We arrived expecting something on the nice side from the view of the pictures online. Our carpets were stained, our walls had stains and hair on them, our bathroom had mildew on the ceiling, and the hallways were dirty. We were asked to forego housekeeping to accommodate the need to clean rooms of those checking out one day. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank terin2017
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha terin2017, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I remember assisting you and your family regarding your concerns. We made every effort to clean your room and even offered a complimentary upgrade to another new room. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations but we appreciate your feedback as this will only help us...

767 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (731)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (184)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (286)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4,057 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 85 in Honolulu
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#46 of 85 in Honolulu
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $274 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, Higher up-Better views.”
 of 5 bubbles PeteyDOrlando, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ocean view makes your mornings every more happier”
 of 5 bubbles selenan2017, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Protect your personal belongings, do not leave out where there is temptation”
 of 5 bubbles locwell, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room above the 18th floor, those are where the Orientals have rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 271marcw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hi floors30to 37”
 of 5 bubbles haynaulka, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5