We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
 Click to rate
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 11 days in Matemwe Lodge. From check in to check out everything was more than perfect! This was one of the best vacations we've had and we highly recommend this hotel. Service was outstanding, bungalow clean with wonderful view, pool well maintained, beautiful garden, food was absolutely delicious! Snorkelling, reef walk and trips to Stonetown, a spice farm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smillablue
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Matemwe Lodge and Beach House is on a pristine beach on the North East side of Zanzibar. Our stay there was one of the best resort expereinces I have had. The location was quiet and relaxing, the accomodations impecible, and the staff were very courteous, helpful, and professional. I highly recommend Matemwe Lodge for a peaceful and beautiful, Zanzibar holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place at beautiful Matemwe Beach. I loved staying here for two weeks. The staff is absolutely wonderful. Lots of personal contact without imposing. They truly strive to make your stay great in every way they can. Matemwe Lodge is not so big that you will get lost in the crowd but big enough to relax without feeling that you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annegien2017
New York City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Matemwe Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and stare at the beautiful Indian Ocean. I returned for a second visit, this time bringing family members who had just made it to the summit of Kilimanjaro. They agreed it is the perfect place to unwind and recover. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCRitBit
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in a bungalow for five days and four nights and were very impressed with the depth and strength of the team at Matemwe. The lodge is in a secluded spot of the island and very peaceful. The space is large, yet occupancy is small enough so that you never feel like you are on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradleyTNYC
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great rooms with excellent views. Staff was very helpful. Location is remote and if you are looking for a regular beech stay at Kendwa. Vegetarian food options were limited besides salads and Spa was not that good for regular city prices. Reef walking and snorkeling were extraordinary experiences. Fish Marie auction also highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gups100
Dubai
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay! Every single member of the staff were brilliant, from the owner to the bar staff. Each person introduced themselves and made us feel totally welcome. The snorkelling trip to mnemba island (which is a stones throw away) was insane! From swimming with dolphins to stretches of coral, superb value for money at $30 per person. Will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samc198858
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon after a safari stint in the Serengeti. The hotel is about 1 hour 20 min drive from Zanzibar airport and is located in the north east coast of Zanzibar in a fishing village, Matemwe. The hotel comprises of 12 lodges located against the sea cliffs. We stayed in a bungalow lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigerstyle
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We chose, as many others do, to relax in Zanzibar after a safari in Tanzania. The resort we chose is rated highly and promises an exceptional experience, Unfortunately we were disappointed at the value for money. The 'bungalow' we stayed in was comfortable - although the second story loft was unnecessary as there was only the two of us -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deddy2017
AsiliaAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this review

Hi deddy2017, Thank you for your feedback. We welcome all constructive feedback from our guests as this allows us the opportunity to improve wherever possible. We’re sorry to hear that you left Matemwe Lodge feeling disappointed. We’ve noted your comments about the bar stools, cushions and walkways, as well as your concern over the urchins on the beach. In the...

Maur, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We enjoied a wonderfull week in the Matemwe Lodge. As this was our second visit we allready knew what we were up for. The site on the plateau just above the shore is magnificent und the white chalk beach is really special. All the crew members are very friendly and attentive. Some of them even rememberd us from our last...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joachim O

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (343)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (59)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
11.7 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,450 reviews
15.2 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
574 reviews
3.4 km away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
618 reviews
28.3 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
436 reviews
14.9 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vibrant yet relaxed Matemwe, one of the first lodges in Zanzibar, has perfected the tropical island experience. Perched on an outcrop overlooking a shallow coral fringed lagoon on the quieter northeast coast of Zanzibar, Matemwe’s peaceful location and famed relaxed atmosphere, makes it the ideal place to unwind. Guests quickly ease into the laid-back rhythm of island life, planning their day around the tides and their mood. The relaxed daily routines of Matemwe’s guests include enjoying fresh seafood, poolside cocktails, massages or simply hanging out in a hammock. The lodge has plenty on offer for the more active with superb diving and snorkeling off the renowned Mnembe Atoll; a highlight for many. Built from local materials and surrounded by beautiful lush gardens, each of the 12 spacious suites has a private veranda with a hammock and sofa and expansive views of the Indian Ocean with its constantly changing hues of blue. Here you can watch the fishermen head out every morning at dawn or listen to the songs of the village women as they harvest seaweed. The large bathrooms have both a deep bathtub and walk-in shower and all beds are enclosed by mosquito nets. The open-air restaurant sits just above the sea and has a tranquil lounge area with beautiful views of the palm fringed beach and gently rocking dhows. Seafood is the specialty of the house, with all produce bought daily from the local markets. Lunch is a buffet offering a delicious mix of African and European flavours. Dinner offers a choice of main courses with fish, meat and vegetarian options. Matemwe has a multi-level swimming pool surrounded with lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Freshly mixed cocktails are served at the poolside bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa

Address: | Matemwe Beach, Matemwe 10000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: $529 - $1,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matemwe Main Lodge, Asilia Africa Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Bungalows
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“12 bungalows are basically the same (wonderful); choose 1-5, if you want to be closest to the bar, restaurant, pools and front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles NYCRitBit, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the cottagges have their own terrace just above the beach and are very well equiped. So you just have to choose the distance to the receptio/bar/restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles joachimo507, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room was spacious with everything what was needed.”
 of 5 bubbles Zermm, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are perfect, but some are further from the main lodge so if you have issues walking, ask for a closer room”
 of 5 bubbles dmz133, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A challenging hotel for people with mobility issues. Lots of stairs and uneven pathways.”
 of 5 bubbles Adventures_travel123, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5