We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shooting Star Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shooting Star Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shooting Star Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
London
Reviewed 19 January 2009

This is a very friendly beach lodge with a relaxed atmosphere, but some real luxury touches (e.g. fresh coffee delivered to our lodge door every morning). We stayed in a Sea View Cottage, which was beautiful - thatched roof, four poster bed, private sunbathing area, beautiful trees and plants in the garden (the photo's on the website don't do it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Prince_Trevor
London
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed at the shooting star lodge for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon but were left very disappointed. We stayed in one of the luxury suites but there was nothing luxurious about it! The suite was quite shabby and in need of some TLC. The nets at the windows were full of holes which meant that the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LF1980
Elaimani, Owner at Shooting Star Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to readdress the things you have mentioned, we are always looking for ways to improve our services. Our 2 Suites are not sold as Luxury Suites as my Lodge is not a luxury lodge, it is a small family run business, and the rate of the accommodation you...

Italy
Reviewed 13 January 2009

A nice big 2 store room overviewing the sea hosted my family of 5, we had tasteful and different food and helpfull assistance when needed. Fare prices for extras. Nice choise of trips around the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank critrip
Fourmies, France
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Fantastic location, a few steps away from the Indian Ocean. The hotel has been carefully put together - beautiful sea views, spacious, tastefully decorated rooms, with plenty of towels, gorgeous infinity pool, lovely bar and restaurant area - perfect for lounging about, or for playing, if you're a kid (the floors are made up of white sand). The owners are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pogleswood6
mombasa
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This is a lsmall lodge for relaxed travellers, Amazing views over the ocean from the rooms and a beautiful white beach to walk down. We walked down the beach passed some huge hotels and were very happy with our choice. They have a stunning infinity pool perched on the edge of the cliff so when the tide is out there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bushbaby50
kenya
Reviewed 31 December 2008

The Shooting Star is a comfortable hotel and I was pleasantly surprised that we had AC in our rooms that worked. The decor and furnishings really do need an upgrade, its a bit shabby, which we would not have minded had it not been so expensive. The kitchen is a problem, whether the staff are too thinly spread for such...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nestles
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Not sure what to say about this place. Location is fab, rooms are pretty, it all looks nice and when we first arrived we thought, this is wonderful but in the end it just did not meet our expectations. Considering we paid 300USD / night half board, I just expected a little bit more. A few comments: 1/ Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chocolate74
Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Perhaps our expectations were too high. Nevertheless. This beautiful spot could be so much more. The food is mediocre and service is below standard as the personnel is making an effort but is basically clueless (and we're from the Netherlands so unlikely to be spoilt in this respect). Charlotte, you know what is takes, now raise the bar. Phil stop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FGH789
Elaimani, Owner at Shooting Star Lodge, responded to this review

Since your stay in July we have been working extremely hard on service and staffing issues, and have had many good reports about our food and service since your stay here. We do pride ourselves in having an intimate family atmosphere, and I have strived personally since I built the lodge to create this, and I am really so sorry...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My husband and I booked through Let's Go travel in Nairobi. Since it was late notice many of the hotels were booked, or were way too expensive. The hotel's owner Ellie was very accommodating and even changed us from BB to half-board. The rooms were airy and had beautiful Zanzibari beds. Our room was a 'garden view', room 11. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank red-headtraveller
London
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We stayed at three places on the island and this was by far the worst. The room was ok but the bathroom stunk so much that it made me gag when going in! It was damp & dingy. The food was pretty dull especially as Zanzibar is know as the spice island. The other places we stayed had better food....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt015

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,450 reviews
9.1 km away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
839 reviews
1.6 km away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
730 reviews
26.8 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
618 reviews
3.0 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shooting Star Lodge is a small family-run lodge set on a cliff on the North end of the stunning Kiwengwa beach. Famous for its good local food and intimate atmosphere, the lodge has 3 different types of accommodation: 3 Garden Lodge Rooms, 11 Sea View Cottages, and 2 Monsoon Villas (suites). The fantastic infinity pool has one of the best views on Zanzibar and is the perfect place to cool down. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shooting Star Lodge

Address: P. O. Box 3076, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Price Range: $198 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shooting Star Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shooting Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Hotel Zanzibar
Shooting Star Lodge Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shooting Star Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Shooting Star Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a Monsoon Villa”
 of 5 bubbles ieuanr2014, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Seaview Cottage, don't be tempted to save a few dollars with a garden room”
 of 5 bubbles Neilt01, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Amazing Monsoon Villa Kaskazi”
 of 5 bubbles Christine2501, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Monsoon Villa is the best. :)”
  • Sea view Rooms
  • Family Room
  • Family Room
  • Garden view room
  • Monsoon Main Bed Room
 of 5 bubbles 868markusv, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“upgrade to seaview”
 of 5 bubbles Frank_Carole_12, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5