We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,567: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived here for our honeymoon. It was raining out at the time, we had a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. The shuttle driver helped us out of the van and the bellman stood there and watched and never once asked to help us with our luggage. We then were stuck in a line for the front...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank K L
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. On behalf of everyone here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa we would like to congratulate you and your wife on your recent marriage. There are so many romantic qualities of the “First Lady of Waikiki” that make for a special honeymoon or anniversary and we are so honored...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our romantic wedding location and now a place we like to return to every other year. Good location and a classic Westin. Oceanview honeymooners room is amazing but the historic city side is very convenient. I loved the historic presentation, yoga class that comes with a same-day spa discount.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kristi O
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are honored you chose to have your wedding here at the “First Lady of Waikiki” and on behalf of the entire staff we would like to congratulate you! There are so many romantic qualities that make the Moana Surfrider a perfect honeymoon or anniversary destination. We are happy to hear you...

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here as my boyfriends brother was getting married in the hotel and it was such an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The bar was great and I recommend the Mai Tai! Most evenings before dinner we chilled out on the veranda and were served drinks with excellent service. The ceremony was held on the top floor and the balconies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie T
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant and memorable stay here at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” We love hearing about our guests unique “Moana memories” and it sounds like your family’s wedding was very special. There are so many romantic qualities of the Moana Surfrider,...

Beverly Hills, California
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We've stayed four times and have been in five different rooms. If you do not have status or do not pay for a better room, you probably won't like this hotel. The range of rooms seem to be between a Best Western (or other lower end hotel chain name) to a four star hotel. All of the low reviews about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave r
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. As you mentioned, we offer a variety of different guestrooms, ranging from historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing, to more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and Diamond Wing. While many of our guests prefer our intimately sized historical accommodations for they are charming and...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is just beautiful; especially the patios on the front and back....lovely place to have a coffee or enjoy a cocktail. The property is right on the beach unlike many others. This is the oldest hotel in Waikiki and much more beautiful and sophisticated, in my opinion, than the Royal Hawaiian. I would only stay at this hotel or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lidwina_11
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. “The First Lady of Waikiki” is steeped with charm and elegance and reminiscent of a simpler time. We offer an elegant Afternoon Tea service on the Veranda where guests can enjoy an extensive selection of teas and pastries while...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had admired this hotel on previous visits and on this occasion we decided to book it! I was so excited but unfortunately this hotel did not live up to my expectations. The staff are snotty and unhelpful and would rather assist those with the most expensive luggage first rather than show us the same courtesy. We even requested a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen1403
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent experience and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We offer a variety of guestrooms, ranging from historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing, to more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Well we normally stay at The Royal Hawaiian but there was mix up and we ended up here, now please note I have stayed regularly at the Halekulani, the Royal Hawaiian and Kahala(10 mins waikiki) in their suites. So when I write this review I am comparing it to the best hotels that this strip offers, there are things we...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank cavillino1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We try to convey a...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel in Waikiki . Built in 1901 it takes you back to Honolulu's more elegant past .fabulous building . It has been beautifully restored and maintained . We stayed in the old original wing with a room with a balcony overlooking Diamond Head . No street noise here .As advertised , the room is small...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rdmiller_pcj
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered while being our guest. We pride ourselves in providing a first class experience for each and every one of our guests and the concerns you mentioned are uncharacteristic of our...

Yokohama
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was my family’s favorite hotel in Waikiki and we have stayed 3 times. Unfortunately, it became the last time to stay. The reason we always stay here is… 1. Nice Hawaiian atmosphere 2. Beach front 3. Warm service That is why, we did not mind to pay more than what other hotels charge. The problem started from the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Hoppingtheworld
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear of your complaints and we sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered while being our guest. As you mentioned, guestrooms in our historic Banyan Wing are intimately sized and some cannot accommodate a rollaway bed. We are sorry to hear we were unable fulfill your requests and we sincerely apologize...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Step into history. This must be one of the oldest properties on the island still standing. Sitting on the veranda, one can imagine guests having breakfast as Pearl Harbour burned, as war was declared and later won. Like the Raffles in Singapore, it is beauty, style, and grace situated among the modern monstrosities surrounding it. Yes, the hotel is bullseye...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EDS71
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. The Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and subsequently rich in history. We continue to convey a sense of old-world charm coupled with modern amenities to create an unparalleled experience. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with our porte cochere rocking chairs...

3,840 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3280)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (742)
Viewed
Room/Suite (440)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (271)
Viewed
View from Room (297)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (91)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1311)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 85 in Honolulu
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
3,653 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 85 in Honolulu
997 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $423 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
82 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (82)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was small, and there are not many plugs in it.”
 of 5 bubbles ruthm572, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a view of the ocean as it's right there”
 of 5 bubbles bobsharon1967, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tower Rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles jdmckay, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I like to face the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 425teriv, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the internal courtyard and did not have a noise issue with the Beach Bar.”
 of 5 bubbles CooperandCo331, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5