We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Distinction Wanaka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Wanaka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. The view from the three bedroom apartment is superb, Lake Wanaka and snow capped mountains. Fully self contained, clean, modern appliances and well serviced. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant from the moment we arrived! Would definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassie H
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Cassie. Not all of our apartments have that gorgeous view, first in 'best dressed'. I will ensure my staff receive your compliments. See you again!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

10A needs a maintenance update. Bathroom fan not working well and this caused mould to build up in the shower over the 7 days we stayed. Heated floor in the bathroom didn't work although the control unit indicated it did work. The kitchen facilities were poor and not enough cooking equipment. Furniture for four people consisted of a three seater...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan N
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback. This was passed onto the Owner, who immediately responded and is in the process of replacing/buying new furniture. Thank you.

Reviewed 24 July 2016

On their website they state that they are "serviced apartments" when we inquired why our apartment beds were not being made and why the floors were not vacuumed were were then told that all the "cleaners" do is pulled the sheets over the beds and exchange towels left on the floor. The shower door leaked all over the bathroom floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sherwoodstation
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on our guests to let us know about maintenance issues, as we do not stay in the apartments ourselves. We endeavour to correct these issues as soon as possible, which in this instance was the case. I have now asked our receptionists to remind guests to read our in-house compendium, which also includes...

New Britain, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment is quite big, contains all the amenities you need to make your stay comfortable.View from the apartment is beautiful. WiFi connection is a bit frustrating. Disconnects every 10 minutes. Rooms aren't cleaned everyday , although they would replace Towels etc everyday if required. You can use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish16111
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your comments. Unfortunately internet in Wanaka is not very good - I know that they continue to upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. It's a very clean, and fully equipped with washing machine, dryer, kitchen, and there is a heater bedsheets which is good for winter. One thing is the fire alarm keep ringing when we use the dryer but the hotel attendant is good enough for letting us to you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shinny81
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your feedback. It turned out to be a faulty alarm, so pleased that we could offer you an alternative during your stay. See you again!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The rooms and facilities were excellent and the staff were most hospitable but Wi-Fi connection was poor. It took many attempts to get connectivity and in the end we gave up altogether. Even the staff were unable to assist us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimplusthree
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Wanaka is not a good town for wifi, but I believe they are working on bringing in fibre to us soon. Kind regards

raglan
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights firstly we were very grateful as the manager allowed us to make changes to our booking even though we had used booking .com and there was a no change policy Secondly we where so glad we chose this place we had a ground floor apartment with its own garage which was great for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is appreciated. Kind regards

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Stayed one night passing through Wanaka - lovely welcoming staff and I was bowled over by the apartment. Beautiful view, lots of space, washing machine, dryer, spa bath, garage to park the car - all for little more than I'd paid for an average hotel room a few nights before. I fully intent returning - for at least a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew R
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Your review is appreciated and we would welcome your return. Kind regards

Walton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed for one night at the beginning of April. Booked a one bedroom apartment and when we got there we found we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment on the first floor. The view of the lake was spectacular. The apartment was very modern and clean and the under floor heating in the bathrooms was a real treat. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn C
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your free upgrade - we endeavour to do this when we can. Kind regards

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We arrived late for a single night stay and ended up staying three nights. Place was perfect for our family and a great base to explore Wanaka. Staff were fabulous and accommodating with our change of plans. Apartments were spacious and well appointed. View was spectacular and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamamiagirl

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.0 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
1.4 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
3.5 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
3.7 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.8 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $153 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Wanaka staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Having a lake view is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwigolfer2011, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view and avoid upstairs if mobility is an issue as the stairs are steep”
 of 5 bubbles PollardHackett, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look great”
 of 5 bubbles Kathy265134, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upstairs apartments with a view over the lake. The downstairs ones are OK but upstairs is the bomb.”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainVegetable, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles laureno806, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay