We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,436: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Pros: right in the center of Waikiki Great access to beach Beautiful Resort Hotel has Victorian style Decent restaurant You don't need a car Close proximity to shopping and nightlife High-chairs available for babies Cons Rather expensive (this probably kept my rating from 5 star) No microwave No dvd player If you want to see the famous Waikiki beach, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WillK531
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the historical qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki where our guests can easily walk to nearly everything Waikiki has to offer. Kalakaua Avenue has world...

Waco, Texas
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Beautiful old hotel right on Waikiki Beach. Our room was in the original hotel, and we loved it. Nice ocean view, roomy, nice linens. We really liked the Beach Bar under the Banyan tree. Great drinks, snacks, music, people watching.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley L
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a guest of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your ocean view guestroom in our historic Banyan Wing. Rooms in our Banyan Wing are so charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. Being the first hotel built in Waikiki, we try to...

Modesto
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Was a perfect place to stay. From the check-in to check-out, our stay was the best ever. This hotel offers refreshing drinks in the lobby for guests. A nice touch. Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. Our oceanview room with lanai was beautiful. Beds were heavenly. Bathroom was spotless and very large. Spa was wonderful and relaxing but water was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mims66
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely time here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” and that your “stay was the best ever.” Ocean view guestrooms are so relaxing where guests can gaze out into the expansive blue waters of Waikiki. Truly breathtaking! We are happy to hear...

Palm Springs, CA
Reviewed 17 May 2013

For a long time I've dreamed about staying at the legendary Moana Surfrider. As non-guests we've always stopped by and cocktailed under the famed Banyan tree, walked the inviting lobby and verandah and enjoyed people-watching from front porch rocking chairs. Two weeks ago we finally broke open the piggy bank and decided to cough up the over $450/nt rate for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank skitramp
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter break for our honeymoon, this isn't usually the type of hotel we would usually go for, but we pushed the boat out. The hotel front and lobby are very well presented, with easy access to Waikiki beach through the beach bar. The hotel was clean and we had a great view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank splodge1987
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and we are honored you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. The romantic qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki” make for a perfect honeymoon or anniversary. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean view guest room offering expansive views of Waikiki Beach. The Moana’s own Moana...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Surfrider for a week and on Friday, they closed the pool for a "photoshoot" from noon until 3pm. The photoshoot never happened!!! Amazing lack of service as we asked the manager of the hotel to call us and they never returned our call. It was our last day of sun in Hawaii and left us with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Steve S
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear of the concerns you’ve mentioned and we apologize for any inconveniences encountered while our guest. The elegant and romantic qualities of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa attract many wedding parties who use our venue for picture taking and ceremonies....

Reviewed 13 May 2013

On May 9th, 2013, my fiancé and I were registered guests at this hotel. We were sunbathing in front of the hotel and decided to jump in the ocean to cool off. We asked Hays, an employee, if we could leave our bag under a tree while we went a few feet away to the ocean. She did not tell...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank anonymousbeing
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your posting. It is to our understanding that our Director of Security has personally contacted you to further discuss the incident that took place. The safety and welfare of our guests, visitors and associates is a top priority and the actions taken that day were in compliance with the laws enforced by the City and County...

Inuvik, Canada
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on SPG points for 4 nights in early May. We arrived very early (630am) and were offered one of their staging rooms to shower and rest up at no charge which was a nice surprise. We unfortunately weren't able to check in until well after 3 because of a platinum member not checking out. The conceirge was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexBradley02
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear you were not able to check into your room until after 3 however we are glad you were able to use our Hospitality Room in the meantime. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your historic...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We live on O'ahu, but were feeling inclined to play "tourist" for a weekend. We researched what seemed like dozens of hotels. We had walked past this one many times over the past two years and always admired it from the outside. So, we decided to spend one night here. The staff was extremely friendly and it was clear they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shane K
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful “stay-cation” here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our staff is extensively trained in customer service and happy to assist our guests with whatever they may need. Our company credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for two nights in April on our way to Tahiti/Bora Bora. We had stayed at this hotel once before and really enjoyed our stay. We used Starwood Points and are Gold Preferred Members. We were first given room 235 in the Banyan Wing and told that this room was two upgrades above the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TahitiZ
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for being a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your first guest room and we are pleased to hear that availability allowed us to grant you a room change. Rooms in our Banyan Wing are intimately...

3,698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (714)
Viewed
Room/Suite (428)
Viewed
Dining (115)
Viewed
View from Room (293)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1225)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,517 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
2,352 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $430 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Diamond wing for full ocean views.”
 of 5 bubbles Chopper255, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on an upper floor, with an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles jkerm, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 11th floor facing the ocean and it was fantastic. AC worked, TV worked, nice bathroom, everything was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Athenasmommy, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1465 partial view of the ocean, however can be loud due to the Duke restaurant live bands every night. We like music so did not mind”
 of 5 bubbles ssengthavy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay