We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thavonsouk Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Thavonsouk Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite disappointed in this accommodation. Good location, but that's about the only positive. No hot water to shower in the evening, and no water at all the following morning. Breakfast buffet average. Staff rude and our room was quite dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheFeverette
Toronto,Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a riverview room for 3 nights. Lovely scenery and lots of activity as this is where the kayaks end up after the river trip. Staff was helpful with trip booking. Room was cleaned daily and stocked with waters. Gravel trucks cross the river in front of the hotel and this begins about 4am. Internet is not consistent at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosmodog
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was excellent and gardens are beautiful. We stayed in a riverside suite with an amazing outlook, unfortunately that was the highlight. Check in on line was ok however the staff were a little confused that I wanted to book 2 rooms not just one. The room even though large and spacious smelt of mould with mould spores on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikey071
Samut Prakan Province, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed for 2 nights at Thavonsouk Resort. It's beautiful place and good view. You can see Song river and mountain or all natural at the hotel. Breakfast is good but not the best. But generally we impress for place, view and all staff. If I have plan to go there again I will stay at Thavonsouk again too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nougatknutz
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We enjoyed four lovely days at the Thavansouk Resort. We had a river view room. The outlook was superb. That, and a very nice breakfast, was all that mattered. Communication with staff was so so but the room was kept clean and everything, including wifi, worked. Happy memories.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwipeters_10
Milano
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

When you book and a bit later you send a message to ask for a double and the day before your arrival (so 24+ hours later from that message and while you are already on your way) you receive such a message "You were unable to book a double room at our hotel because we have sold all of them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greta1972
THAVONSOUKResort, Manager at Thavonsouk Resort, responded to this review

The guest booked a twin room which they were allocated and obviously charged for. Having booked a two bedded room they then in the guest question section request a double bedded room. I assumed they booked the twin as we had no double rooms available. I advised them that we would try to accommodate their request should we have a...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great terrace with fantastic view (if you take river view room). The rest was very dissapointing. Staff is one of the worst we have ever met, not helpful, unfriendly, ignorant. Breakfast is bad, too. We had spider nets with caught flies all over the room. Also bathroom was dirty at the time of check in and staff had problem cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rok K
THAVONSOUKResort, Front Office Manager at Thavonsouk Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your email. May we have your room number that you stayed in please. This information will help us track on the responsibilities of the reception staff as well as the mates; cleaning up the room. Also, we would like to make sure that you stayed with our THAVONSOUK Resort and not at other hotels with...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We were so disappointed with the place. We stayed here because a friend recommended it. None of us had seen the place before yet we booked it coz it looked nice from the photos. It was a BIG fat lie. The place is OLD. Entrance was not looking nice at all. It looked like a construction site. Hotel staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AbsolutPurple
THORNTON
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stunning location, absolutely stunning. Room was not the best and the bed was a little uncomfortable. But the location made up for it. Breakfast was a little basic and the restaurant did not appear to open for lunch or dinner. But then again there are an awful lot of eating places within walking distance, so not a problem. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hendo510
New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The location is second to none, but this only goes part way to compensate to the 2* service and breakfast. Staff try but poor service apears to come from the top down. So much potential with the location. Rooms older style but fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richardnz

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 km away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 19 in Vang Vieng
171 reviews
1.7 km away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 19 in Vang Vieng
411 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#14 of 19 in Vang Vieng
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 19 in Vang Vieng
156 reviews
0.5 km away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 19 in Vang Vieng
328 reviews
0.4 km away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Vang Vieng
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resort in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Hotels is located on the riverside with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff) Mountain, green forest and Stunning sunsets. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 3 hours drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself or with an tour / activity company which we can arrange. We offer a free shuttle service from the bus station and can arrange airport transfers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Resort

Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos (Formerly Thavonsouk Bungalow)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Price Range: $53 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavonsouk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Thavonsouk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thavonsouk Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
kuala lumpur,malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Thavonsouk Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles cosmodog, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a riverside suite for the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Mikey071, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room or apartment closer to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Hendo510, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“View from riverside roo s great”
 of 5 bubbles Richardnz, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“villa room”
 of 5 bubbles sharnr2015, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay