We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (488)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (400)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount Offer
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#60 of 92 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Doubletree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach is a newly renovated chic boutique hotel located at the entrance to Waikiki in Honolulu, HI. The hotel is within a short walk of the beach, shopping and dining and one of the closest hotels to Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. After a multi-million dollar redesign rooms now feature the Sweet Dreams by Doubletree sleep experience, bathrooms offering walk-in glass showers with oversized "rain" showerheads, large state-of-the-art high definition flat screen televisions with side panels for easy laptop connectivity, comfortable ergonomic workstations for our business travelers, and multiple outlets for electronic devices. Both wired and wireless high speed internet is available in all rooms for a charge and complimentary wireless high speed internet is available in the lobby area. During your stay you can also enjoy complimentary in-room coffee makers with coffee service, complimentary safe and movies on demand. Bedding offered is either one king bed or two queen-sized beds and all rooms have a lanai (balcony) and either city/mountain or ocean views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount Offer
2,154Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 751
  • 695
  • 424
  • 168
  • 116
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mark h wrote a review Mar 2024
Irvine, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel manager extremely unprofessional and dishonest. I had a valid reservation via Expedia and since they were oversold they would not honor it. However, I went to hilton.com and they had availability. Lied right to my face. Manager should be fired. I will never stay at a Hilton branded hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....management will lie right to your face
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mark, We're distressed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with your reservation and for any disappointment with how this was handled. We always aim to honor all reservations and aim to deliver respectful and forthright hospitality when speaking with guests. We'll look into your comments further, and we'd appreciate the chance to provide you with a more positive visit. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us offline so that we can assist you. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WI Weezie wrote a review Nov 2023
Madison, Wisconsin217 contributions57 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I preface this review with the fact that I’m an HHonors Lifetime Diamond and a college hospitality management instructor, so I have very high expectations, especially for Hilton properties. Strengths: *Front Desk Staff was always very friendly. Henry was especially accommodating both with picking our room AND finding us a new one on the 2nd day (see opportunities below.) *Rosalinda was our housekeeper for 4 days. A very sweet lady who was so helpful. We don’t need or want full housekeeping when we travel but she always grabbed the trash and refreshed whatever we needed. *Rondel from maintenance was a rock star. I met him in the elevator and mentioned our fridge wasn’t working. Without having to call in a formal maintenance request, he showed up at our door with a new fridge. Another day, there was a leak in the back of the toilet. Rondel showed up and quickly fixed it. *Our dinner for that evening was in the fridge when it went out, but TinaMarie, front desk manager, made it right by crediting the food + off our bill. *All of the Bellmen were super cool and helpful with answers about where to eat, etc. The whole team was especially helpful though the texting tool on the Hilton App. Another super fun feature was the FREE coconut leaf hat making class in the lobby on Tuesday! (See pic) Areas of opportunity: *Two beds are normally our preference for longer stays and all of the upgrades were to king beds. The first night, we stayed with the 2 bed option and that was a mistake. The bathroom was sooooo small, it was almost unusable. The shower was very small (maybe 4’ x 4’) and up a stair. The toilet was so close to the wall that your leg blocked you from reaching the TP AND the sink was a pedestal so nowhere to put your stuff. Henry, mentioned above, hooked us up with a much better room, even though only 1 bed for the other 4 nights. *The other challenge is the food & beverage credit which is technically my ongoing complaint with the Hilton corporation, rather than this particular hotel. Several years ago, they took away the FREE breakfast and instituted a food & beverage “credit.” At some properties, this credit covers breakfast; at others it does not! This property was especially disappointing in this regard. The very average breakfast buffet (scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, several breads, a few fruits, hot and cold cereal was $29.95 AND that was the only breakfast option on which to use our $18 credit. NOBODY on the planet needs a $30 breakfast (unless Jon BonJovi is serving it!) We found more value in spending it on the dinner menu. One day when we couldn’t get to the restaurant during dinner, I had to grab 10 bags of M&Ms from the pantry store. If I was the GM, I would institute a cold-buffet option for 1/2 the price. $15.45 + tip = $18!! NORMALLY, I would automatically ding the property 1 star for the lack of FREE breakfast, but honestly, I can’t this time because the people were all so amazing!! Mahalo!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid 2 bed standard room Don’t pay for an ocean view - there isn’t one. They were nice about...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Nov 30, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. As a Hilton Honors Diamond Member and hospitality management instructor, your kind words regarding the exceptional service provided by our team are greatly appreciated. It's encouraging to hear you had positive experiences with room changes, housekeeping, and prompt maintenance. We also appreciate your constructive feedback on the room size and breakfast credit system. Despite the issues you mentioned, we're glad our overall service quality met your expectations. Your insights are valuable to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff W wrote a review Mar 2024
Eden, New York51 contributions14 helpful votes
Nice place to stay Upgraded my room upon arrival and had a very nice view of the beach and park across the street. Trees restaurant was a bit pricey and wanted $30 for a buffet breakfast that was really not worth the money. Good bell staff and desk staff. Pool is quiet and does get full sun until about 3 then starts to get shaded but a nice quiet place to relax and unwind.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jeff, It was wonderful to host you at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach during your recent getaway. We are delighted to hear that our convenient location, friendly staff, and upgraded rooms were highlights of your stay. Your feedback about the restaurant is much appreciated and we will be sure to share your opinion with them. We hope to have the privilege to have you as a guest again in the future! Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Antonia B wrote a review Mar 2024
Seattle, Washington4 contributions2 helpful votes
I wanted to acknowledge the Valet Parking staff at the hotel. This staff greets you with smiles, information and kindness. As the first folks you meet when arriving, they embody the Aloha spirit. The entire staff at this hotel - valet parking, check in, housekeeping - offered kind words, exceptional customer service and genuine kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Antonia, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit. Our team is committed to providing high-quality guest service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. You can be sure we'll pass your compliments along. It was truly a pleasure having you here, and we hope you return soon! Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
beglisc wrote a review Jan 2024
Seattle, Washington218 contributions107 helpful votes
TLDR: Stay elsewhere. So, I would have started by saying that this Doubletree would be a generally acceptable hotel in places like Boise or Charlotte--it's generally clean with comfortable beds, etc. But things really weren't great, and by any standards fell short in the end. To start, we had read that our reservation made by Hilton Grand Vacations wouldn't honor our Diamond Status. This was disappointing. It felt, however, a bit like we were being punished for this--we were assigned a small room on the bottom floor that never saw the sun. We had specifically requested a King sized bed, and instead were given two Queens. The front desk could only be described as curt--not welcoming, not sorry about the room, didn't care. Perhaps she anticipated our displeasure and acted accordingly. I should clarify that housekeeping staff always greeted us with a smile, as did the valet staff. The room was, as I said, small, with low ceilings, full of two queen-sized beds. There was a patio that was plainly furnished with two chairs and nothing else. The shower was oddly one step up in the tiny bathroom. Sigh. We were resigned. It's important to know that this hotel is at the end of Waikiki's main street--at the sort of slightly seedy end. Think prostitutes at the 7-11 kind of seedy, but it never seemed unsafe, even at night. Being removed from the more fashionable neighborhood did mean that there were more interesting and more affordable restaurants: there was truly excellent sushi directly behind the hotel, as well as two very good breakfast cafes (prepare to wait, but worth it) and an irish pub with live music. There is a food truck park at the end of the street, with a very lively setting and good selection of food options. The hotel itself doesn't offer much charm. There's an openair lobby on above the street level--you might never visit it again after checking in. There's no bar, no garden to sit in--the pool is on the mezzanine. The restaurant has limited hours. And here's the clincher. On our 4th morning, we started seeing cockroaches wandering through our room. Humungous tropical beasts of an insect. We notified the desk. They were largely unconcerned, but I hoped they might spray. Apparently not. The next night, the invasion intensified, and after the 4th roach crawled across the floor in the space of a few minutes, I demanded a room change. Again, not much interest, and no apology, but we were moved to a higher floor--with the king bed that we had originally requested. But still no view of anything other than another building. So cockroaches are the final straw. Stay elsewhere. Find a charming Hawaiian hotel with a cool bar, an interesting atmosphere and NO cockroaches.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Jan 21, 2024
We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at our property. We know how important clean accommodations and attentive service are to an amazing experience, so it's unfortunate to hear about the experience you described. Rest assured, all of your comments will be discussed with the appropriate teams and used to make improvements where necessary. Please consider giving us another chance in the future; we're confident we can deliver an incredible stay. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MargeMaven wrote a review Jan 2024
virgina4 contributions5 helpful votes
My title says it all. You probably will not see Paris Hilton vacationing here. It is an older hotel, rooms are updated, painted nicely, clean sheets, and bathroom and shower clean. My shampoo, conditioner etc. dispensers were filled. Staff great service. Breakfast yes it 30 dollars but I spent 20 dollars at 7 eleven (open 24 hours, 4 min walk and we tried some different Hawaiian food) Remember, this is Hawaii $$$$ so adjust your thinking, not a “Five star world class hotel”. If you want to get a good night sleep from a long airplane ride go here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Walking distance to 7 eleven open 24 hours. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants and to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Jan 11, 2024
Dear Marge, It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We're glad our clean, quiet accommodations impressed you and that you felt safe and welcoming while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy C wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Great location and amazing staff is worth the price and also great location , the pool is nice before night and the snacks amazing, great location too . The rooms are large with a particularly view of the ocean!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Nice quiet pool and terro
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Dear Andy, It was our pleasure to provide you with convenient, affordable accommodations. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and snacks. Our friendly staff will also be glad you felt welcome while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach! Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gregg P wrote a review Dec 2023
San Diego, California6 contributions
The staff were very friendly but everything else was average at best. Room was a bit dated. Mildew smell in the hallway. Tiny balcony that barely accommodated two chairs. On a very busy and noisy street. It’s not too far from the beach at the Hilton Hawaiian Village but it is about a 20-minute walk to get to the main Waikiki Beach area. Not a lot of dining options within a 5-minute walk. If you are looking to be close to the beach without paying beachfront prices you can do better if you stay several blocks southeast of this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Dec 10, 2023
There's no doubt that you can always expect remarkable service anytime you visit here and our team will be thrilled to be recognized for their hard work. However, it is our mission to ensure that our accommodations are a reflection of our high standards. You can be sure that your feedback will be addressed, and we welcome another chance to impress you in the future. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul H wrote a review Dec 2023
16 contributions5 helpful votes
So - I'll start by saying that I'm one of those people who thoroughly read through online reviews before deciding on which hotel to book. While I'm partial to the Hilton brand, I still do significant research beforehand. After reading a handful of negative reviews regarding the DoubleTree in Waikiki, I gotta admit, I was a bit nervous going in. Nonetheless, I still decided on this property for a one-night stay, and I gotta tell you - I disagree with all the negativity. I had an absolutely wonderful stay! Checking in was extremely quick and efficient, my room was lovely, clean and spacious (with fantastic views!), and while my interactions with staff were few, they were always extremely friendly and accommodating. Location is in the heart of an extremely substantial amount of shops, restaurants and nightlife. Perhaps I'm easy to please, or that I really kept things simple for this stay, but nonetheless, I would most definitely stay here again, I had such a positive experience. No complaints whatsoever. Only a tremendous amount of gratitude. Thank you, DoubleTree!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Dec 8, 2023
What a wonderful review to receive. It's so good to hear you enjoyed so much about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach, especially our dedication to cleanliness, prime location, and all the comfort and amenities we provide our valued guests. We appreciate you giving us a chance to impress you, and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another five-star stay. Thank you. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Su Lee wrote a review Nov 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
My family stayed here from November 10th to November 13th 2023. We had such a wonderful stay. The location was very convenient, easy access for both beach and Wakiki. From the moment we arrived and until we left, we were impressed by the entire hotel staff. I believe this exceptional service also reflects from the management. We definitely recommend this hotel for my family and friends, also we will be back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Responded Nov 27, 2023
Thank you for being our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach and for sharing your lovely review. It was a delight to welcome you and your family, and we appreciate you highlighting our amazing staff. They will all be delighted to know they helped make your stay so memorable. Your lovely recommendation means the world to us, and we are delighted to know you'll be joining us again someday. Shaun Ono, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
C$352 - C$455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
317
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Honolulu Cookie Company (0.4 km), Waikiki Starlight Luau (0.5 km), and Ala Wai Canal (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Tribe, goofy cafe & dine, and Aloha Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (3.5 km), Shangri La (5.1 km), and US Army Museum of Hawaii (0.7 km).
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.