We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weligama Bay Resort

1.7 km from Weligama centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 230: English reviews
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First impression was Ok, big room in a villa near the beach, Nice pool , friendly staff, good location to explore the surroundings. But a few Things could improve! Bathrooms need to be refreshed, breakfast was Not Great, price/quality was Not right... And Not their fault, But marriot is building a huge hotel just nextdoor!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederic421
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 6 days in this "Hotel" that has indeed a very nice beach and nice area close to shops and restaurants but there it ends! This hotel needs urgent attention to details like breakfast who is a real disaster... first day we had a BBQ there but the food was cold , not fresh and not tasty at all!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geert C
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

After so many bad experiences (in other hotels) during the tripp on SriLanka, we stayed at this fab boutique hotel for "the happy end". It was big relief for us to be in soooo clean and nicely, cute and extra big room (we booked deluxe suite with see view). Even when we "complained" about mosquitoes, they bring us mosquito net....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nataša K
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, situated on the nicest beach we visited in Sri Lanka. The staff were extremely helpful, responsive and attentive. The hotel was let down a touch by quite bland food served in the Cutty Sark restaurant on site. The breakfasts were good, but the rest of the menu was quite uninspired and expensive for what you got (that hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been 10 days in the hotel and had a wonderful time!!! The service, the food, the rooms was excellent!! The staff were kind and helpful especially Martin... The hotel is on the point ... So it was perfect for us... For sure we will come again... Thank you weligama bay resort for giving us the most wonderful time🙏🏻🙏🏻...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 967maayank
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst hotel ever. Bad rooms, bad food, lousy breakfast. Everything is over over over priced. I would give less than 3 stars. We booked it for 5 days , but wanted to leave after the 1 day but they refused to give a refund. So we were forced to stay there. I do not understand all this good reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bandu M
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bandu M., Greetings from Weligama Bay Resort. Thank you for your review however we are a bit surprised from your words. You booked two superior rooms via travel agent. When you arrived to our hotel from round trip, you asked for free of charge upgrade into higher room category. We explained to you that unfortunately we couldn´t do this...

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was excellent at this luxurious resort. Our "family suite" had two large rooms, each with king beds, separated by a curtain. The staff, including guest relations manager, Martin, the pool "boys", and restaurant waitstaff were all friendly and responsive. The place is small, only a couple dozen rooms, so it was never difficult to get a beach chair or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear John S. Thank you for choosing Weligama Bay Resort for your stay as well as for taking time to write your review. We take every comment seriously and we are very proud to get so good rating from a such experienced traveler as you, obviously, are. We will share your kind words with our staff. And yes, we are...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very pleasant hotel to stay in. Rooms were large with large balcony and a beautiful view of the sea. The bathroom was as big as a room. The housekeeping staff is very proficient and the room would be cleaned every morning while we were at breakfast. The guest relationship manager Martin was really helpful and always available for any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chinki_95
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are around 30years and plus and if you know what you like, this is the place. Rooms / villas, food and service, the location....everything is how it should be. Restaurant is cozy and stylish. Its not crowded and every Wednesday and Sunday is delicious barbecue. If I compare it with other western/local restaurant its the best one and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomas M
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If/when the Marriott under construction next door is completed, this hotel will lose its attraction. Right now it is a pleasant place to stay. It is on a lovely stretch of beach with gentle waves filled with beginning surfers. Once you get past where the waves break, it is fine for swimming. Unfortunately, I was bitten by sand fleas (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlmatyDiver
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear AlmatyDiver Thank you for choosing Weligama Bay Resort for your stay as well as for your review. Our hotel is situated in a lovely Weligama bay and yes there is finishing a new Marriott hotel which is unfortunately visible from each point of the bay. The situation may be changed in the whole bay when they open. But we...

456 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Family Suite (70)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
3.7 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
328 reviews
0.2 km away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
192 reviews
2.6 km away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
We Escape
We Escape
#7 of 12 in Weligama
27 reviews
0.8 km away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
104 reviews
0.2 km away
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: $135 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Paris, France
1 month ago
4 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Rickdees23, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All good with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles M3556SWjasonp, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden villas are large and very luxurious”
  • Garden villa - exterior
  • Restaurant, pool and sea wiew
  • Garden villa - interior
 of 5 bubbles filips355, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“be careful staff will ripped off you - push them to pay by the credit card”
 of 5 bubbles HARSHA_PERERA, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The sea-side cottages--though expensive-- certainly provide better ambeince and view!”
 of 5 bubbles Sundararajan51, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5