We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,676: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed there during the busy weekend of the Marathon and was very impressed to say the least! The location is very central, the staff was very busy but friendly and the property itself is historic and stunning. This was one of the nicest Westin's I've stayed at given its unique personality. There were only 2 downsides to this property: 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FaizalVancouver
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our Westin resort. We try to incorporate the rich history and the Hawaiian culture into our Westin brand which many of our guests find "unique" about our Westin property. We do apologize for your concern in regards to our Beach umbrellas, I have forwarded your comment to...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After being disappointed at other brand-name Waikiki hotels, the Westin was lovely - just what you would expect a Westin to be. The hotel was well located, clean, had nice amenities, a good work-out room and nice water views. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant (Bar 19) was very good. If there was a downside, the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ESMSP
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear you had enjoyed our amenities, location and accommodations. We have been receiving raving reviews from our guests about our newly renovated Westin WorkOut facility so am delighted to hear you had a chance to experience the facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana for...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our third visit to the Moana and again it didn't disappoint. Check-in staff were very welcoming and when we requested the same room we had on previous visits they were very accommodating.Breakfast on the verandah was first class with very friendly waiting staff. Our room in the historic Banyan Wing was very comfortable and kept very clean by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha James, Mahalo for your sharing your experience with us. Your review has been forwarded to our management team to recognize the individuals mentioned for their outstanding performance. Our associates are filled with the Aloha Spirit and will go out of their way to ensure our guests are well-taken care of. Please let us know if we can do anything...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay here. From the check in, food and beverages to the Spa, evverything has been wonderful. I would like to say that Tomoko at thee Spa is amazing. This lady really knows how to give a fabulous massage and she generally cares about your well beening. I had two massages in two days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Topbabe
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind review. Tomoko is one of our star associates so am glad to hear your acknowledgement of her. We will forward your review to the Spa Director so he may recognize her for her excellent customer service. Our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa allows our guests to rejuvenate their mind, body and spirit through tailored massages...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After researching many hotels in the Waikiki area my girlfriend and I decided on the Moana Surfrider...what a great choice! We stayed on the 17th floor in the Tower facing Diamond Head...there is nothing like waking up and going to bed with a terrific view of the ocean and Diamond Head...the room was clean and bed was comfy...the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mays H
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay at the "First Lady of Waikiki" to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed our gifts to help celebrate both your anniversary and your girlfriend's birthday. We always try to surprise and delight our guests. We hope you both have created Moana Memories of your visit with us and...

Balboa Island, California
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went just before sunset to sit under the Banyan tree and listen to the Hawaiian music and watch the hula dancer. The mai tais did not seem to be as good as at the Halekulani. It seemed a bit more crowded than the Halekulani and, overall I would rate the experience at the Moana Surfrider not quite up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler422
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We do apologize for the delay in retrieving your vehicle. We do ask our guests to allow 20-30 minutes when using our valet since the parking garage is located across the street. During this time, guests tend to enjoy our rocking chairs fronting the hotel. Its allows you to enjoy a lazy afternoon watching Waikiki...

LOS ANGELES
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our second visit to the Moana Westin. Love the place. If you like the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, this location is perfect. Make sure to get a room facing the ocean and Diamond Head on one of the upper floors in the tower. It is not cheap. $400 per night minimum. About 70% of the guests are newlywed Japanese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ORLANDOMORGAN
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had experienced the true meaning behind our credo "First Lady, First Class." From our service, amenities and accommodations, we strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider for your third visit. Mahalo!

new york, ny
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights to kick of our two week Hawaiian honeymoon. It was the perfect spot. High end and top notch. The room was a little small (we were in the main historical part of the hotel, not the new annex) but provided all the comforts we needed. Make sure to take in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elenamechlin
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for choosing to stay at the "First Lady of Waikiki." We feel so honored to be a part of a such a joyous celebration like your honeymoon! The 6th floor of the Banyan Wing is a true gem that guests can utilize that offers two lanai's(balconies) overlooking Waikiki Beach. It's perfect for enjoying the sunset. We hope to...

Province of Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Excellent location in Waikiki. We didn't try the breakfast or the restaurant, you have hundred of cheaper options around the hotel. The room was really small but clean which for us is the important thing, although I must confess that I still don't understand why beach hotels still have carpet on the floor, hello?? Sand + humidity not the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. It appears that you may have stayed in our historic Banyan guestrooms which are intimately sized and is most representative of 1901. If you are interested in a larger guestroom, we highly recommend our Tower Wing guestrooms. These spacious guestrooms offer a larger layout and modernized amenities. Please let us know if we can be...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Yes some things re as they should be and that is the Moana. All around Hawaii gas turned into one large shopping mall but enter the Moana and one goes back in time the relaxed balmy breezes with soft Ukelele tones drifting over the Pacific. Saved my holiday and wished I had listened to my insider Hawaiian colleague who told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Attymassers
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed stepping back into yesteryear with the Moana Surfrider. With a rich history dating back to 1901, the "First Lady of Waikiki" merges both modernized amenities with the Hawaii of Old. We appreciate your review and hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to...

3,964 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3404)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (775)
Viewed
View from Room (312)
Viewed
Room/Suite (452)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1352)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,784 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $436 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We LOVED the ocean view room!”
Sulleysgirl58, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it, pay for an ocean view.”
traveler222Irvine, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View Suite!”
HarryAlanV, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the original building. The extensions are nothing like the old charm over looking and listening to the surf with the windows opened.”
217joshb, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Diamond wing is old”
foxak, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5