We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,691 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,486: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights in the OHANA Waikiki East. Booked a budget room through Pleasant Holidays. Was told that a budget room would be by the elevators. Fortunately, we were not next to the main guest elevators ( which, by the way, are very slow at peak times), but around the corner by the service elevators. While we could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Alicia Mahalo for the kind review and recommendation. Niel Mason

Torrance, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel I usually stay at was being remodeled,so I booked a room at the Ohana East because of the location, But the best part was the staff, My reservation had to be reworked when I checked in and Marie really went out of her way to help me, I got a great clean room on the 16th floor with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

OK, now that's the best way to start my day! Thank you Steve Thank you Marie Humbled, proud and fairly speechless. Much Mahalo Niel Mason

Sunshine Coast Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ( myself, husband and 25 yr old son ) stayed for the second time in October/November for 16 nights. Was great to get out of the cab and be greeted by the same familiar face of Raymond. Who later brought us a welcome back box of chocolates. Check in was hassle free after the long night flight from Australia....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ennael2013
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

G'day from me and Aloha from Ray. Mahalo for the amazing review. Thank you for choosing to stay again; certainly now you are part of our Ohana. From all of us here at Outrigger and OHANA, wishing you all a wonderful 2017. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely Niel Mason

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yet another outstanding stay. Arrived early greeted by Raymond . Went up to check in we were welcomed back by Brian. Our room wasn't ready but he let us know as soon as it was not very long. We always have the same room and it was clean and well stocked as usual. Shao the housekeeper from our floor welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brettnsue
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Brett and Sue, An absolute pleasure to see you again - thanks for your time in stopping to say hello to me. Mahalo for the gifts (despite the Vegemite Immigration Ban) Thank you for being part of our Ohana. I will certainly share your kind review with Pono Josh Tracy Jess Brian Raymond and the others. Can't wait to...

Truckee, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel - spacious rooms - clean - fabulous location near International Market Place and Duke statue. Everything you want to do within short walking distance. Check in desk people extremely friendly and helpful. Concierage desk less helpful. Guess they would have been if we were buying a tour. Balcony very small but did hold 2 chairs and small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharon33191
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sharon, The five points on this forum is so much appreciated. Thanks for the shout out to our staff - love sharing these comments. Apologies for the tour folks in our lobby - I'll be raising this with them too. Sounds like you had a great time exploring Waikiki - and hope you got your feet wet on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on the way to and from mainland USA. Whilst the hotel is on the older side it is meticulously clean, in a great location and has everything needed for a comfortable stay. Is across the road from the Food Pantry which is handy for grocery supplies. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanne K
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joanne Hope you had a great time visiting the US of A. Thank you for choosing to stay with use when stopping over in Hawaii. I hope you had a few days to explore. So much to do. I enjoyed penning a must-do list for a friend due soon in to Oahu; here's a highlight... Kuhio (the middle street...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our party was four adults and two children Ohana East met all our needs plus.Having stayed at other Outrigger Hotels both top and middle range .Ohana East exceeded our expectations of mid range hotel. Staff from day one to departure were excellent.Housekeeping especially with two grand children in our group, Location is central and bonus extras are all usable. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skennars
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Damien, William has shared your kind guest feedback response with us and all department heads delighted to take back to share with their respective teams. Thank you so much for the kind review and recommendation. I very much appreciate you choosing to stay and thrilled you and your family enjoyed your time here in Waikiki. We all look forward...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

No views. No thermostat in the rooms. Poor air conditioning. Easy access to the main strip. Good service. Value is not there. Much better hots in the area for not much more money. Don't plan to return, but didn't outright hate my stay. Outrigger basically bought an old hotel and slapped their name on it. Needs a full renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airpower2008
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Mahalo, The 19-floor tower built in 1972, by Roy (The Kelleys of Outrigger) and owned by the company ever since, we strive to keep clean and well-maintained. I certainly appreciate your highlighting a positive experience with our service delivery. It is disappointing to read we appear to have fallen so short of your expectations against the product proposition. I offer...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a room with a view of the city street and hills, it was lovely to sit on the balcony and look out at the lights at night. We could see a bit of sea also, I preferred our view to the view of the hotel pool my daughters had. The staff are really nice, very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefiveofusxxx
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

LOL - I'm sure my better half wants a bed to herself more often than not as well. Thank you for the kind review and for choosing to stay with us with the family. Perhaps when you are next in we can show you the two bed apartments - or even the two bed, two bath dual key option we...

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Nice hotel that is very well located. We were given an upgrade with no extra charge by a very nice woman at the desk. We had a small balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Very nice room with all the amenities. They offer no breakfast, but right next door is the Sheraton where we had a great breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter M
FUNin96815, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Peter, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Wishing you all the best in 2017. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in again when next you are in Waikiki. Mahalo Niel Mason

746 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (542)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
View from Room (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 85 in Honolulu
999 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 85 in Honolulu
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 85 in Honolulu
1,581 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#64 of 85 in Honolulu
477 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 85 in Honolulu
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $200 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from OHANA Waikiki East Hotel staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from OHANA Waikiki East Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed on 17th floor and had access to the express elevator. Was very quiet and peaceful on this floor.”
 of 5 bubbles renerich, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that are one grade above the lowest are well worth the extra cost and often have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles ausman45, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the Elevator block”
 of 5 bubbles mertomss, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the higher floors, there is lots of noise due to people on the streets at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunset_Sailor, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay on the lower floors or you will get interrupted sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles dlay2, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5