We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1352)
Room & Suite (473)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Leap Into Savings: 29-29-29 Offer!
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 16 resorts in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The recently refreshed Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary breakfast buffet available in our Breakfast Bar features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, choice of breakfast meat, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, The Placery offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Valet parking available -fees apply.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Leap Into Savings: 29-29-29 Offer!
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,984 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is celebrated for its excellent location near the beach and local attractions, which guests find convenient. The hotel staff receives commendation for their attentiveness, though some visitors have noted occasional slow service. While the atmosphere receives mixed reviews, with some calling out dated decor, others appreciate the clean and updated rooms. However, noise can be an issue for rooms facing the street. Travelers enjoy the complimentary breakfast and beach amenities, but the extra fees for parking and resort services are seen as detracting from the hotel's value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Inconsistent
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
5984Reviews173Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,951
  • 1,952
  • 667
  • 237
  • 178
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
dunny1036 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Location is 2 blocks from beach and very walkable. Route one are very basic and seem a bit worn down. Furniture in lobby is worn. Breakfast is outdoors and pretty windy and chilly most mornings. Staff was very friendly but didn’t seem like there were enough people for the front desk. Elevator was a bit slow as well. My son beat us down from 15th floor via stairs😂 This hotel is ok for the value but next time will cough up a few extra dollars for better location on strip/beach and a bit nice accommodations
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
suncityautosales wrote a review Mar 2
Madison, Wisconsin1 contribution
I stayed at this hotel for 10 days and housekeeping will show up late in the afternoon just to ask if we needed towels, the beds were only turned ones during our stay, and that was by request. Only, there is nowhere to park and they take it Advantage of this and charge $53 per night for Parking
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Tim H wrote a review Mar 2
New Westminster, Canada1126 contributions
Three of us, and we wanted some space so we got a premium mountain view room. Fisrt night wasn't what the pictures showed us, but we noticed the room next door was, and were able to switch. The new room was the size we expected and the layout was much more practical. Good quiet AC, but the adjacent elevator made odd clunking noises all night (not a problem, just odd). Good balcony. In the main tower the elevators were normal speed; apparently the other tower has the slow ones. That also put us on the 14th floor away from any noise. Good beds, huge chair, sofabed. Plenty of storage. Shower only, but that's not unusual. The $$$ resort fee gets you a water bottle (zowie!) and the ability to borrow beach chairs and towels. But hey, look where you are. When you go to the beach, spend the $15 there to rent an umbrella for an hour, it's worth it. The beach is close enough to walk in water shoes or whatever. Like everyone else, we schlepped down to see the sunset Every Single Night. You should too. The hotel's proximity to a stop for the #2 bus was very useful. Get a pass at any ABC. Seniors can ride nearly free with a HOLO card but it's a giant pain to get one. We were staying 8 nights so it was worth it. If you're driving, it's easy to get out to the highway via Kapahulu. BUT beware rush hour; we spent an hour in stop-and-go in mid-afternoon on one of our two driving days. Breakfast? Well, the eggs and OJ were good, and surprisingly so was the steel-cut oatmeal. Fruit, yogurt, granola OK. Everything else was cardboard and tasted like meeting an obligation with the minimum possible solution. And on the day they do premade breakfast sandwiches --- let's just say the wrapper was the best part. But even that outperformed the coffee, which is just brown water. There are two Starbucks nearby and a Kai's three short blocks away, but they will have lineups most of the time. The downstairs lounge is attractive, and many people were enjoying it each night. Bar selection covers the basics. The Placery is a little cabinet like you'd see in a Starbucks, with some cold drinks, a few sandwiches, some chocolate bars. We had a $5 credit there each day and took some stuff we didn't really want because we're cheap, but it is at least a reason to let yourself have chocolate. The staff were ALL friendly, helpful and well informed. Value for money? Well, it IS Waikiki, and the hotel isn't responsible for the exchange rate or the numerous extra fees. The beach cancels any such concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded yesterday
Aloha Kawaguy, Mahalo for staying with us at Hyatt Place Waikiki. We are thrilled to have welcomed you with the spirit of Aloha by our Ohana. We take pride in our great location, breakfast options, and comfortable room, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we look forward to welcoming you back with the same level of excellence soon. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tylergibas wrote a review Feb 2024
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Great place, great location and amazing free breakfast. Biggest let down was: No hot tub, this was a huge deal to me! Never have been to a high end hotel that didn’t have a hot tub. Terrible workout equipment in the gym. No fitted sheets for the bed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha Tylergibas, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you liked our great location and breakfast options. However, we are very sorry if we did not fully meet your expectations. We've shared your comments with the relevant department for future improvements. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dean A wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions
The hotel was in a good location and quite adequate for our needs. The outdoor breakfast area was overrun with pigeons and other birds in the morning. When I got up to get a cup of coffee they were on my food plate in less than 15 seconds. This has to be addressed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Dean, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you liked our great location. However, we are very sorry if we did not fully meet your expectations. We've shared your comments with the relevant department for future improvements. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
honeylynbarnett wrote a review Feb 2024
London, Kentucky1 contribution
Best customer service as well as friendly and smiley faces throughout the hotel. Good complimentary breakfast. Valet staff. Easy access to abc store as well as the few food trucks behind the hotel. =)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Honeylynbarnett, Mahalo for staying with us at Hyatt Place Waikiki. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our great location and breakfast options. Our Ohana takes pride in providing exceptional service with an Aloha spirit, and we're glad to hear that their warm welcome made your stay even more enjoyable. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we can't wait to have you back soon. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sjweinstock wrote a review Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada7 contributions
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Dino at reception went beyond the call of duty to make our stay wonderful. Even though the hotel is a block and a half from Waikiki Beach, you can still get a good ocean view from their "specialty" rooms. The off the beachfront location makes it a good value. Overall a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A buffet breakfast (eggs, toast, cereal, yoghurt, miso, rice) is included.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Sjweinstock, Mahalo for staying with us at Hyatt Place Waikiki. We are delighted to hear that you rated our service highly. Our team takes great pride in providing excellent service, and we are pleased to know that we have met your expectations. Hosting you is a pleasure, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
steveyoos wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
my credit card was charged by over $1000 after speaking with Expedia and they contacted the hotel it was Hyatt Places fault and they stated should have never happened, Here I am almost a week later still waiting on my card to be credited back the amount. Also breakfast is not the greatest and a very small area for as many people that go there. happy hour for two drinks cost $35 as well not great for the over priced items
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Steveyoos, Mahalo for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We understand that this is not typical of the service we strive to provide. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate department to ensure that such incidents are not repeated in the future. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and ask for the Manager On Duty. We once again apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ckillsley wrote a review Feb 2024
Geelong, Australia1 contribution
Our room was 3rd floor city view very small breakfast was nice but to much pineapple in diced fruit bowl not enough variety and not enough cereal choices if I go there again would ask for a bigger room and higher up the lower streets were noisy maybe I didn’t drink enough 😆
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Ckillsley, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We are very sorry if we did not fully meet your expectations. We've shared your comments with the relevant department. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, we kindly ask you to reach out to us directly. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rlbell1643 wrote a review Feb 2024
Baton Rouge, Louisiana1 contribution
Nice clean Hotel, good customer service, breakfast could use a little more work ! No microwaves to warm cold breakfast food, nor in rooms so we weren’t able to weren’t able to warm food that we purchased or left overs !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Rlbell1643, Mahalo for choosing Hyatt Place Waikiki as your preferred choice, and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our cleanliness and excellent staff. Your feedback is highly appreciated, and we will make sure to share it with the relevant department to further improve our services. We appreciate your patronage, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Mahalo, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
C$395 - C$513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean resort honolulu, ocean resort hotel waikiki honolulu, hawaii ocean resort, ocean resort hawaii, ocean waikiki hotel, ocean resort hotel waikiki oahu, ocean resort waikiki, ocean hotel waikiki, ocean hotel honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
426
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Oahu, Hawaii) - Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach (0.05 km), The Magical Mystery Show at Hilton Waikiki Beach (0.2 km), and Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maguro Spot, Deck., and Momosan Waikiki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Filipino.