We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Expedia.comUS$295*
View Deal
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,984 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,745: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Three night stay and within three hours I was regretting decision to stay here and wanted to leave. Have not stayed elsewhere in Waikiki beach, so Moana may be nicer than others here but I wanted to share these observations because I certainly was negatively surprised. The hotel is in a very noisy spot, so for anyone sensitive to that,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaS
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. As a Westin, our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests. We do apologize that this was not the case during your visit. We value our guests’ feedback as this allows us the opportunity to improve on our amenities and services. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to...

El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewed 14 March 2014

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with the Aloha spirit. We’ve always stayed in the historic wing of the hotel. The rooms may be small but are nicely appointed and comfortable. The wooden rocking chairs on the front/back porch are inviting and a great place to relax and enjoy the Hawaiian atmosphere, while having coffee or your favorite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dandie88
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Dandie, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the Moana, we take great pride in preserving the timeless beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing, so it is nice to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations. We hope that your experiences lounging on...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After staying at this propery in 2011, we again decided to book here in 2013. We stayed here twice in a three week period, the first time in the Tower wings with an ocean view. This was a nice room but you can hear the ocean the same way you would in the diamond wing. The second part of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAT2410
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Kat, It is so nice to have welcomed you back for another enjoyable stay at the Moana. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations in the Tower Wing and Diamond Wing, with equally stunning views of Waikiki Beach from both of the guestrooms. When planning your next visit to Honolulu, please consider staying with...

Cairns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We arrived early on a public holiday and the hotel was full so no rooms. We should have preregistered but didnt know it was an american holiday. After flying all night and not sleeping for two days was not good and then no rooms till the afternoon. That was our fault, I offered to pay for a room and she...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diane P
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Diane, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced with your room accommodations during your stay. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, our associates take great pride in providing service with aloha, so it is disappointing to hear that we were unable to exceed your expectations. On a...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 13 March 2014

VERY contemporary and classically Hawaiian at the same time! Friendly, accommodating staff ... exceptionally clean rooms and public areas ... fantastic food (pricey!) ... attention to detail at every aspect! I've stayed at MANY resorts and hotels in Waikiki, and must admit that the Moana Surfrider tops my list! The guestrooms and large and clean, freshly appointed furnishings. The entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WChadwick
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Chadwick, Mahalo for your kind comments. We are delighted to be your “home away from home” on your visits to Honolulu. At the Moana, we take great pride in upholding the timeless beauty and historical ambiance of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” while also keeping her classic features current for our guests, so it is great to hear that...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Surfrider and our upgraded ocean view room was clean and comfortable. The restaurants and beach/pool area were great and the tour staff and concierge desk very pleasant and helpful. It rained most days during our visit so we spent more time than expected at and around the hotel indoors. The one day with good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman413
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and views of Waikiki Beach from your guestroom, as well as the service provided by our associates. We would love to be able to bring out the sun every day of the year – after all, sunny afternoons spent lounging on...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We are never disappointed at the Moana. For us, it has all we need. Its fabulous and extremely caring staff do so much to make our two weeks in 'paradise' perfect. And after 16 consecutive stays there, we consider the property our home away from home. Steps from the ocean, city excitement or seaside serenity, multiple dining options, elegance and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darleen57
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Darleen, Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Moana. It is so nice to hear that we are your “home away from home” when visiting Honolulu and it is such a pleasure to welcome members of our ohana, which means family in Hawaiian, back to the Moana time...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If your paying for class beware of this hotel. After staying here it became more obvious in something we all should know, appearance isn't everything. Rude staff, incompetent managers that don't even call back. Forget the voice mail that says with in thirty minutes you'll receive a call. Stayed in the tower ocean suite on 16th floor at 1300$ a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Onedissapointedguy
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. At the Moana, our associates are trained to provide exceptional service with aloha, so it is disappointing to hear that this was not the case for you. In regards to the fire alarm, we apologize for any...

New Zealand
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Quiet, clean, excellent breakfast and service, The tour &activities people were great, We had a wonderful trip to Maui, thanks Marsha.you deserve a medal. We stayed 8 nights at the Moana and probably didn't take advantage of all this hotel has to offer.Such a convenient location. They (staff)all do amazing job considering the number of people that seem to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smalloscar
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that our associates were able to assist you in planning the perfect vacation in Hawaii. Your kind words about Marsha will definitely be shared with her supervisor and our management team. On your next visit, we highly recommend a rejuvenating spa treatment from...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed the evening of Feb 27, first time at the hotel and very impressed! Historic, colonial-style hotel with the best of modern conveniences. The highlights: 1) the hotel is right on the sand - many other hotels are across the street or a block or two off the beach, but you can walk from your room straight out to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whiskeylad
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The “highlights” you mentioned are some of the Moana’s most sought-after features – we are glad that you were able to enjoy refreshing cocktails at the Beach Bar and restorative sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed. We definitely wish...

4,008 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3446)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (789)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
View from Room (315)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (453)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1366)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,844 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $445 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
91 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (91)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A little noisy on the street side, but great for listening to the night life. Although the trash trucks in the morning are a bit loud.”
D4559UCjudym, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms offer an amazing view.”
Fuji1956, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the dumpster pick up area -- early morning noise.”
203jaynes, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Beach club access. SPG shuttle from HNL is convenient and exclusive to the 4 SPG properties on Waikiki.”
yucanuck, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“upgrade for an ocean view”
judithl117, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$295* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$295
PricelineUS$295
Orbitz.comUS$295
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates