Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort

Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort

Sonnenuntergang an der Poolbar
Traveller (1145)
Акватория Санторини
Room & Suite (242)
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 resorts in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
WELCOME TO ALEXANDER BEACH HOTEL & VILLAGE RESORT The quiet, green Beach Front Oasis in Malia, Crete Situated in a unique beachfront location, the 5-star resort Alexander Beach Hotel & Village, is a stylish hideaway with the flair of a typical Greek Village. Experience the feeling of full relaxation in our quiet green and blooming oasis, on over 55.000 sqm impressive subtropical gardens. Enjoy the aura of luxury in our traditional Greek style Bungalow rooms and suites, all close to the wonderful beach. The lively villages of Malia and Stalis with lots of restaurants, bars and shopping spots are near in walking distance. Your best choice for a beachfront hotel in Malia, Crete: Over 800 m. of private sandy beach with crystal clear water, 6 freshwater swimming pools, beautiful sun terraces over the beach and breathtaking views over the bay of Malia/ Stalis guarantee unforgettable holidays. Wi-Fi free of charge in all public areas. All rooms and suites have direct high-speed Internet connection and Wi-Fi. The Alexander Beach got again the official award Blue Flag for one of the cleanest beaches and sea waters in Greece. The lively villages Malia and Stalis are only a few minutes away. Enjoy wining and dining with outstanding personal services at our Main Restaurant, two typical Greek Tavernas, Bars and Snack Bars at the pool or right on the beach. There is no time to be bored at Alexander Beach: Shows, Live Music, Dancing, Greek evenings, lots of Sports, Watersports and a Fitness Club offer countless possibilities of entertainment and action. At Alexander SPA, a luxurious wellness area with indoor heated pool, beauty spa, cosmetics, massage, sauna, steam bath and oriental Hamam and Resoul, you may relax or become spoiled. At the professionally equipped Fitness Center most modern fitness and cardio equipment is available for your personal work-out. Finally, the Alexander Kids Club is a paradise for our little guests, making Alexander Beach your ultimate choice for family holidays in Malia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 2 more

Location

Agiou Ioanni Beach Road, Malia, Crete 70007 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
N. Kazantzakis Airport
24.5 km
See all flights
Sitia Airport
61.5 km
See all flights
900Reviews74Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 563
  • 241
  • 66
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Juliano M wrote a review Aug 2022
Sao Paulo, SP13 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in so far. It offers everything you expect from a 5-stars hotel. I could list here so many great things that the hotel has offered, but I might miss some of them.. Let me try: The rooms are perfectly well-kept, bed linen, air conditioning... The view is stupendous. The location offers multiple swimming pools (for toddlers, one for both adults and small kids, another with infinite view to the ocean...) , while having a 10 meters distance private beach. Last, but not least: people. Every single person working in this hotel were absolutely amazing. From the waitresses to staff members, as well as the entertainment team could make us with a very positive energy, having fun and laughs. Osaid, Mirana, davide, Tere from a pink wave did a FANTASTIC job by entertaining the kids while parents could have some wine to relax, but as well involving parents on multiple activities like a crazy music quiz, entertaining all the audience. I'll definitely return to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Sep 13, 2022
Dear Valued Client Juliano M, thank you very much for the time to review us and of course for the great rating. We are happy to know, that you have spent nice vacation in our hotel to your fullest satisfaction. Thank you very much for this Information. It will be a pleasure for us to welkome you again in our hotel. Until then we wish a great time. With our best regards, the Team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara Canto wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is genuinely the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The views are so beautiful and the beach behind 4 yards from the pool is such a treat. The sea is shallow quite a way out so you can go out with children and feel safe.

The rooms are spotless and lovely - the beds were SO comfortable too and if you need anything the staff will help you immediately.

It truely is stunning and the staff are so kind and helpful, even organising a bag of rice for my wet phone to dry out!

They also take Covid extremely seriously, everyone is wearing masks and visors, taxis are temp tested before they come on site and there is hand sanitizer everywhere. You really feel safe in that regard. Also Crete itself are being really good. You can't even go into a little gift shop without wearing a mask.

It's a perfect spot because you have Malia a short walk away if you want to 'party' or old Malia if you want to visit the most gorgeous restaurants, but being out the way enough that you can totally avoid it if it's not your thing. Also Heraklion is very easy to get to if you want to do some shopping or see it's history, as there is a bus stop nearby, with a ticket costing around €3.

All in all, I could not recommend this hotel more! Perfect for families, couples or friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Άλλο at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Mar 1, 2021
Dear Saracanto, Thank you for sharing this excellent review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. It is fantastic to read that you had a lovely stay. Your appreciating words are the best motivation for all of us and we all thank you so much for recognizing our efforts continuous to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests. We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel and in Crete island. With warm regards from sunny Crete, Alexander Beach Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SophieCuv wrote a review Aug 2020
Geneva, Switzerland18 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice location, well maintained, with lovely smiley employees. The constant wind makes the temperature totally adequate.
Rooms are very nice and the bed is done every day (they state that they clean the room every 3 days because of the COVID-19, except if we ask otherwise).
They do their best to handle the COVID-19 situation, employees wear masks all day long (poor them!), customers are not obliged to wear masks but respect the distance between each others.
Full board: In the morning and in the evening, there is a buffet protected by a band, you cannot approach it, you stay at about 1 meter distance from it, and the employees serve you what you ask. For lunch, you can sit in a nice windy place around the pool and it's table service. Food was not good for my taste, sometimes cold, and driven for German taste I suppose. I thought that with full board we would be able to eat at the other restaurants of the resort, but it is not the case.
The hotel was 1/3 full, so plenty of sunbeds available everywhere, which might not be the case when running at full capacity. Each customer receives a protection for his/her sunbed every morning.
Fantastic sunrises in the morning.
Special thanks to Maria (table service in the morning and evening and at the beach inbetween with her lovely dog!), to Sofia serving at the lunch service, and all the barmen from the main bar near the main pool! One of them found a gold earing that I lost one day, and remembered I was wearing them, he gave it to me, I was so happy, very honnest from him!
Entertainment is also greatly handled by a very friendly and professional team, they again do their best with the difficult situation. We had fun.
And a special thanks to the Manager (Michalis ?) who made a special arrangement for us the day of our departure, it was really appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Dear Mrs. Sophie, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel and our services. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again at our hotel in the near future. TIll that time, we wish you all the best! With our best regards, Alexander Beach Hotel and Village Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m m wrote a review Oct 2021
london36 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As soon as we arrived to check in we were asked to pay the full amount of our 7 night visit. I have never been to a 5 star hotel in the world (and I’ve travelled to many 5 star hotels across the globe) that asks for money as soon as you check in. We were asked for the booking name but no proof of who we were and then were asked to self check in on line once we’d settled in.

We had a nice room on the front row of the complex with a balcony and sea view. The room was nice but again, didn’t meet the 5 star standard of hotels I’ve stayed in (in my opinion).

The breakfast had plenty of food options (nothing really lacking from the buffet) but the quality of the food was average. As a food enthusiast and keen chef, I felt that the ingredients were of an average quality and most of what I tried lacked flavour. For example, the omelette was swimming in oil and didn’t have any seasoning. The service at breakfast was generally mediocre and to give an example, I and others were left waiting for 10 minutes for cereal bowls as they hadn’t re-stocked them. When another guest politely asked for the a bowl , he was told “wait!” in an abrupt and hostile tone.

As one would expect, Ala carte orders at the pool were of a better standard but again, not 5 star quality. Closer to 3 star quality.

On one occasion I had requested late check out from reception as we had a new born child with us. They were kind enough to provide this (for an extra 2 hours) at no extra cost but to convey this they went to the trouble to type and print a note saying “please contact reception” which was left at the room. When I called them, they advised I had to attend in person to receive the message. When I arrived at reception (admittedly without a mask as I had left mine at the beach) I was told that I needed to go to the High street to purchase a mask before I could receive the message. I insisted that as I was already present, they give me the message and they did. The message was ‘yes it was okay for me to check out late’. It was a slightly strange experience.

The hotel offers one free meal (drinks not included ) and one 10% discounted meal at a restaurant called Meltemi. When you try to book your free meal you’ll be told that as you haven’t pre-booked (despite the restaurant being empty) you can only have the 10% discount offer. Anyway, tried the restaurant and again mediocre so didn’t bother going back.

Beach is lovely, pool is nice. When it’s windy, you’ll be asked to close your umbrella so it doesn’t fly away and cause injury. Reasonable but the way in which we were spoken to was hostile.

Overall we made the most of the trip but it’s worth being aware that whilst this is perhaps a 5 star for Crete standards, the service , food and chalet-type complex lacks the finesse that one would expect to get from a 5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Oct 20, 2021
Dear 721markm, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Meanwhile, we are sorry to hear that some aspects did not meet your expectations. Thank you very much for your comments regarding the reservation charges. Kindly note that your reservation was made with free cancellation terms 7 nights before your arrival. This extremely flexible cancellation policy allows the guests to easily cancel or modify the reservation in case of any urgent matter that is very important these days. Afterwards, the hotel has the right to charge your credit card at any time. According to the Greek Government, the hotel has the right to charge the credit card only with the presence of the guest and the reservation name should be the same as the credit card name. Therefore, we ask to pay upon arrival on the spot and in case the credit card details will be different from the reservation name, we are able to make the necessary changes. We were very surprised to read your comments regarding the messages. We always try to find the best and quickest way to contact the guests using the most modern methods, like Viber, WhatsApp, etc. In case we cannot reach you this way we always send you a written message to the room. Kindly note that the message why we have tried so hard to find you were to inform you that you may keep your room longer due to the baby. We would like to highlight the issue concerning your comments about the mask, that in all indoor areas in Greece you have to wear mask, otherwise there is a fine for you and the hotel in case you wont wear mask. Thank you for your comment regarding our food. In case you were not satisfied with our food or service options, you could just inform our Maitre of the Hotel and together with him to find the best solution to satisfy all your preferences. We are sorry to hear that you felt hostile by the asking you to close the umbrellas due to the very strong wind, we would like to apologize for this as this was never our purpose for you to fell this way. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again. With our best regards from sunny Crete, Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taryn F wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada176 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 3 week trip to celebrate my 40th birthday; my birthday was celebrated at this resort. We arrived super late however the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a room that was close to and faced the beach; it did not disappoint! The room was very spacious! The balcony was lovely and faced the beach and one of the pools. The bathroom was also a nice size. Room included a mini fridge and safe. Our room included breakfast; breakfast was excellent! So many options to choose from! The reception staff were very helpful answering some of our questions and helping us with a late check out! So many great things to say about this place! Clean, friendly, great location. Location is also walking distance to Stalia and even Malia if you are okay to walk about 30 mins (quick cab ride if desired 8-10 Euros). We did find the restaurants (only used while lounging at pool at lunch time) were a little pricey and beware, if you order a margarita it's expensive and my glass never came full - it was always like 2/3 full... Otherwise, no complaints. The hotel even worked with my husband to surprise me with a birthday cake in our room on the evening of my birthday! The cake was a chocolate mousse style and was delicious! Highly recommend this place and I would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upgrade to have a view of the beach, it's worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Taryn F, it´s a pleasure vor us to know, that you had so wonderfool vacation in our hotel and you was so pleased with our hotel service. We would like to thank you for the time you took, to inform us about it and ofcourse for the excellent rating. We will be very happy to see you in our hotel again and to offer you again the best vacation. Finally, we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. We wish you all the best. With our best regards, the team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nataly35542215 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected Alexander Beach after tour operator suggestions! Very nice quiet hotel for beachfront vacations. Thanks to Xrisi from reception for amazing job, she suggested us a lot of great places to visit not do well known, like gorge or richtis, Agia Paraskeui cave, amazing secluded beaches, we enjoyed a lot our vacations here, everything was amazing. The big advantage was that PCR test can be done in the hotel with appointment, very comfortable and the price difference only 5 Euros in case you wish to do it in hospital. Holidays without any stress.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Dear NatalyV8737IF, Thank you very much for such a great review! We are honored that our efforts to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable has met your expectations. We are very glad that you had an incredible stay with us and that you managed to visit so many amazing places in Crete! Thank you very much for the fantastic words about our staff, especially Mrs. Chrysa, we have already forwarded her your appreciations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Alexander Beach! With my best regards, Alexander Beach Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica K wrote a review Sep 2022
Gumligen, Switzerland3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the staff is super friendly, and always willing to help. When we arrived our room was not ready, but they did everything to solve it as soon as possible. The only thing is that we asked for a room with a sea view, but they gave us a room with a view of a restaurant. When we said this at the front desk we were told that our travel agency booked ocean front and not ocean view. didn't know there's a difference... The price is the same as expensive though, didn't make sense at all.

The cleaning girls always went out of their way to leave us a room not only clean but with towels in the shapes of elephants, swans and other animals. The Spa was also a good choice. The 3 girls who took care of me were very nice (Maria T. Eva, and I think the 3rd one is called Anja).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: make sure you ask for "BEACH VIEW AND NOT BEACH FRONT"
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy H wrote a review Aug 2022
Gorseinon, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I dont normally write reviews, but always read them before I book a holiday so felt here goes.
Came home yesterday from a 10 day stay at the hotel, two adults and two children age 9 and 11. I had booked a two bedroomed premium family room and looking at the pictures of the room on the website it looked very spacious. We arrived late and were given a tiny room across from the car park that was so small there was barely any room to open the cases in the floor space, this was not the 5 star experience I had paid for. I didnt feel that there was adequate space for the four of us, so contacted reception to ask if we could move rooms. They were lovely about it and we were offered a much bigger room( the room I thought I had booked) at no extra charge.
The room was spacious and clean, although I would have much preferred proper cups to drink out of in the room rather than paper ones, paper cups dont say 5 star to me.
Pool areas lovely and clean, although the pool hogging towel putter outers need to be shamed, we found there were plenty of sun beds for all.
The absence of British tourists was a nice change and gave the place a much more cosmopolitan feel, which we loved.
Food was amazing and plentiful and missing it already now we are home, the puddings especially. The lovely thing was there was no "kids area" like in some hotels, where they assume that all children just want to eat chicken nuggets and chips. One of our children is a fussy eater, but she loved the food and tried lots of new foods that were on offer.
The customer service was exceptional at the hotel, the staff couldnt do enough for you and were so polite and friendly, would put UK hotels to shame.
All in all a lovely break and we really enjoyed every minute.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, site layout and on-site facilities. The staff, reception and management were professional and accommodating, dealing with any issues raised promptly. The food was varied, plentiful and restaurant staff were always cheerful and helpful; Jacob makes a mean iced coffee. We all enjoyed the spa experience and the great location meant we visited plenty of beautiful towns & villages. Having a blue flag beach was a bonus with fabulous views of the coastline and mountains, perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ground floor, sea view rooms provide a garden with sun-beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear ZGAK; Thank you very much for your Message. We are glad to know, that you had a nice vacation in our hotel. We would also like to thank you for the excellent rating you gave us. it will be a great pleasure to welcome you in Alexander Beach Hotel & Village. Stay healthy and all the Best! With best regards from sunny Crete. Alexander Beach Hotel and Village Guest relation Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John H wrote a review Jun 2022
Hassocks, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May be this resort is better than others in the area, but not 5 star. Too many rooms in too small an area.
First room we were shown was booked with garden view, in fact it was a view of a large wall, room was very small and dark. After complaining, we were offered a slightly better room, with garden view, all be it small. Room was larger. The bathroom was large and modern. Service is good, staff are friendly.
The facilities are good, but each pool is quite small. Limited number of sun beds, not enough for the number of guests, after 9.00 no beds. Some with people, but many with just towels. The guests are mainly German. 1500 guests, but only 700 sun beds, in a small area.
The food is buffet style, and changes each day. Good variety and tasty. Also griddle with fish and meat plus a roast. Wine is too expensive, 18euros for a 4 euro bottle. You are forced to buy water at an exhorbitant price of 3.50 euro. Yet you get free water in your room. Too many guests for dinner, so there are 2 sittings.
As the hotel is so compact, it was not relaxing.
There is a beach area, but a lot of seaweed and submerged rocks. The sunbeds and parasols are old and some are broken. During our time the sea was choppy and red flags flying, so no sea swimming.
Outside the resort is a busy local road, but has lots of bars, restaurants and souvenir shops, also a useful supermarket.
In summary, too many rooms squeezed into a small area, facilities are good, but also in small area. Food and service is good. Some rooms too small. I would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Valued Client John H. kalimera, Thank you very much for your time to review us. We also would like to thank you for all your possitive comments regarding staff and food. Let us please kindly raise some points of our hotel regarding the stay of guests in order to avoid any confusion for the points you mention. 1. Direct upon your arrival without any time lost you have received another bigger room as the one allocated was not wished. So this comment of yours is not quite clear.. 2. In our hotel fit 1000 Guest and we (because of obvious reasons) have 700, we do not accept more. 3. We have 6 outdoor Pools and 2000 chairs for everyone. Our pool staff is always available did you asked for chairs? 4. Our beverage rates are the ones of any 5 star hotel in Europe. All 5 star hotels charge according to 5 star rating. We are not AI. 5. ALL your points could be justified and answered accordingly with just a 5 minute talk to any of the staff or the Manager, we are wondering of course why you never approached us to raise your opinion. Of course we are waiting you again in Alexander Beach to talk in person and to justify all the above points we are mentioning. Geuest Relations Alexander Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanzy14 asked a question Sep 2022
Carstairs, United Kingdom71 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi … does the hotel supply an iron on there rooms x
Answer from Jessica K
Gumligen, Switzerland3 contributions
I didn’t see any at my room
Lucy H asked a question Jul 2022
Gorseinon, United Kingdom1 contribution
Do all rooms have a kettle and is the fridge normal sized ?
Greece4 contributions
Dear Lucy, Thank you very much for your message. In all rooms, we do offer a kettle and a mini-bar fridge. Thank you.
Greece4 contributions
Dear C Saloux, Thank you very much for question. Yes you can charge all extras to your room account and to pay everything upon your departure from the Resort. Best regards, Alexander Beach Team
JC92 asked a question Jun 2020
Castleford, United Kingdom31 contributions14 helpful votes
Is all inclusive option available? Can't find one when trying to book and I'm sure I saw one a few months ago? Thanks
Greece4 contributions
Dear Coyne92, Thank you very much for question. You may book Alexander Beach on Bed & Breakfast basis, with Half Board and with Full Board. We do not offer All Inclusive. Best regards, Alexander Beach Team
Prztymocl wrote a tip Yesterday
Utjeha, Montenegro3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its great before season starts. Hotel is super clean and not overcrowded. There are lots of flowers that bloom in this part of year."
Read full review
alice v wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overall a great experience and very welcoming hotel for families. Pools are a bit cold in May, food is OK, there s no room service. "
Read full review
Vivek C wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not many British tourists at the resort"
Read full review
Sandy wrote a tip Sep 2023
21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would suggest full board as not many restaurant outside the hotel"
Read full review
RAJ wrote a tip Aug 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is busy but there are usually loungers for everyone- although if you need one close to pool area you need to be up about 8am. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malia area.
PRICE RANGE
C$264 - C$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alexander beach hotel and village, alexander beach hotel village, alexander beach resort village
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMalia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
360
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Nearby attractions include Relax Cocktail Bar (1.1 km), Ethnic Cafe (0.3 km), and Villa Malia Cocktail Lounge Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Kostas, Katerina Taverna, and Sweet World.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.
All Malia HotelsMalia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Malia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars