We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Close by the lake and town and an easy short walk to both this is a convenient campground, also a short drive to the start of the Mount Roy hike. Facilities are as you would expect, clean and adequate. Good WiFi. Reasonable value. Not much more to say about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are a family of 4. We stayed 2 nights in a cabin. We found the cabin quite roomy. The bed wasn't the most comfortable as it had very hard ribbing around the perimeter of the mattress and you could feel the electric blanket as well. Other than that the room was clean and serviceable. The only downfall was for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azornator
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were really happy with this campsite and would definitely recommend it. The new facilities were very nice - the kitchen was huge/bathrooms were big as well. The locations close to the lake and walking distance to downtown, wifi extra, quiet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, thank you for reviewing Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park. Great to hear you enjoyed staying with us.

washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe we were lucky in that we chose a bunch of great campgrounds, but this was probably the worst we stayed in while spending 3 weeks in NZ. With that said, it's still a very decent place to stay. There was nothing really great about this place. The communal kitchen was just blah. Too small, too crowded, sorta dirty from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowseekerWA
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi SnowseekerWA, thank you for your review. It's unfortunate you didn't know about our other (new) facilities block. This has a large dining and lounge area and it might have been a good place for you to hang out.

Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 nights stay here as the location was right in the centre of Wanaka. The sites are very large and spacious and we could fit multiple tents plus our car. There was a brand new kitchen block which was ok, but considering this was a new block it really needed more places to charge electronics.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samevea2017
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Samevea2017, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And thanks for the feedback about the charging points; we've already added quite a few USB points in the new building but we will put some more solar powered chargers on our wish list for next year.

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for 1 night in march 2017 next to the new facilities. Everything clean, there is coming a cleaning team. Only problem, the water from the showers cannot leave as fast as the come out of the tap, so the floor in the showerunit is wet after some peoples was coming. The campsite is not the most beautifull...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi LouenStephan, thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park. As you will have read in previous responses, we are working on a solution for the water problem in the showers but it will take a bit of time. Also in our future plans is to create more gardens on the park to give...

Rangiora
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On visiting again it was great to see a totally new fantastic amenities block which includes a big kitchen, lounge, laundry, wheelchair access and facility, and two male and two female shower/toilet rooms. Very modern and a credit to the owners- thank you. As usual our stay was peaceful, and the close proximity of the campground to the central shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Peter, it's great to hear from our return visitors that they appreciate what we're doing. Although we're not at the end of our 5-year plan of upgrading yet, we're making good progress. This coming year we'll be concentrating on creating more garden areas and renovating the cabins.

Nottingham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice campground, nicely located. We were aware that there had been some development work. Went to use the kitchen closest to our pitch (the old one) 8 electric hobs, one pair marked as not working, unfortunately none of them were working. Reported it to reception who told me it was because too many people had used them! This is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Elaine, thank you for sharing your experience. The way our reception staff has reacted is definitely not how I would expect them to reply and I will find out what has caused this reaction. Normally we would have someone have a look at the cook tops straight away and I agree with you that the reason given was very...

Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in a self-contained unit for 4 nights for Challenge Wanaka. No regrets. Its location is so handy we did not need our car at all for the duration of our stay - shops, restaurants and the event area are all within easy walking distance. The only criticism we have is that the unit really needs a fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margriet719
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Margriet719, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the Challenge went well for you. We do have some fans available from reception but as Wanaka has a land climate (hardly any humidity) with curtains closed and doors/windows open things can stay pretty cool.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 nights sleeping in my van. This was a great holiday park in Wanaka! So close to town, walking distance to beach and grocery store. There was quite a bit of construction going on but that didn't bother me. Bathrooms were obviously recently upgraded which was nice. Now here are the reason it lost 2 stars. First, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gen T
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Gen T, Thank you for your feedback. We're currently trialing to have our main facilities cleaned by a contractor and there have been a few issues that needed ironing out. I've just had another talk to the contractor so this should all be solved. We are also aware of a few areas in the park with "abundant" lighting during...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 km away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
2.1 km away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
324 reviews
0.9 km away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
1.4 km away
Archway Motels
Archway Motels
#16 of 20 in Wanaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park is Wanaka's most central holiday park. It is handy to the lake and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. This park has served the Wanaka area for many years by offering clean and affordable accommodation that will suit all budgets. Accommodation ranges from tent sites and powered sites through to cabins and self contained units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 212 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good luck if you need to put in tent hooks!”
 of 5 bubbles HarryTheHairyHare, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Two night minimum stay UNLESS you book in the day”
 of 5 bubbles Lauralathem, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you have a campervan a higher spot up the back at "the lookout" gives you a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles GraceN178, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“go to another camp”
 of 5 bubbles haim64, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin with a view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Capetribber, 26 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5