We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

TripAdvisorUS$142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
20/05/2017 21/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$142*
View Deal
in partnership withOcean Paradise Resort & Spa
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 478: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The location on Kiwengwa beach is very pleasant, whilst the sea does go out a long way every day, the management have responded to feedback on seaweed and a team try to clear this every morning. Furthermore, at low tide you can walk out onto the reef and see the red-knobbed starfish. The rooms are lovely, authentic building materials and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoshHadley
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PoshHadley Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa after your safari. Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers. We appreciate that you noticed our team’s efforts to keep the beach clean in...

Chelmsford, England
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Set on the eastern side of the island away from the main city alongside white coral palm fringed beaches. The resort is built into the side of a hill with the main areas, reception, shop etc at the higher level and the pool, pool bar and restaurant on the lower beach area. A smaller bar with large projected TV screen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mb2197
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mb2197, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing you experience with our fellow travellers We will convey your feedback to our team. Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort &...

Surrey
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Look at all the great reviews and it's all true so i won't bore you with more gushing. No real complaints but a couple of observations but whatever I say still go there it is wonderful. The steps about 72 and no hand rail not my favourite. We were lucky our room was by the sea and the pool so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jayjayb
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jayjayb, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa. Thank you for your observation of the golf chart. The golf chart we do not keep secret. Should there be guest handicap that cannot walk the...

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This was our 5th return to Ocean Paradise. I completely agree with all the previous reviews so would only be repeating what they have already written. During this holiday we also stayed at 2 other hotels and am pleased to be able to report that Ocean Paradise is still my favourite. Thank you Eli for making our return visit another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovetravelling247
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lovetravelling247, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. The Ocean Paradise team are pleased were pleased to welcome you back for the 5th time. Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers. We will convey your feedback to our team, especially to Elzilea, Guest Relations Manager. The Ocean Paradise...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived in Zanzibar after a week on safari and wanted a place to unwind and relax. We found it! The peace of this place was beautiful. The rooms were large, very clean and tastefully furnished. The public areas very well looked after, the beach stunning, the ocean warm, the food outstanding and the staff very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fortyninerkent
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear fortyninerkent, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa after your safari. We will convey your feedback to our team. The Ocean Paradise team are looking forward to welcome you back! Thank you for choosing Ocean...

Oxford UK
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Firstly I would recommend that you book a Superior Garden Room, on the ground level in the garden, as there are a lot of steps to many of the cheaper rooms at the rear of the gardens. There is no difference between the rooms, its just the steps really, but if you are a fit young person, it wont worry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TJBOxfordUK
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TJBOxfordUK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your Holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and also had enjoyed surroundings in Zanzibar. Thank you for sharing your experience of Zanzibar with our fellow travellers. We will convey your feedback to our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Ocean paradise as part of our honeymoon trip and had an amazing time. The staff could not do enough for us and the food was great! The week was a great chill out week by the pool coupled with a trip out to Stonetown to see the coast and spice markets etc. The rock resturant is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonwood37
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear simonwood37, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your Honeymoon at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and also had enjoyed surroundings in Zanzibar. We will convey your feedback to our team, especially to Happiness, Guest Relations Supervisor. Thank you for choosing Ocean...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed for a week in one of the Superior Garden Rooms. I was delighted with the room, staff, food and entertainment offered. I arrived at 2am and the check in process was easy. I did email the hotel beforehand to say that I would be checking in late. This was not a problem and they offered an airport shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hughrtlawson
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear hughrtlawson, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers. Thank you for your suggestion for the wrist bandage for the all inclusive package. Due to...

Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This hotel is absolutely lovely. The rooms that are thatched round houses are very spacious and kept immaculately clean. The staff in all areas are so polite and helpful and always very cheerful. Food was fantastic as was the service. We couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimosman27
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kimosman27, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us a feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa after your safari. We will convey your feedback to our team, especially to our Executive chef for the fantastic food. Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise...

Bromsgrove
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The hotel is on the north east coast but only takes just over an hour from the airport - let's just skate over the arrivals hall apart from to say 'basic' ! Ocean Paradise is approached via an avenue of colourful trees and plants which sets the tone. Security is efficient but generally unobtrusive once through the large locked gates....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BromsgroveAnnie
OPR_SMM, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear BromsgroveAnnie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us a feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and especially pleased to hear that you made wonderful memories that you can share with your family and friends. Thank you for sharing your experience about your...

1,338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1018)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (239)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (296)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (279)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Sea View (55)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
20/05/2017 21/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.9 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,478 reviews
0.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,446 reviews
24.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
447 reviews
0.5 km away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
740 reviews
24.2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Price Range: $189 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can request rooms that are closer to the beach and the pool.”
349oritk, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are all equal - it all depends on where it is situated.”
BotesVuren, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not bother buying wifi, it was $10 USD for 3 days but not worth it. The free wifi at the bars are enough”
262sherifs, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs go for garden as near to pool as possible”
jayjayb, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms ever time!”
lovetravelling247, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$142* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates