We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,784 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,575: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to the Big Island. The building is beautiful and we had booked a room with an ocean view. Service was good and with a smile. The pool is great especially as the beach can get very full. Due to its location it is easy to walk to most locations along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trip19652013
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean view guest room. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel grounds. The Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium are both located only...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way back home to Australia. Spacious room, we stayed in Tower wing and had a great view of ocean an the banyan tree. Not a fan of the in house TV, like most hotels here you have no idea what program's are coming up and what you do get is eaten up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean view Tower Wing guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are spectacular and not to be missed. We are sorry to hear of the persistence from our Housekeeping staff and we apologize for any discomfort you experience...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We made a quick trip to Honolulu to get out of the foggy weather of Seattle and stayed at this beautiful hotel. It was amazing. I have been there three years in a row in the month of November and plan on returning every year. Our room was ocean front with a balcony and it was breathtaking every morning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mherche
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you mentioned, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and we continue to evoke a sense of “old world” charm today with services like Afternoon Tea on...

Healesville, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our accommodation was recommended and booked by our travel agent in Australia. We booked a Banyan Ocean View room, we were shown to our room (519) and were totally disappointed; the ocean view was only visible if you stood at the bathroom door, the doona cover had marks all over it & there was pubic hair on the bathroom floor....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BaznShell
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the state of your initial guestroom and we sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction you experienced while being our guest. However, we are happy to hear we were able to provide an additional guestroom that was more suitable to...

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I used points for my stay at this hotel and got an incredible hotel for the money. The staff was very friendly. Guests staying on points are limited to certain parts of the hotel. Based on other reviews, I requested a room facing the street in the historic part of the hotel. My room was small but well-organized. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JustPassingThrough22
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Banyan Wing city view guestroom. Many of our guests prefer our historic Banyan Wing guestrooms for they are most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear and views of the city are spectacular, especially at night. We offer a complimentary historical tour every...

Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

A travel agent set this up for our first trip to Hawaii and our 25 anniversary. Hotel is simply beautiful. Right on the beach in the center of everything. It is a very busy place with people from everywhere going everywhere. Very popular for weddings; you will see them often. Our room was large, spotless and modern. A little pricey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpartridge
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. We are honored you chose to spend your 25th wedding anniversary here at the “First Lady of Waikiki” and on behalf of everyone here we would like to congratulate you! There are so many romantic and charming qualities of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa that make for a perfect honeymoon or...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I really enjoy staying there that was my third time at the moana and my fifth time in Honolulu I stayed at different hotels but prefer the moana surfrider. The location is excellent I love the decor in the hotel the entrance is so grand remind me of olden days.its on the beach but I wish they update the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear you prefer staying here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa when you visit Honolulu. We are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants close by. The Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium are both about a mile...

Hood River, Oregon
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a stunning, classic Honolulu gem the Moana Surfrider is, Entering the lobby instantly brings back a bygone era, the amazing Banyan tree in the courtyard beckons visitors to sit beneath it for umbrella drinks and munchies. And what a location on Waikiki! Central to everything with a great beach. So many beautiful, classic pieces are in place it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeckertny
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so sorry to hear you experienced difficulties with our internet service and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. If you wish to address this matter further please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback for it...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a beautiful setting for a hotel! We saw many brides and grooms throughout our stay. There are so many hotels along Waikiki beach but my choice each visit is the Moana Surfrider for location, comfort and, now, service. Beach service has improved tremendously since my last visit about six years ago. We decided to upgrade (for an extra $50...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LindaandBill22
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay here at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” So happy you relished in the daily beach umbrella rental. It truly is the ideal way to spend a day on Waikiki Beach. The Hawaiian Green Sea Turtle or...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Moana Surfrider. We had a Tower Suite with King Bed and two balconies. With the suite package we got breakfast included every day either in the room or at the Veranda restaurant. We also got two beach chairs and umbrella included each day. The hotel staff was very friendly. The waiter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ljrlaura
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay here at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” The daily beach umbrella rental is the ideal way to spend your day on Waikiki Beach. Guests of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa can relax on an exclusive...

3,844 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3284)
Viewed
View from Room (299)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (744)
Viewed
Room/Suite (440)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (271)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (91)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1311)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 85 in Honolulu
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
3,671 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 85 in Honolulu
999 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $422 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
82 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (82)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tower rooms provide a better view of the ocean.”
  • 5th floor Banyan suite
 of 5 bubbles briane598, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room in the Banyan wing was much more spacious than our initial room in the Diamond wing.”
 of 5 bubbles E1432KJemmam, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was small, and there are not many plugs in it.”
 of 5 bubbles ruthm572, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a view of the ocean as it's right there”
 of 5 bubbles bobsharon1967, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tower Rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles jdmckay, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5