We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wanaka Hotel

0.4 km from Wanaka centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 456: English reviews
Start your review of Wanaka Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Its probably been ages that this hotel did not go through a refurbishment and it is more than needed. Everything has been done in the 70's it looks. Also the wifi network is very week. Good location but pricey for what it is.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thierry L
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thierry L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to let you know that we have renovated many of our rooms, we hope your will come back and enjoy the improvements, Happy Travels. Regards Jo

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed here before but it seems like it's been renovated, our room was very nice with modern touches like usb charging ports. We were able to checkin slightly early which was great because we had a wedding to get to. It was quiet, we slept well. Location is great, close to four square and a short walk to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gclarke02
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gclarke02, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear that you are a returning guest, we appreciate your support. Yes we have completed some renovations we are pleased you have enjoyed the improvements. Happy Travels, Regards Jo

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Every thing about this hotel is over due for retirement. Get there before the 2pm checkin at your own peril. Well positioned. Nice grounds. Westerly rooms were very hot in Feb, no AC, small rooms. Very tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear your have enjoyed our location and grounds, we are very happy to accommodate guests that require check in prior to 2pm if they can advise us prior to arrival so we may ensure the room is ready. Many of the rooms are...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is quite central and sat on a small hill which allows rooms on the first floor to have fantastic views of the lake and the dramatic mountains around. This is an average hotel with average reception staff who could appear to be rude, but are actually only trying to book you in using a computer system that neither...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepster56
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pepster56, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you have found the Hotel tidy and comfortable and that you have enjoyed the view from your room. I am sorry you have not enjoyed the check in process, as you have noted there is a Guest Information Compendium in every room and...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

A great older style hotel to stay at, this was our second stay and its going to be the next time. The added convenience of The Amigo Restaurant and Beanie cafe for evening meal and breakfast added to our enjoyable stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colindayman
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colindayman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you so much for your continued support, we really loved to hear how much you enjoy your visits, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Jo

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean room with modern styling and facilities. Good friendly service. Excellent location with everything you need within walking distance. Price was good especially compared to the competition who seem to have increased their rates dramatically due to peak season demand.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aarnot_558183
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aarnot_558183, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your great feedback and are very pleased to hear you have found the Hotel to be a good price. Regards Jo

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It was close to all main attractions, including shops, restaurants and bars. We would recommend this to others. The Mexican restaurant attached to the hotel served delicious food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandraswoods
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alexandraswoods, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you have found the Hotel clean and comfortable and have enjoyed your meal at Amigos, Happy Travels, Regards Jo

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was comfortable a bit noisy in the first morning with foreign tourists speaking loudly but a nice sleep in the next morning. Helpful staff, a great room to store our mountain bikes and a very comfortable bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philhA1294SR
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philhA1294SR, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the feedback and it is fantastic to hear you have had a comfortable stay and a comfortable bed. We are pleased you were able to make use of our bike storage room. Happy Travels, Regards Jo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was great; sufficient amenities, bright, good amount of power points and a great location relative to the lake. The hotel also has a number of great food choices in very close proximity which we definitely took advantage of. The wifi was also good quality and staff had some helpful information for the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddiebro
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maddiebro, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear that you have found the room great, and have enjoyed the facilities of the Hotel including our onsite restaurants, we look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka again. Regards Jo

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanaka is a beautiful place and the hotel is in a central position, nice room, comfortable bed. There was a shared kitchen and laundry facilities if we needed them. The frontage is hotel but it is more of a motel.Plenty of places to eat nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolynB788
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CarolynB788, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We also wish you could have stayed longer, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Jo

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
708 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
466 reviews
1.4 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $106 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wanaka Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kent, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wanaka Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a lake view room to get a 1st storey”
 of 5 bubbles Pepster56, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always ask for a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles colindayman, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“garden room has picnic bench and chairs and direct access”
 of 5 bubbles ro442, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Shower/toilet really small ,could do with a bit more room to move around.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bottom floor exits to outside, top floor has better views of lake”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5